Stearns And Foster vs Wolf

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Wolf

Wolf is the oldest mattress manufacturer under continuous family ownership in the United States. They are also famous for being the original licensee of the 'Serta' brand for their Serta fouton. They have kept up with the times though with relationships with major discount retailers like JCPenney and Sears. Additionally, they have made in roads to the online space and ship their mattresses in boxes with companies like Amazon and Overstock. They are generally comfortable, but some had issues with customer service and the warranty.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Wolf in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10
Wolf: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10
Wolf: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10
Wolf: 7.9/10

No Back Pain:
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10
Wolf: 7.6/10

Price:
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799
Wolf: $359-$1460

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Wolf:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be difficult to get at and even harder to understand -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't score as well with customers. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints. Read on below to get the details on the specifics.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

These mattresses have above average ratings for support, which is hopeful for those that are looking for something to align their spine at night. However, some folks have described feeling discomfort overall, so make sure to do some extra research on the firmness and whether it will work on your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much a mattress props you up along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do a fine job, but some may exerience some dipping along the sides.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is one of the most important factors to sleepers. We all wish our mattress will last a decade or more and still provide us with cozy comfort. However, sadly these mattresses are not rated very well by sleepers on longevity and some have experienced issues after only a short time. If you are considering buying for nightly use, read the reviews to make sure that it will match your body type before buying.

Wolf's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are content with their beds, but others are not as pleased overall. Despite those that are cozy, this means that these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Research on below for more specifics on whether this mattress will work for you.

Wolf's Supportiveness

Some reviewers are happy with the support found in these mattresses, but some have had issues with support over the long term. For those that are larger in frame or have tender spines, make sure to do additional reviews before buying.

Edge Support
There are positive and negatives reported about edge support. Some customers report feeling good with the support across the surface, but others had issues with supportive comfort and changes in support.

Wolf's Durability

Finding a long lasting mattress is great, but it's not always that easy. These mattresses are not rated well for their longevity by reviewers. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are heavier in body type, you may want to do extra looking before buying.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Wolf Customer Reviews

Fantastic nights sleep on my new mattress!

What a bargain! Wish I could have found such a great mattress and fantastic price a year ago. I would have bought it immediately. I aired out the mattress for 48 hours, set it up on my bed and what a wonderful restful nights sleep I had. If you want a great nights sleep check out the mattress I just bought!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.