Spring Air Mattress Reviews

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Spring Air

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Spring Air is a classic bed maker that has been crafting mattresses since 1926. One of their most recognizable brands is Chattam & Wells. Spring Air is a large mattress manufacturer with over 13 US factories and 22 factories internationally. They offer exclusively hybrid mattresses with latex and/or memory foam and pocketed coil innersprings. They also sell their mattresses at popular retailers such as Costco. Overall, their largest customer hurdle is around their warranty fairness and durability concerning sagging in the middle of the bed.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.1/10

Price Value: 7.3/10

No Back Pain: 7.8/10

Price: $899-1699

Trial Period: Depends on Retailer

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Spring Air's Specifics

Spring Air has gained popularity over recent years because it has been made available at Costco retailers among others. The mattresses are also available online in certain instances. The frustrating part for some customers is that the product lines are named differently across various retailers and do not match their own website at times. This can make comparison shopping more difficult. To help this issues, we've opted to do enhanced reviews below on the most popular lines. These may be called something slightly different across retailers.

Quality of Materials

Spring Air mattresses are priced at the lower-middle end of the retail pricing. There has been some issues with the materials and durability problems reported by some customers. Because of this, for your money, it may be best to choose an alternative.

Mattress Types

Spring Air has a variety of mattress collections that they advertise on their website, but many of these are sold under different names. This can make it hard to comparison shop and understand exactly what you are getting and what the prices should be. That said, if you are buying a mattress from Costco or another large retailer, you may be able to find the transparency you need to make a decision. We'll go through the most popular mattresses that Spring Air offers.

Spring Air Denali Hybrid

The Denali mattress has been made popular because of its inclusion at Costco. You can find some models starting below $900. Although they call this mattress a hybrid, it comes with foam only with both latex and memory foams being used. We thought this was a bit misleading as hybrids usually have pocket coils. They offer both a firm and a plush option. Customers report some issues with firmness and durability. For the materials used, you may be able to find more value elsewhere.

The pros: Mid-grade materials used. Less expensive than some name brand mattresses.

The cons: Better value could be found elsewhere. Some issues with firmness and durability.

Final Score: 7.2 / 10

Spring Air Four Seasons

The Four Seasons mattress by Spring Air is a way to entice shoppers with a luxury brand. We are suspicious of these types of marketing gimmicks because usually you will sacrifice value. In this case, some of these mattresses are actually priced well under mid-range. These mattresses come with pocketed coils and memory foam comfort layers. Some customers had complaints about durability issues after a short period of time with these mattresses so make sure to do additional research before purchasing.

The pros: Some low priced options found in this collection.

The cons: Some may experience durability issues after only a short period.

Final Score: 7.1 / 10

Hotel & Suites Collection

The Spring Air Hotel & Suites Collection is a popular option that is found in some online and in-store retailers across the country. These mattresses have a traditional feel and feature latex, memory foam, and pocketed coils. They can be found for mid-range prices of just over $1,000 for a queen. Customers have good things to say about this mattress initially, but there are some that had longevity and sagging issues over a short period of time. Make sure that you get the right firmness option for your body type as it may be difficult to understand upon first look.

The pros: Multiple firmness options and a solid price. Customers generally like initial feel.

The cons: Some longevity problems and firmness problems.

Final Score: 7.3 / 10

Browse Spring Air Customer Reviews

Bought this 2 yrs ago

Unfortunately we have returned it due to both sides sinking Leaving a huge hump in the middle

What a great bed

This bed was delivered by two men from 'manna delivery' services, they did a good job and took away all of the boxing and giant bags. It is a little taller than i thought but its not too tall for my sheets which is good. It feels a lot different than my old memory foam bed and when I called they explained what latex foam was and really opened my eyes. My back pain has gone away and also i sleep better throughout the night. i would buy this bed again

Not a good quality mattress

Tried to like this matress but it's just a poor product. Weak sides making you feel like you're sliding off edge. Hump formed in middle after a few weeks. Valleys on the sides. Almost impossible to rotate due to lack of handles / straps to hold on to. Even tried to flip it over and all the problems come back on both sides.

Like a rug on a cold floor

We like a firm mattress but this is hard and uncomfortable. Harder than the sliding diagram indicates. My husband and I had back, hip and shoulder pain after the first night. Returning it asap.

Disappointed with mattress

After seeing the bed in Costco and feeling how cool the foam was, i was convinced it was a good buy .....but....when foam is covered with fabric, then a protective pad then a sheet the bed was just as hot as my last memory foam bed and after 3 months, it is starting to get indentations in it even though we rotated it several times. I will return it to Costco.

Tried to love it but disappointed after 9 months

Believe the reviews this mattress is firm! We've had it for about 9 months and still can't get comfortable. The sides have depressions while the middle has a hump. We have rotated the bed as instructed but still does not help. My wife and I aren't big people, and we both have back aches from this mattress. We gave it a try, but unfortunately have not had a good nights sleep. We are going to return it and get something softer.

