Tempurpedic vs Urban

Get The Best April 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Tempurpedic

Tempur-Pedic is the memory foam mattress pioneer and a household name in the mattress industry. It is a popular name brand mattress and part of the mattress powerhouse, Tempur-Sealy along with other name brands like Stearns and Foster. With the reputation of starting the memory foam mattress movement, Tempur-Pedic has a legacy to live up to, and with a suite of offerings to fit nearly every sleeper -- there is a lot to be said for this brand.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tempurpedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tempurpedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Tempurpedic: 8.4/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Tempurpedic: 8.7/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Tempurpedic: $1599-$8398
Urban: $299-$4299

Tempurpedic:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Tempurpedic's Owner Satisfaction

Customers give these mattresses high marks for comfort overall. This means that there is significant positive feedback from customers, but with a few caveats. There are some customers that disagreed with the comfort. Keep reading to ensure that these will work for your body type!

Tempurpedic's Supportiveness

Mattress support is important for keeping your spine well aligned and sleeping well. These mattresses offer an above average level of support in their sleeping surface. This is important if you are suffering from lack of support currently. Most reviewers report that these mattresses are supportive overall.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of resistance there is for sleepers along the sides versus the amount of support in the middle. Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support overall, but some may experience sinking or contouring along the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is perfect for those that want to measure mattress firmness. It is also a great test to see if there is evenness in support or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses will work well to provide even support.

Tempurpedic's Durability

All mattress buyers want to find a mattress that will sleep comfortably after a decade or more. Though there are some reasons, like our changing body, that would mean we would want a new bed after 15 years, we would all be happier knowing our mattress could last that long. Customers are pretty content with these mattresses when it comes to their durability. Most sleepers will be comfortable with these mattresses over 7 years, but some had issues with the feel. If you are a heavier person and concerned about longevity, make sure to review the specification before buying.

Check the Prices For Tempurpedic:   Get Today's Prices

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers reviewed these mattresses highly and felt comfortable in their beds. However, some folks didn't have the same feeling. If one of these mattresses looks good to you, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Urban's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well with support vs many other competitors. They provide a good surface for aligning the back and spine and help most folks get comfortable. Customers report that they feel a good amount of support and and talk about good performance and solid inital comfort.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that lay close to the side of the bed and desire even support throughout. These mattresses do a fine job with good edge support towards the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. These mattresses have good even support and good versatility throughout the mattress.

Urban's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts a long time can means thousands of dollars in your pocket. And that totally aligns with why durability is so important to mattress buyers. However, any shopper reading the reviews knows there are brands that seemingly don't care about the same thing. Even with that, customers can still find great products and brands out there. These mattresses are experienced by customers as being highly durable. These mattresses do well for most sleepers for 7 - 12 years, but those with heavier builds may get slightly less time out of theirs.

Browse Tempurpedic Customer Reviews

Great Mattress!!

I received the mattress a few days ago, and after 24 hours, it has been some great sleep! The mattress itself is a bit on the firm side, but I have read that it will soften up, which is good.
It feels wonderful and is a great buy! I am so glad I went with this instead of the Tempurpedic or iComfort...Saved quite a bit! Overall, I am satisfied. The mattress came rolled up and vacuum sealed, so there was a slight odor, but that dissipated within 24 hours. The bed says, BedBoss on the side of it also. I'm excited to get to sleep in this weekend on it.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.