Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Get an Instant Discount for Simba
Get Up To 25% Off

Ikea vs. Simba

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ikea

IKEA is one of the most well-known affordable furniture brands with their multiple showrooms throughout the UK. Their mattresses offer very low prices with both sprung and foam designs. While most customers report happy initial comfort, there are significant complaints about sagging, firmness, and long term comfort about certain mattresses offered.

Simba

Simba is a popular mattress company that has its roots in the thread business. Overtime, they developed mattresses based on data from over 10 million sleepers with 180 million data points. This wealth of sleeper data helped them create an extensive collection of mattresses: the Simba Hybrid®, Simba Hybrid Pro®, Simba Hybrid Luxe®, Simba Hybrid® Essential, Simbatex® Foam, Simbatex® Essential Foam, Simba GO - Green Organic, and the Simba Hybrid® Ultra mattress. Customers report loving the Hybrid Pro the most for its balanced pressure relief and support. See our Sleep Country guide for North American offerings.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Simba in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Simba

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ikea: 7.6/10
Simba: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ikea: 7.7/10
Simba: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Ikea: 7.7/10
Simba: 9.2/10

No Back Pain:
Ikea: 7.5/10
Simba: 8.9/10

Price:
Ikea: £40-£699
Simba: £399-£4499

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Simba:
Get Up To 25% Off


Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how sleepers really feel about a mattress is difficult business -- especially with some companies moderating reviews. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Learn more details about the mattresses below.


Ikea's Supportiveness

Most folks describe these mattresses as doing a good job supporthing their bodies, but others had complaints about overall feel. For those that are bigger than average, review the mattress specifications and firmnesses before making a final decision as you'll want to make sure that this adequately supports your body and your spine.

Edge Support
For those that lay close to the sides of the mattress, these mattresses provide a good amount of support for most sleepers. That said, some have had issues over the mattress life so make sure to review more if you need edge support for mobility reasons.


Ikea's Durability

Durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all want it to be just as comfortable at the beginning as it is a decade later. Sadly, not all sleepers agree that these mattresses are durable, and some have had issues with longevity after a short time. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, read over the reviews, warranty, and return policies to make sure that you are safe in your purchase.

Simba's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are given high ratings from customers, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. This is a great place to start in figuring out if one of these mattresses will fit your needs -- read on for more specifics.


Simba's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is one of the most important things to just about everyone. Whether you like a firm, soft, or medium mattress, a bed that keeps your back feeling good for longer is what's important. Most reviewers report that these mattresses help provide that kind of support.

Edge Support
Over the years, edge support has been an important attribute in mattresses. Overall, these mattresses offer strong edge support, which means sleepers notice good support when they roll to the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is popular in measuring mattress firmness and it can measure even support too. These mattresses do well with evenness of support across the surface of the mattress.


Simba's Durability

Durability and longevity are deciding factors for mattress shoppers. In this day and age, mattresses should last between 7 and 12 years with average use to be considered durable. That said, mattress craftsmanship and sleeper body weight can affect durability as well. Customers give these mattresses good marks for durability against others. However, some that are heavier may see a slight decrease in durability.

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

Very Comfortable mattress [HYLLESTAD]
Very comfortable, excellent value for money would definitely recommend

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Guest bed mattress [HAMARVIK]
Great price, guests say very comfortable. Added airmax mattress topper and padded mattress protector for extra comfort.

Too short for bed frame! [HAFSLO]
I bought this mattress to go with the Slakt bed frame. It was recommended to go with that frame and the price was very reasonable. I understand that a rolled mattress may take a while to settle but thus mattress is 11cm too short for the frame, leaving a big gap at the bottom of the bed. There’s a whole slat that isn’t covered by mattress!! This doesn’t seem right considering IKEA recommend this mattress to go with the Slakt bed. I feel we will have to return it for a better fit.

Comfortable [HAMARVIK]
Nice mattress and very comfortable

Does what a mattress should [HAMARVIK]
Does what a mattress should do.

Hafslo comfy mattress but ridges after 2 months [HAFSLO]
I bought this mattress for my daughter who is a mere 66kg. She does love the springyness of however, after only 2 months it is no longer flat and has developed creases/ridges which she says makes it less comfy. Disappointed.

Very comfortable [HAMARVIK]
An excellent mattress at a reasonable price, great

Looks amazing [HAMARVIK]
My teenage daughter absolutely loves this bed. We ordered online & click & collect down in Nottingham was the only place with it available.... 4hr round trip BUT so pleased with it.

Fantastic [HYLLESTAD]
I makes me want to stay in bed all day long :) It really good , farm and strong and comfortable

Bought for our daughter, says [HYLLESTAD]
Bought for our daughter, says mattress is comfy and sleeps well

Very comfortable [MORGEDAL]
Soft and firm at the same time.

