Spring Air vs Stearns And Foster

Get Memorial Day 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Spring Air

Spring Air is a classic bed maker that has been crafting mattresses since 1926. One of their most recognizable brands is Chattam & Wells. Spring Air is a large mattress manufacturer with over 13 US factories and 22 factories internationally. They offer exclusively hybrid mattresses with latex and/or memory foam and pocketed coil innersprings. They also sell their mattresses at popular retailers such as Costco. Overall, their largest customer hurdle is around their warranty fairness and durability concerning sagging in the middle of the bed.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Spring Air: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Spring Air: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Spring Air: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Spring Air: 7.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Spring Air: $899-1699
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Spring Air:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Spring Air's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Even though some folks appreciate these mattresses, they have lower customer satisfaction that average overall. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

Spring Air's Supportiveness

Support in mattresses is deeply important to spine health and deep sleep. If you aren't supported by your bed, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. These mattresses have been rated above average in support, but some had issues with how they felt for them.

Edge Support
These mattresses offer good edge support, which is welcomed for those that like to sit on the side of the bed. Those that have bigger frames may still experience some sagging along the edges.

Spring Air's Durability

These mattresses may not give the lasting comfort that you are striving to find. On a shorter than average basis, some sleepers have reported feel and durability issues. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, these may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a firm understanding of sleeper reviews can be a relief. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is important to all, but especially important for back and stomach sleepers. Side sleepers also need a responsive mattress for their bodies. These mattresses do well overall with support. That being said, some customers didn't feel supported 100% of the time so if you are heavier, make sure to do extra research.

Edge Support
This mattress provides above average edge support. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses, specifically, are not rated highly by sleepers for their longevity. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Spring Air Customer Reviews

Bought this 2 yrs ago

Unfortunately we have returned it due to both sides sinking Leaving a huge hump in the middle

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.