Stearns And Foster vs Urban

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Urban in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799
Urban: $299-$4299

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering this brand, take a look below for more from customers Sadly, they get some negative feedback from a selection of sleepers. Some customers had positive things to say about their new mattress, but others didn't feel good about the comfort.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Most reviewers feel well supported by these mattresses, but other folks didn't enjoy the feel of the mattress. For those that are plus size, make sure to read all of the reviews and specifications as you'll want to ensure that your body and spine are supported well.

Edge Support
For those that like to lay down by the side of the mattress, most will be comfortable and supported with these mattresses. However, some had complaints so review more if you need edge support for mobility purposes.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. Sadly, customers are not always pleased with the durability of these mattresses. That said, some sleepers may discover their mattresses lasts more than a decade, while other mattresses may become uncomfortable faster. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

With brands investing in managing online reputation, it's difficult for the average shopper to get to the truth of customer satisfaction. With that said, these mattresses are reviewed highly by customers overall. But, there were some complaints from customers that disagreed with the feel. so make sure to read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you.

Urban's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the secret to waking up refreshed in the morning. You want something that will prop you up rather than sagging and hurting your back. These mattresses provide the kind of support that works with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is very important for those that like to lie close to the side of the mattress or have mobility issues. These mattresses do a good job with edge support and don't contour too much on the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A fun things for reviewers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing firmness and contouring, but also evenness of support. If a mattress isn't evenly responsive, some may experience some issues with the mattress. Luckily, these mattresses offer good support across the mattress surface.

Urban's Durability

It's a big deal for you financially if your mattress lasts and lasts. It's just another reason that sleepers should find a mattress that really lasts. However, not ever brand empathizes with this demand from shoppers. Even with that, customers can still find great products and brands out there. These mattresses are rated well when it comes to longevity. Unless you are of a heavier build, these mattresses should last 7 - 12 years.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.