Stearns And Foster vs Yogabed

Get Memorial Day 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Yogabed

Yogabed is a relative newcomer to the factory-direct mattress category. Their Yogabed Classic mattress is made with a proprietary blend of foam that reacts faster and sleeps cooler than traditional memory foam. They also use the addition of gel-infused foam to whisk away heat through the middle layer of the mattress as well. If you are looking for a medium firmness option, take a look deeper into what Yogabed has to offer.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Yogabed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Yogabed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10
Yogabed: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10
Yogabed: 6.2/10

Price:
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799
Yogabed: $649-$1049

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Yogabed:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some sleepers were unhappy with the comfort, but others were really pleased. Therefore, it is more difficult to estimate if one of these will work perfectly for you. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer above average supportiveness, which is great when you've been looking for a mattress to support your spine. However, some folks have described feeling discomfort overall, so make sure to figure out if the firmness and overall specifications are for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much a mattress props you up along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do well here, but some may exerience some dipping along the sides.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Everyone wants a mattress that will last forever, and when instead we get a mattress that hurts our backs after a couple months, we feel awful. However, it is getting more and more difficult to find a durable mattress nowadays. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Yogabed's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Yogabed's Supportiveness

In terms of supportiveness, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some customers feel like these mattresses provide a cozy comfort, but others didn't feel entirely comfortable. If you would describe yourself as plus-sized, you may want to do some added digging into reviews to make sure you find the right pick for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some may not find these mattresses to be evenly supportive along the sides and may dip more than usual.

Yogabed's Durability

These mattresses may not perform as well long term. Some sleepers describe issues with durability and comfort over a shorter than average timeline. If you are search for longevity in a mattress and would consider yourself to have a larger body type, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but take a look at the mattress specifications and reviews before buying.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Yogabed Customer Reviews

looks nice from the outside.

I order the yogabed through their website, which was a breeze and the customer service was excellent. The bed, not so great. Upon unpacking, I notice a VERY strong chemical odor, which is from the foam off-gassing VOC's (volatile organic compounds) It took much longer than 3 days to dissipate, more like one week, which is much longer than anyone should have to inhale such a scent. Initially, the bed felt amazing, the cover is soft and stretchy (probably the best part of the whole mattress) and the top layer felt very nice. Sleeping on it was a different story though. After a few weeks the foam begins to soften as you "break-in" the bed. The parts where me and my partner slept, began to feel softer than the middle of the bed (and we're only 150 lbs). As a stomach and side-sleeper this was not ideal as I began to wake up with lower back pain. So we returned the bed. This seems to be a common problem with many foam beds in this price range. There are other beds on amazon that use similar materials and are a fraction of the cost (dreamfoam, brentwood homes etc). As for me and my partner, we opted for a bed that uses latex (natural, non-toxic, more durable than memory foam and doesn't smell) and a higher density base/core foam (more than 1.8 lbs) which seems to be holding up better. Do your research on foam beds and the quality of their materials. I would not recommend this bed to people who weigh over 180lbs or who have a sensitivity to chemical odors.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.