Spring Air vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Spring Air

Spring Air is a classic bed maker that has been crafting mattresses since 1926. One of their most recognizable brands is Chattam & Wells. Spring Air is a large mattress manufacturer with over 13 US factories and 22 factories internationally. They offer exclusively hybrid mattresses with latex and/or memory foam and pocketed coil innersprings. They also sell their mattresses at popular retailers such as Costco. Overall, their largest customer hurdle is around their warranty fairness and durability concerning sagging in the middle of the bed.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Spring Air: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Spring Air: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Spring Air: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Spring Air: 7.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Spring Air: $899-1699
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Spring Air:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Spring Air's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Even though some folks appreciate these mattresses, they have lower customer satisfaction that average overall. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

Spring Air's Supportiveness

Support in mattresses is deeply important to spine health and deep sleep. If you aren't supported by your bed, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. These mattresses have been rated above average in support, but some had issues with how they felt for them.

Edge Support
These mattresses offer good edge support, which is welcomed for those that like to sit on the side of the bed. Those that have bigger frames may still experience some sagging along the edges.

Spring Air's Durability

These mattresses may not give the lasting comfort that you are striving to find. On a shorter than average basis, some sleepers have reported feel and durability issues. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, these may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a firm understanding of sleeper reviews can be a relief. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is important to all, but especially important for back and stomach sleepers. Side sleepers also need a responsive mattress for their bodies. These mattresses do well overall with support. That being said, some customers didn't feel supported 100% of the time so if you are heavier, make sure to do extra research.

Edge Support
This mattress provides above average edge support. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses, specifically, are not rated highly by sleepers for their longevity. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Spring Air Customer Reviews

Bought this 2 yrs ago

Unfortunately we have returned it due to both sides sinking Leaving a huge hump in the middle

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.