Stearns And Foster vs Zenhaven

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Zenhaven

Zenhaven is another brand by the factory-direct Saatva brand, which has done very well with their Saatva and Loom and Leaf brands. The Zenhaven mattress is an all-natural alternative with high-end materials like organic wool and 100% Talalay latex. What's more incredible: the pricepoint is much more affordable than major retailer varieties of the same quality, which is why it is such a great find for eco-conscious shoppers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zenhaven in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zenhaven

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10
Zenhaven: 9.1/10

Price Value:
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10
Zenhaven: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Price:
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799
Zenhaven: $1299-$2499

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Zenhaven:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Even though some folks appreciate these mattresses, they have lower customer satisfaction that average overall. Read on if you are considering buying for more information on the mattresses.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Getting good support from your mattress is important to getting a good night's sleep. If your mattress does a poor job supporting you, you simply won't sleep as well as those that have a mattress that aligns the spine. These mattresses offered good support at first, but some had issues with comfort over the long term.

Edge Support
These mattresses should do fine on edge support for most, which is beneficial for those that like rolling over towards the side of the mattress at night. Those that have heavier frames may still find some discomfort while laying close to the side.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Finding a highly durable mattress is great, and when our mattress is painful after only a few months, we feel cheated. However, finding lasting comfort nowadays is a real challenge. With more products available than ever, some brands are sacrificing quality. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Zenhaven's Owner Satisfaction

It can be a difficult task understanding which mattresses get higher marks from customers versus others. These mattresses are rated very well by customers based on our analysis. Although you may not necessarily agree after buying, these mattresses are worth a look over. Read on below for more information.

Zenhaven's Supportiveness

These mattresses are quite supportive versus others in the industry. They offer the support needed to align the vertebrae and customers feel good levels of comfort while sleeping. Reviewers are keen on describing these mattresses as supportive and and don't report loss of support over the short term.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress and desire a ledge of support and comfort. These mattresses offer good support on the sides and edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball mattress test is a good way of measuring firmness and support. These mattresses do well keeping things even and resilient throughout the mattress.

Zenhaven's Durability

Mattresses with high durability are some of the most sought after by customers. But with companies focusing less on building quality products and more on shipping product, it can be tough to find a long lasting mattress. However, even with this, thhese mattresses specifically do well when it comes to durability. Most customers should have them last up to a decade. If you are bigger than average, you may find your mattress slightly less durable.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Zenhaven Customer Reviews

My new happy place

After sleeping on a very worn but beloved traditional mattress for 15 years and trying to be more eco-conscious and not taken by the big-box mattress stores that have popped up seemingly everywhere, my husband and I took a chance on the Zenhaven King. I was sold the minute I laid eyes (and my back) on it but my husband thought the Plush Soft side was a little too soft and while supportive, not firm enough for his back issues. So we flipped (actually rolled it over) to the Gentle Firm side and all is well in the universe. Flipping the mattress took our sleep experience to a new level. He is now talking about purchasing the Lineal Adjustable Base as well and I really want to try the pillows. The only thing that was a bit of an issue was that the mattress is designed to be used without a box-spring, which lowers the bed height significantly. Husband is 6'2 and I am 5'8. The bed was too low to easily get on without flopping so we are using our box-springs under the mattress to regain the height until we purchase the Adjustable Lineal Base. The customer service reps were very helpful and patient with our many questions and there was absolutely no pressure to buy. Considering the risk involved in purchasing something like this sight-unseen, this was by far one of the best decisions we have made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.