So comfy! [HOKKÅSEN]
We spent some time in store testing out all the different mattresses, and it was definitely worth it - we’ve had this one for a few months now and it is so comfortable! We had many a good nights sleep!

Most comfortable mattress ever [HOKKÅSEN]
We bought the medium firm mattress and are really pleased with how comfortable it is. We coupled this with the Leirsund slats and this seems to also help with the comfort of the mattress. We couldn’t have made a better choice.

Good night sleep! [MOSHULT]
Ikea never fail in their design for comfort with their mattresses, I cannot fault them. You will get a good night sleep.

Comfort of MALFORS [MALFORS]
My mother at 82, a recent cancer survivor and currently living with vascular dementia, so her dreamy comfort whilst she sleeps is paramount. This recent item, goes some way to add the additional comfort required to our existing bed.

Life changing quality [MORGEDAL]
Perfect nights sleep every night

Excellent value for money [HYLLESTAD]
Really comfortable and affordable. Deciding was difficult but only because of range available. Ifind it very comfortable

Super comfy, like sleeping in [HAMARVIK]
Super comfy, like sleeping in the clouds but not too soft.

Really good comfort & value [HAFSLO]
Wasn’t expecting that much but it really is comfortable

Really comfortable mattress [MALFORS]
Mattress, good value and comfortable

Very comfy the edging colour [HAMARVIK]
Very comfy the edging colour isn’t appealing but covered with a fitted sheet anyway

Comfortable bed great price [HUSVIKA]
Worth spending more than the foam versions for the hemnes day bed

Comfortable [MALFORS]
Great value for money and great for the spare bed. I liked it so much that I bought bigger size for my bed. Comfortable and really good feature of being able to wash the outside cover.

Perfect comfy mattress. [HAFSLO]
Was not expecting much for the price of the mattress but it’s the best we have bought. So comfy and stayed like new. Bargain!

Exactly as expected [MALFORS]
Not used get owing to lock down but I have laid on it and it seems fine.

2 singles = 1 superking! [MALFORS]
I bought a secondhand bed from Gumtree and needed a mattress. I only realised when I assembled it that it was a superking and the mattresses for super kings are really expensive. However I found out that 2 singles = 1 superking. It worked really well once all the bedding was on!

Comfort [VATNESTRÖM]
Gives you a good nights sleep

Good price [MOSHULT]
Cheap price for what needed it form worked well

Mattress [MOSHULT]
Excellent quality and very comfortable

Double mattress [HYLLESTAD]
Very comfortable,very good quality. Is not flat packed, hard to transport.

Dipping Mattress! [HOKKÅSEN]
We have had the Mattress for 5 years and a little while ago we noticed that it started to sag on all the edges! We kept our Receipts as it came with a guarantee so someone was sent out to assess, we were told that our bed frame is not supportive enough! I have never had a mattress do this before we do not sit nor lie on the edges of our beds and our bed frame is perfectly acceptable so i will not be being an Ikea mattress again!

Not a good quality [MORGEDAL]
We had purchased 2 mattresses. After few months, started back pain due to it’s quality as it’s shrunk down completely. And same experience with other family member as found same issue as she is now suffering due to back pain. Not recommended product to be honest.

Very comfortable. [HÖVÅG]
Delivery was wise as it was 25kg but you could easily collect it in a car with help. Unrolled it takes a few days to restore itself. Initially it felt hard but it is perfect now.

Fantastic price for a great [HÖVÅG]
Fantastic price for a great mattress

Beger sleeping on the floor [MORGEDAL]
The worst mattress on the plant! I know it not super expensive but it’s so hard like a rock, I tried this in store before I bought it and it was so nice, got deliver and I thought I might give it a time to get used to it, but it’s so bad I bought it less then 2 years ago and my back hurts so only 22 and I should not have back problems at this age, my husband which is 28 is also starting get really bad back pains I’m so sad they can’t do an exchange.

Would not advise to buy [MALFORS]
Would not advise to buy a foam mattress considering to exchange for a spring when we can get back to the store

Spend the extra pennies [HUSVIKA]
These sprung mattresses are very comfy, people that have used them always compliment how comfortable they are. I would say worth spending the extra for a bit of comfort.

Very Poor [MORGEDAL]
avoid this item as the quality is very poor. it did not even reach one year from the date of our purchase and it already started sagging. the mattress has already become very uncomfortable to sleep on and my body is already sinking into it.

Morgedal foam mattress [MORGEDAL]
So comfortable used with white wooden Hemnes bed. Fab.

Mattress [HAFSLO]
Does want it says on the tin - no issue so far!

