Stearns And Foster vs Tuft And Needle

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Tuft And Needle

Tuft and Needle made a big splash in the mattress industry when it offered one of the lowest cost all-foam mattresses in a box directly to customers. As one of the earliest players in the mattress-in-a-box space, they've elaborated on their initial concept with the innovative Mint Mattress that provides a higher quality, universally comfortable all-foam design. With 100,000s of positive reviews, customers have spoken in approval of T&N.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tuft And Needle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tuft And Needle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.5/10

Price Value:
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.4/10

No Back Pain:
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.3/10

Price:
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799
Tuft And Needle: $325-$1145

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Tuft And Needle:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Customers, sadly, don't always have positive remarks about these mattresses. Some are very satisfied with the feel, but others report discomfort. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

All sleepers need a supportive mattress and especially back and stomach sleepers. Side sleepers also need a supportive mattress that keeps their spine, hips, and shoulders aligned. These mattresses do well overall with support. That being said, some customers didn't feel supported 100% of the time so if you are heavier, make sure to dig into the specifications.

Edge Support
Most find these mattresses to provide good edge support. But, some heavier customers may experience some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable as you would hope after buying. Some sleepers have had complaints about the feel and durability over a short time. If you are looking for something with lasting support and would consider yourself plus-sized, these mattresses may provide good comfort initially, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Tuft And Needle's Owner Satisfaction

There are is some negative input about these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. Due to this, one of these could be great for you, but it also may be a problem. Look on below to see if one of these may work for you.

Tuft And Needle's Supportiveness

Support isn't one and the same as firmness. Support is great if it aligns the spine and leads to a healthy night's sleep. Sadly, not everyone thinks these mattresses are truly supportive. Most find the mattress to be comfortable at the beginning, but some folks didn't feel like they were adequately supported over time.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses do a good job at edge support initially, but some found that it wasn't as supportive as they'd like

Tuft And Needle's Durability

Everyone wants a mattress that offers durability and will last forever, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, customers are a great indicator especially when you can get at all of the reviews. These mattresses are more durable than the average and should last over 5 years for most, but some heavier folks may experience them to be slightly less durable.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Tuft And Needle Customer Reviews

The upgrades to the Mint mattress

The upgrades to the Mint mattress addresses the few weaknesses of the standard T and N mattress. We have been extremely satisfied with both of them and have begun giving them to our kids

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.