Stearns And Foster vs Tempurpedic

Get an Instant Discount for Tempurpedic Online Only: Get 30% Off Breeze 2.0

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Tempurpedic

Tempur-Pedic is the memory foam mattress pioneer and a household name in the mattress industry. It is a popular name brand mattress and part of the mattress powerhouse, Tempur-Sealy along with other name brands like Stearns and Foster. With the reputation of starting the memory foam mattress movement, Tempur-Pedic has a legacy to live up to, and with a suite of offerings to fit nearly every sleeper -- there is a lot to be said for this brand.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tempurpedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tempurpedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10
Tempurpedic: 8.4/10

No Back Pain:
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10
Tempurpedic: 8.7/10

Price:
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799
Tempurpedic: $1599-$8398

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Tempurpedic:
Online Only: Get 30% Off Breeze 2.0

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Stearns and Foster has some issues with durability reported by customers, which plagues the customer satisfaction scores for the brand. There are many that describe issues with sagging mattresses over time. Versus Tempur-Pedic, Stearns and Foster has more issues reported about durability problems. However, they are much different mattresses, with Tempur-Pedic being more foam focused and Stearns & Foster having a luxury pillow top design. If you are looking for a pillow top mattress, but with better customer satisfaction scores, take a look at our list of top rated hybrid mattresses.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Mattress support is one of the most important things to stomach and back sleepers. Also, deeper support that keeps the spine aligned with the rest of the body is an essential trait for side sleepers. For most reviewers, these mattresses provide a good amount of support. However, some have had reported some issues so if you are heavier than most, make sure to do extra research.

Edge Support
Most feel comfortable with the edge support of these mattresses. But, some heavier customers may experience some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are considering buying a Stearns & Foster for your main mattress, read the reviews to make sure that it will match your body type before buying.

Tempurpedic's Owner Satisfaction

Tempur-Pedic mattresses are well-rated by customers overall, but they are quite expensive for the materials used. If you are a sleeper who doesn't have special firmness needs, there are plenty of similar mattresses that are well-rated by customers, but also pass on more value to shopper. Take a look at our list of top rated mattresses for strong alternatives.

Tempurpedic's Supportiveness

Mattress support is very important for keeping things comfortable at night. These mattresses are above average in supportiveness across all sleepers. This is important if you need something more supportive right now. Most customers respond that these mattresses provide proper support and with the wide array of firmness options, Tempur-Pedic makes it easy to find a mattress that works best for your body specifically (if you have needs that are different than the standard).

Edge Support
Edge support is how much resistance there is along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses have good edge support (especially the mattresses that offer pocketed coil support), but some may experience a slight contouring if they put too much pressure on the edge and have a larger body type.

Tempurpedic's Durability

We all want a mattress that will last forever, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, customers are a great indicator especially when you can get at all of the reviews. These mattreses are durable, overall, and should last longer than average for everyday sleepers (especially the firmer Tempur-Pedic options), but some who are heavier may find some models less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Tempurpedic:   Online Only: Get 30% Off Breeze 2.0

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Tempurpedic Customer Reviews

Great Mattress!!

I received the mattress a few days ago, and after 24 hours, it has been some great sleep! The mattress itself is a bit on the firm side, but I have read that it will soften up, which is good.
It feels wonderful and is a great buy! I am so glad I went with this instead of the Tempurpedic or iComfort...Saved quite a bit! Overall, I am satisfied. The mattress came rolled up and vacuum sealed, so there was a slight odor, but that dissipated within 24 hours. The bed says, BedBoss on the side of it also. I'm excited to get to sleep in this weekend on it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.