Dunlopillo Mattress Reviews

Get The Best October 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Dunlopillo

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Dunlopillo makes a variety of pocket sprung and latex-foam mattresses for customers in the UK and Europe. Their mattresses are mid-priced and not considered low budget. In terms of customer reception, most found them comfortable enough, but there were some customers that mentioned issues around firmness and longevity.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.8/10

Price Value: 7.8/10

No Back Pain: 7.8/10

Price: £899-£1499

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Dunlopillo's Specifics

Dunlopillo makes a variety of pocket sprung and latex foam mattresses for sale in the UK and Europe. They have three lines to choose from: Standard Latex, Latex Plus, and Pocket Sprung. Though these mattresses come in a variety of firmness options, they tend to be firmer than many customers expect. Latex is highly responsive versus memory foam and tends to sleep firmer, which is not ideal for everyone.

Craftsmanship & Quality

Dunlopillo's prices are in-line with mid-grade materials and craftsmanship. Latex is a more expensive foam versus synthetic foams like memory foam, and generally it lasts longer. However, there were some doubts that customers mention about some elements of construction.

We'll go through each of their mattress types so that you can get additional details of each before buying:

Here are the details about the Standard Latex Mattresses:

Their Standard Latex mattresses come with a pure latex core. These mattresses feature 7 zoned supports to relieve pressure on the hips and shoulders, while supporting the middle spine. These mattresses come in various firmness profiles to choose from. They get good initial reception from most customers, but some had issues with firmness and durability.

The Pros: Latex mattresses at a competitive pricepoint. Ergonomic, zoned support.

The Cons: Some initial comfort and durability complaints.

Here are the details of the Latex Plus:

The Latex Plus line is very similar to the Standard Latex line, coming with a pure latex core with 7 support zones for ergonomic support. With similar firmness options to choose from, they also have the 'plus' of a cooling cover. The highly conductive cover diffuses heat away from the body.

The Pros: Additional cooling for the warmest sleepers. Similar benefits to Standard Latex line.

The Cons: Some initial comfort disagreements and durability issues reported.

Lastly, we'll discuss Dunlopillo's Pocket Sprung Mattresses:

With a healthy layer of latex, tailored to the firmness profile selected, Dunlopillo's pocket sprung mattresses come with encapsulated pocket springs that adjust independently for less partner disturbance and pressure point pain. These mattresses get good initial reception from customers, but there are some that had problems with longevity.

The Pros: Latex, pocket sprung hybrid mattresses with multiple firmness options.

The Cons: Some problems with durability reported.

Overall Comfort

These mattresses are well-rated overall for latex mattresses. There are some customers that had problems with firmness and durability.

Firmness

Dunlopillo mattresses are on the firmer side. This is due to the latex layers, which tend to feel firmer and more responsive. These are ideal for heavier body sizes and stomach sleepers. That said, they do offer some medium varieties that will do well for lighter body sizes.

Back Pain Relief

For those that prefer firmer mattresses, these mattresses will do well to align the spine. Those that are side sleepers, may find that they don't relieve pressure enough in the hips and shoulders.

Cooling

Dunlopillo has built mattresses that are fantastic at cooling. Latex naturally sleeps cooler than other types of foam and with the addition of a conductive cover in the Plus line, these mattresses will sleep cool even for the warmest sleepers.

Who Are Dunlopillo Mattresses Good For?

Dunlopillo mattresses are ideal for those that are looking for a firm and responsive mattress and have problems sleeping cool. Those that are smaller or want a softer mattress may not agree with these mattresses.

Browse Dunlopillo Customer Reviews

Supremely comfortable

After a ton of research I was torn between buying one of these new online memory foam 'mattress in a box' mattresses or a latex mattress. As the memory foam was cheaper and companies offer a 100 day return policy, we gave one a try. Have since returned due to being too hot and replaced with a Dunlopillo Royal Sovereign mattress (king).

16p a night!

Our last version of this lasted 25 years worth of us sleeping in it, our sons bouncing on it as children and all those years of the kind of activity that made them.

Very unhappy with this mattress

We thought we would treat ourselves to one of these mattresses, but were very disappointed. We found after a short while in bed it was like sleeping on a concrete block, and on top of that, although it is supposed to be the latest technology and therefor cool , we woke up drenched in sweat, even with a 4 tog duvet and cotton mattress cover. Not what we expected, would not recommend to anyone.

Bouncy Like A Rock

We tried sleeping on this for 2-3 nights. Lovely for the first 15 minutes then it was 'most unpleasant'. It was like a rock, no give; yet somehow it was still bouncy. It was the most peculiar thing. I can't understand why I've read good reviews of it. We returned it ASAP. If you are considering buying this, I'd suggest you spend a long time on it in the shop.

