Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Spring Air vs. Stearns And Foster

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Spring Air

Founded in 1926, Spring Air is a classic and traditional bed maker. With 8 US based factories and more worldwide, this large mattress manufacturer creates hybrid and innerspring mattresses available under a few different brands including Chattam & Wells, Four Seasons, and Back Supporter. Spring Air mattresses are available at retail stores nationwide. Still, some customers have brought up issues with firmness and durability.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for over 150 years with its last few decades being a part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur-Sealy along with brands like Tempur-Pedic and Sealy brands. With such a long legacy, they have become a recognizable name-brand known for luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs. With most customers experiencing the pillowy comfort they are known for, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers over the recent years.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Spring Air: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Spring Air: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Spring Air: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Spring Air: 7.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Spring Air: $899-1699
Stearns And Foster: $1699-$8398

Spring Air:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Spring Air's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Even though some folks appreciate these mattresses, they have lower customer satisfaction that average overall. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

Spring Air's Supportiveness

Support in mattresses is deeply important to spine health and deep sleep. If you aren't supported by your bed, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. These mattresses have been rated above average in support, but some had issues with how they felt for them.

Edge Support
These mattresses offer good edge support, which is welcomed for those that like to sit on the side of the bed. Those that have bigger frames may still experience some sagging along the edges.

Spring Air's Durability

These mattresses may not give the lasting comfort that you are striving to find. On a shorter than average basis, some sleepers have reported feel and durability issues. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, these may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a firm understanding of sleeper reviews can be a relief. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is important to all, but especially important for back and stomach sleepers. Side sleepers also need a responsive mattress for their bodies. These mattresses do well overall with support. That being said, some customers didn't feel supported 100% of the time so if you are heavier, make sure to do extra research.

Edge Support
This mattress provides above average edge support. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses, specifically, are not rated highly by sleepers for their longevity. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Spring Air Customer Reviews

Bought this 2 yrs ago

Unfortunately we have returned it due to both sides sinking Leaving a huge hump in the middle

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.