Browse Simba Customer Reviews

Great mattress
Best mattress I’ve had. Really comfy, I always sleep well and it came so quickly. company really helpful also. I got the bundle which is well worth it

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Dreamy
Service was fantastic, our mattress arrived on the chosen date and we were given several notifications as to when it would arrive. Friendly and helpful staff delivered our mattress. The mattress itself is excellent. It is incredibly comfortable, it feel wonderfully soft yet at the same time it is supportive. We highly recommend!

Superb mattress
No words to explain this is the best mattress I ever had. I wish if I could have this before will definitely recommend it. It’s worth the price u pay.

A worthwhile investment
Chose the Simba bed & mattress to replace my daughter's old childhood bed with the intention of it lasting her through her teens. Turned out to be a great choice although I'm worrying i've made my job of getting a teenager out of bed even harder !! She says it's the comfiest bed ever. She used to jump out of bed at 6.30, now she's definitely not in such a hurry to get up! I'm still surprised at how much support the mattress gives when it's so light. Fantastic product & worth the investment.

My first nights sleep was amazing
I had the most amazing first night sleep on my Simba mattress I have tried various mattresses due to me having arthritis in my spine and the rest of my body I always used to wake up in pain after sleeping on Simba mattress it was the first time in a long time I actually slept without any pain couldn't believe this mattress is my life saver

Amazing
Have been due an upgrade for a couple of years and wasn’t sure whether to go for a mattress in this price range. I had a number of recommendations from friends and colleague and decided to go for it. The mattress is most definitely value for money, it is the most comfortable mattress I have ever owned, is a perfect temperature and is so lovely and comfortable! Would recommend to anybody in a heartbeat and I will definitely be a customer for life!

BEST SLEEP
best night sleep for 20 years been wasting money on inferior beds

Fantastic mattress and fantastic service!
My partner and I were moving into our new flat and we really wanted to invest in a decent mattress, he has often in the past complained of back pain from years of sleeping on terrible unsupportive mattresses so we felt a Simba mattress would be just what we needed. It arrived on time with the mattress protector we ordered. I loved taking it out the box, so satisfying to watch it unfold. For the past 2 weeks I have slept like a baby, passing out each night, it is difficult to write a review because I'm always asleep when I'm using it, this can only be a good sign. It's warm and squishy to lay on and my partner no longer has problems with his back! I love it :D

Simba king size mattress
Only had mattress for few weeks. So far no issues & very comfortable, very pleased with it so far.

Simba double mattress
I was sceptical of the promise of the best nights sleep, but since I bought a Simba matress I am amazed at just how much quality sleep I am getting, night in night out. I wouldn't dream (pun intended) of sending it back even with the 100 night refund guarantee! It's even been helping with my back pain meaning Im ready for the day ahead. Absolute satisfaction!! Cannot recommend highly enough Mike

Good sleep
Service is second to none. Had my. Mattress for just over 2 weeks now. Sleeping better and no aches n pains when I get up. Still find myself rolling over quite a lot but suspect it's a bit hot at night and that's why. No dents left where you sleep. Would recommend this mattress.

Amazing
Brilliant mattress

Wish I'd bout this year's ago
After a lot of research we opted for a Simba mattress, along with pillows, mattress protector and duvet. So glad we did! After only one night's sleep I awoke without my usual niggling pain in my lower back. As the weeks passed, the sensation of lying down at night with a 'ahhhh thats comfy" have not lessened. The only struggle now is forcing myself out of bed each morning. Thoroughly recommend Simba if you value a good night's sleep.

Life changing
Since buying the Simba only 2 weeks ago my husband's back has not given him any problems. He is a labourer and says that it's the best nights sleep he has ever had. I have arthritis and find the support on my knees has been soft and firm all at once...a contradiction I know but you must try it!

A good nights sleeping
I had not changed my mattress for about 8 years! I decided on a Simba after extensive reasearch and I am 100% happy. I was suffering with back problems from my last memory foam mattress and after a week sleeping on the Simba it’s now just a distant memory! I can’t rexomend them enough.

Just what I needed
Been looking for a mattress for a while but couldn't decide, so i jumped in with both feet and im so glad i did. Only had it 3 weeks but I've had some amazing sleep since we got it. I'm tall and heavy so I need a good quality mattress and thats what i got. My old mattress was expensive more than double what I paid for this and that was 12 years ago. Well done Simba i hope it lasts and wears well.

Best Mattress Ever!
So happy with this mattress. Great that it comes in a box, therefore much easier to get up the stairs. Used to suffer from backache in the morning but this has completely disappeared. Incredibly comfortable and would recommend.

Great nights sleep!
I was skeptical about how amazing everyone says this mattress is, but I can honestly say it has given me and my partner brilliant nights sleep since we got it a few weeks ago. Took a few nights to get used to, but after the initial settling in I have had such nice dreamy sleeps so much so that when the alarm goes off it can be a struggle to will myself out of the comfort!

