Hypnos vs Tempur

Get The Best August 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hypnos

Hypnos beds are a British brand of luxury hand-made mattresses available throughout Britain and worldwide. They specialise in luxury pocket sprung mattresses with natural and sustainable fillings, including wool, cotton, and other fabrics. Additionally, they have a Royal Warrant, which is an official recognition of excellence in bedding. If you are looking for a regal experience, this brand has you covered, but there are some concerns about durability raised by some customers.

Tempur

Tempur® mattresses became famous with the memory foam mattress revolution that they helped create. Over the years, their mattresses have grown to include pocket sprung varieties along with their slow response foam options. Although they are popular with customers because of their brand recognition and initial comfort, their prices are much higher than newer online British brands that are disrupting the industry.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Hypnos and Tempur in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hypnos: 8.8/10
Tempur: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hypnos: 8.7/10
Tempur: 8.7/10

Price Value:
Hypnos: 8.4/10
Tempur: 8.6/10

No Back Pain:
Hypnos: 8.5/10
Tempur: 8.8/10

Price:
Hypnos: £719-£2599
Tempur: £1329-£3799+

Hypnos:
Get Yours Now

Tempur:
Get Yours Now

Hypnos's Owner Satisfaction

By reading customer reviews, you can pinpoint the right mattresses for you. These mattresses are rated very well by customers, but there were a few folks that complained. Below you can find a selection of customer reviews and more information on the mattresses -- read on!

Hypnos's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is essential to getting the most out of your night's sleep. These mattresses are above average in supportiveness across all sleepers. This is important if you don't have a supportive sleeping surface right now. Most customers respond that these mattresses provide proper support.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportiveness there is on the edges against the center section of the mattress. These mattresses offer good edge support overall, but some folks may notice more sinking along the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By placing a bowling ball on the mattress, one can figure out mattress firmness. It is also a great test to see if there is evenness in support or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses will give a good amount of evenness of support.

Hypnos's Durability

Based on the materials used, mattresses that have good durability will last between 7 - 12 years. Foam mattresses are generall not as durable long term, while mattresses with springs tend to last a bit longer, but only if they are well made. That being said, mattresses that don't put emphasis on durability will start breaking down much faster independent of materials used. These mattresses have mixed feelings from customers. Some find them to be fine when it comes to durability, but others have had issues.

Tempur's Owner Satisfaction

Reading online reviews and getting a sense of how people feel is a great way to figure out if a company is going to be a good fit for you. Reviewers overall have positive things to say about these mattresses, but there are some that didn't share the same experience. Look over the below details to discover if one of these mattresses will fit your body.

Tempur's Supportiveness

Customers report that these mattresses are good at support. Though the rare sleeper reports that these mattresses aren't the proper firmness for them, the majority of reviewers describe them as having the right amount of support for deep sleep.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that like sitting on the side of the mattress or find themselves lying close to the side of the mattress. These mattresses do well overall on edge support and they should fit the needs of most folks.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many mattress reviewers use bowling balls to test firmness and support. These mattresses do well at providing even support throughout the mattress, which means they should work well to align the spine of your body.

Tempur's Durability

All of us wants a mattress that really lasts, but some brands care more about selling their products than focus on long term quality. Luckily, these mattresses are above average when it comes to durability. Most will sleep comfortably for 5 to 7 years, but some folks that are heavier may find that there mattress doesn't last as long.

Browse Hypnos Customer Reviews

Good but not what I expected

I decided to buy one of these after a friend of mine from bridge club told me about how wonderful they are. I was impressed by their connection to the Royal family. Unfortunately, the bed hasn't been what I expected. I wake up with back pain and think it is because of that bed -- way too firm.

View More Reviews

Browse Tempur Customer Reviews

Tempur sensation 25 elite mattress

Although not a particularly cheap option, after a few weeks with this new mattress I definitely think that its money well spent, I would definitely recommend trying the different types that tempur offer as we narrowed it down to the cloud or sensation, cloud was nice and soft but changing position seemed a little harder than on the sensation. I have read a lot of reviews stating that people find these mattresses to be on the warm side, I personally find it to be ok but I always open a window slightly of a night. And finally to the comfort, after a few weeks now most of my aches and pains have finally disappeared as most of the other reviews state. I hope this helps and definitely try in store first.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Simba

Eve

Emma

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.