A good nights sleep

The first good nights sleep in a long time. This mattress is very comfortable and regulates personal body heat. It did take a week or two to get used to, but now I would highly recommend it to anyone. The only product design fault is that there is no handles on the mattress to help manoeuvre it when you need to rotate the mattress as recommended by the manufacturer on a seasonal basis.

Slightly disappointed

I had a royal sovereign dunlopillo mattress for many years and needed a new one I ordered the same mattress because I wanted the same firmness but I'm sorry to say it doesn't seem to be the same firmness at all it seems a lot softer and the topping that is used has all dimples over it and as I don't like mattress toppers it felt very odd under my fitted sheet. I know Dunlopillo need to hopefully make improvements but I was slightly disappointed as I was expecting it at least to be the same firmness & for me the outer topper should be smooth. In hindsight if Dunlopillo are making their mattresses slightly softer I would have gone for the more firmer one. I was given a delivery day and a three hour time slot the delivery guys were great they unpacked it and put it onto the bed frame took all the packaging away which was brilliant because it did come very well packed in a cardboard box and plastic wrapping.

Warning don't buy a large size in Dunlopillo

Beware of buying the Super King size, it's just two singles stuck together with glue. NASTY and the worst buy I have ever had the misfortune of making. The manufacturer just shrugged off my complaints with "that's how they are made"

Bought a millennium and have had no end of trouble...

Bought a millennium and have had no end of trouble. Paid nearly £3000+ for a super king. It is MUCH firmer than shown. After 3 months it did not spring back, causing even firmer compression points that means the only way to get a comfortable position is to mould back in to the indents!! Called dreams and had an independent assessment done. The result was that the 'indents' were not sufficient to claim a faulty mattress. We were told to rotate the matress every few weeks. BE WARNED...this is a VERY HEAVY mattress and virtually impossible to rotate. We have now given up rotating as frequently as it is VERY DANGEROUS to health and we risk damaging our backs even further...in fact I am now considering calling in the Health and Safety Executive to perform a RISK ASSESSMENT. All in all a TERRIBLE mattress, with warranty promises that are NOT upheld . We had a Dunopilo mattress 16 years ago, and it was amazing, hence we bought another; but be warned, the new so called 'contoured' support is rubbish, AND if you do manage to rotate this mattress the zones change and it is even more uncomfortable. We are seemingly stuck with ours, but I would not want anyone to spend this much money and be saddled with a white elephant like we are.

Contacted them

Contacted them for a replacement pillow cover as the zip was broken and were of no help whatsoever. Really bad customer service!

Dunlopillo use a percentage

Dunlopillo use a percentage (Undisclosed) of synthetic Latex in their products. The products are NOT 100% Natural Latex. Synthetic Latex is a petroleum based product and could not be more different from Natural Latex. Dunlopillo obscure this by stating they use 100% "Pure" Latex.

I had a Dunlopillo as a baby

I had a Dunlopillo as a baby, I used it until I left home, my mum used it to sit on after hip and knee replacement surgery ! I have a new one

Pain in shoulder and hip

I had a Dunlopillo Debonair for 15 years and loved it as it was so comfortable. I bought a Dunlopillo Mellenium bed 4 weeks ago and I have pain in whichever shoulder and hip I’m lying on. I have trouble getting to sleep and when I do I’m woken up by pain. I’m at a loss at what to do next. It was over £2000. The bottom sheet wrinkles badly too.

Very disappointing

WE bought 2 single Royal Sovereign Mattresses 2 years ago and we really regret it. After 6 months the mattress started to change shape and did sink were most op the pressure is. At that time we complained where we purchased the mattress and they informed us that this can be normal. Reading the small print afterwards, it indeed mentioned that the shape of the mattress can change. This is not acceptable for a so called top quality mattress!!! I am a physiotherapist and will never recommend this product.

Cool Cover

We bought the Millenium mattress with a cool cover free upgrade - wish we hadn't! The sheets/mattress protector slip continually leaving wrinkles/bumps and most uncomfortable. Have tried 3 different mattress protectors and a new 100% cotton sheet to no avail. The shop where we bought is trying to arrange a replacement standard cover. Hopefully this will solve the problem - have yet to receive it.

Compare Dunlopillo With These Brands

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Simba

Compare With Eve

Compare With Emma

Compare With Tempur

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Hyde And Sleep

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Relyon

Compare With Vispring

Compare With Silentnight

Compare With Sleepeezee

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.