Superb
I bought the mattress and me the wife love it great product and really comfortable.

Great nights sleep!
I was skeptical about how amazing everyone says this mattress is, but I can honestly say it has given me and my partner brilliant nights sleep since we got it a few weeks ago. Took a few nights to get used to, but after the initial settling in I have had such nice dreamy sleeps so much so that when the alarm goes off it can be a struggle to will myself out of the comfort!

Superb
I bought the mattress and me the wife love it great product and really comfortable.

Amazing sleeping experience
You don’t really know what’s a good quality sleep till you try a Simba. I used to wake up every morning with such a sore back and that’s gone since I am sleeping in my new Simba. 100% recomendable

Very satisfying
Very satisfying

Comfy at last!
I am a Wounded In Service Military Veteran and due to service related injuries I have just endured major operations on my main joints with a prosthetic knee implant being most recent. The agony and pain was uncontrolled. Add no sleep and discomfort and I was barely coping. My husband took a small loan and purchased me a new bed and a Simba hybrid mattress and space pillow. My neck and shoulders are completely pain free and comfy. My sleep is improved and the only slight pain I get is from normal surgery recovery. The mattress takes you a small adjustment but this is because you've had a previous bad one and developed bad posture. I am very impressed and it is a delight to sleep in.

Super comfy
Great buy. Bought to help support during sleeping. Keeps us cool and is super comfy. Great mattress I will be keeping mine.

Best mattress I've ever had
They delivered up to the room of my choice. Very easy to get it set up and I let it breathe for a few hours and then I was sleeping on it the same night. Great firmness, expensive but definitely worth it!

Simbaaaaaamazing
The Simba mattress was very late coming following 3 days off booked, there were issues with the mattress coming on two of those occasions. However, the mattress feels amazing, like you are given having a big hug every night. Perfect, you just need to sort out the delivery company and everything will be perfect! Hence 4 out of 5. Mattress is definitely a 5+ 😍 best nights sleep in I don’t know how many years.

Stunningly Simba!!
Amazingly comfy mattress and super customer service. Will be back for more!

Cozy and comfy
Been looking at all the hybrid mattress that are on sale at the mo and gkad i choose simba couldnt ask for better! Also customer survice has to be the best ive dealt with!

Highly recommended
I have always been a fidgety sleeper due to osteoarthritis in my hip and my husband has MS, since having purchased the Simba mattress we have both felt the benefit of a good night's sleep. I wake up without hip pain and my husband says his joints feel so much better. I wish we hadn't left it so long to get this mattress. It's perfect for our needs and takes the pressure off your body when sleeping.

Cozy and comfy
Been looking at all the hybrid mattress that are on sale at the mo and gkad i choose simba couldnt ask for better! Also customer survice has to be the best ive dealt with!

Great Purchase!
After visiting a department store to purchase a new mattress I happened to try Simba and was really impressed by how comfortable it was. Good price compared with other brands and delivery was really quick and since it arrives in a box it was easy to get upstairs. Since it arrived I’ve not been disappointed.

Snug as a bug in a rug
We looked at 3 or 4 mattresses in shops which were more expensive. We are so pleased we have this a go as neither of us have slept this well for ago. Highly recommended!

Excellent
Everyday I would dread waking! I couldn’t get up in the morning for pain. Me and my partner felt exactly the same! Not anymore! Since Simba came into our life, we both feel completely renewed full of energy in the morning and I even if we only manage to get a couple of hours I feel like I’ve slept for years. Best purchase we’ve ever made! I would highly recommend! I really Can’t recommend this mattress enough!

Brilliant brilliant brilliant
Me and my partner have both suffered with sleepless nights but since getting the Simba mattress they are a thing of a past. Can't recommend it enough. Thank you Simba!

Great
I’m really happy with my new Simba mattress. Since getting it I’m having some of the best nights sleep I’ve ever had. My wife also says she is able to sleep a lot better. So good results all round. We have also had great customer service from your team aswell. Well done simba

New mattress
Top quality product. Absolutely love it!!!!!!

Very comfy!
I’ve been late for work twice as it’s almost too comfy. Great bed!

Fabulous
Bought Simba for my daughter who has longstanding back pain from 2 fractured lumbar vertebrae 2 years ago. Now I am not suggesting that this will cure her pain but she is now sleeping much more comfortably which is improving her quality of sleep. Less pain in the morning too! Wish we’d bought this 2 years ago. Worth every single penny, in fact would pay more!!!

Simba mattress
Had my sim a mattress for a few weeks now and have not looked back . So comfortable slept through every night without a stir. Find it hard to drag myself out of bed in the morning , so comfy . Have recommended it to all my friends.