Symbol vs Zenhaven

Get The Best Holiday 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Symbol

Symbol mattress company was founded in 1961, focused originally predominantly on commercial mattresses including mattresses for schools and health care facilities. Over the past few years, they have used their commercial backing to release consumer products through retailers in the Midwest, Northeast, and South Eastern U.S. They boast American made fabrics and manufacturing and use certified Certipur-US foam (which is low in volatile organic compounds) on some of their mattresses. Most customers like their mattresses at first, but there are some that experienced issues with durability.

Zenhaven

Zenhaven is another brand by the factory-direct Saatva brand, which has done very well with their Saatva and Loom and Leaf brands. The Zenhaven mattress is an all-natural alternative with high-end materials like organic wool and 100% Talalay latex. What's more incredible: the pricepoint is much more affordable than major retailer varieties of the same quality, which is why it is such a great find for eco-conscious shoppers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zenhaven in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zenhaven

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Symbol: 7.2/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Symbol: 7.1/10
Zenhaven: 9.1/10

Price Value:
Symbol: 7.1/10
Zenhaven: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Symbol: 7.2/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Price:
Symbol: $189-$1259
Zenhaven: $1299-$2499

Symbol:
Get Yours Now

Zenhaven:
Get Yours Now

Symbol's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering purchasing, keep reading below for information on feel. They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some have had great things to say about how their mattresses work for them, but many others have had complaints about feel.

Symbol's Supportiveness

Having mattress support means having a healthy spine and comfort for the long term. These mattresses provide solid support for most folks, but rarely some reviewers have complained about firmness and support.

Edge Support
Edge support is a must-have attribute for great mattresses and Most experience these mattresses as having desirable edge support These mattresses should do well with edge support, but some heavier folks may experience some dips by the edge.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are good indicators of firmness as well as support. These mattresses offer solid support for most customers, but there are a few folks that experience issues with support longer term.

Symbol's Durability

In addition to being comfortable, having a durable mattress is what shoppers are after. We all want it to be just as comfortable at the beginning as it is a decade later. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are considering buying for nightly use, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Zenhaven's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers report feeling very comfortable and satisfied with these mattresses, which means when we evaluated current customer sentiment data from across the net, these mattresses ranked very well. This gives a good beginning point for seeing if this brand will work for your body -- read on for more specifics.

Zenhaven's Supportiveness

Having the proper supportive structure of a mattress is essential to its feel and whether it properly aligns the back and spine. These mattresses are good at supporting most sleepers. So, if you were worried about support for these mattresses, you can rest easy!

Edge Support
Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support. This means that the sides of the mattress will be comfortable for most folks and the mattress will prop you up rather than sinking down.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some folks love seeing bowling ball and density tests as a way of measuring support. These mattresses have good consistency in the feel of their surface layers, which is is a good selling point of this brand.

Zenhaven's Durability

Durability is the single most important criteria for buying a new mattress next to initial comfort. In this day and age, mattresses should last between 7 and 12 years with average use to be considered durable. That said, some factors that affect durability are sleeper size and material quality. These mattresses do very well when it comes to durability. There are some heavier folks that may experience a decrease in longevity.

Browse Symbol Customer Reviews

Symbol Mattress

We purchased our queen matress about a year ago. Loved it at first but now its broke down in the center. The place where u bought it tells me its not in warranty since i didnt buy the box springs with it. WELL I WASNT INFORMED OF THAT WHEN U PURCHASED IT or i would have got the box springs. Now im out 600 dollors on a 5 year warranty mattress. I will tell everyome i know about this. My company i work for purchases all its matresses from these people for campers. NOT ANYMORE

View More Reviews

Browse Zenhaven Customer Reviews

My new happy place

After sleeping on a very worn but beloved traditional mattress for 15 years and trying to be more eco-conscious and not taken by the big-box mattress stores that have popped up seemingly everywhere, my husband and I took a chance on the Zenhaven King. I was sold the minute I laid eyes (and my back) on it but my husband thought the Plush Soft side was a little too soft and while supportive, not firm enough for his back issues. So we flipped (actually rolled it over) to the Gentle Firm side and all is well in the universe. Flipping the mattress took our sleep experience to a new level. He is now talking about purchasing the Lineal Adjustable Base as well and I really want to try the pillows. The only thing that was a bit of an issue was that the mattress is designed to be used without a box-spring, which lowers the bed height significantly. Husband is 6'2 and I am 5'8. The bed was too low to easily get on without flopping so we are using our box-springs under the mattress to regain the height until we purchase the Adjustable Lineal Base. The customer service reps were very helpful and patient with our many questions and there was absolutely no pressure to buy. Considering the risk involved in purchasing something like this sight-unseen, this was by far one of the best decisions we have made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.