Comfortable

I have purchased 3 spring Air beds in the past, so did not hesitate to order online. Delivery was very efficient and on time even though I live 175 miles from the nearest Costco. This mattress is very comfortable from day one.

Keeps you cool. Had this for 8 months still like

The Latex is great for hot sleepers! This bed does not make me sweat like memory foam or any of pillow tops. I never ever feel hot. It is a firmer plush if that makes sense. It will soften up after about 3-4 weeks. I originally bought the Ultra Firm model but I could not take that slab of concrete and had to return it for this one. It is definitely soft on the sides and firm in the middle. If I were single I'd sleep in the middle to make the bed even. With the firmer middle it is harder to roll over and my wife doesn't try to sneak over to cuddle and steal my heat. I tried 7 other mattress's foam/spring/spring infused latex with foam tops I thought I was going to go crazy, until I found this model. I was desperate for a King size, medium firm, cool bed for $1500ish.

great mattress

great mattress. firm and had good nights sleep from day one. the delivery service was efficient and courteous. they arrived in the time frame that was give and took away all cartons and papers. would recommend this product .

Disappointing quality

The consistency of the foam is uneven, hard in middle too soft on sides. Makes you feel like your tilting towards outer edge when laying on back. Seems also to have broke down to a lumpy feel after six months use. Very difficult to change positions as it leaves you feeling like your trying to roll out of a hole. Made my good back hurt. Can't sleep on this mattress any longer, returning.

great choice

There was an error in shipping by delivering the wrong foundation, so we had to use our old one, which made the mattress seem soft,but still very comfortable. After using the correct foundation there was a distinct improvement in the firmness,this is the best i have slept in along time especially having physical issues.I recommend you use the right foundation. We are very happy with this, also read the rotating instructions.

Soft as a cloud with NO support

Way too soft! You sink right in and it's comfortable at first. But when I wake in the morning I have a terrible lower back ache due to lack of support. I'm a side sleeper and this mattress does not have proper support to keep my spine aligned. This is suppose to be a Latex bed, so I don't know why they add junkie memory foam to the top layer which only makes it hotter and does not breath, completely defeating the advantages of Latex breath-ability and cool sleeping surface.

Firm - Not 'Plush'

When I saw this mattress advertised as plush I figured it would be very soft. That is not the case. This mattress is quite firm. It is probably fine for a back sleeper, but I sleep on my side and it's terrible. After the 3rd night I couldn't take any more and put an old memory foam topper on it. As soon as the replacement mattress arrives this one will be heading back to the warehouse.

Sorry , not happy at all

I was especially interested in getting away from springs and trying the Latex. Unfortuneately, it was a big dissapointment. It seened lifeless, like sleeping on a bag of soft beans. It definitely was not like a cloud. The positive reviews on a similar Spring Aire latex matress are astonishing to me

I love this bed!

I have to say, I was a little hesitant on purchasing this after reading the last review but I must say this was one of the best desicions I have made in a long time. This mattress is sooo cushiony and comfortable. For the first time in a long time, my husband and I have actually been sleeping through the night!

Excellent Bed

We have had this bed for about a month. From the first night, neither my husband or I wake up with sore/stiff backs. We bought our previous bed from Costco and were hesitant thinking we should go to a mattress store. We are so glad we went with this bed. I prefer a softer bed and my husband prefers a firmer bed. While this bed is firmer than I expected, it doesn't effect the sleep we are getting. We also didn't notice a smell. The manufacturer said to let the bed air out but we didn't need to. Hopefully this will continue to be a great bed! We have struggled over the years, trying less expensive options. This is worth every penny.

Good nights, happy days!

We were on the hunt for a good mattress, but did not want memory foam. The options are limited. After doing some research we ordered the Spring Air Firm mattress. It was too hard. I contacted Costco.com they arranged for pickup (free) of the other mattress and provided a refund. We then chose this mattress. It is still firm, but not hard. Its supportive and comfortable. Shipping was included in the price from Costco.com, and we had no issues with setting it up. My husband is also very pleased with it.

Stone

One word: stone. This bed is soooooo hard and not plush at all. I'm a loyal Costco shopper, but this product is a total fail. It will be going back for sure.

Horrible Mattress

My husband and I bought a full size Spring Air Back Supporter Mattress back in June 2015. Three and a half years later it is like sleeping in a hammock. It sags and there is big hump in the middle of the mattress. I also question if it is actually a true full size mattress as I have never been able to find a mattress cover and fitted sheet that will properly fit on the mattress. Every cover and full size sheet I have tried is too big.

The perfect choice

My wife and I selected the Annabelle queen set for our daughter when she moved into her first apartment while in college. After 15 years of classical ballet, her body has been through the grinder. She needs a firm mattress that still offers a soft feel. We wanted to get the very best for her and we are not disappointed. The Latex Hybrid technology is very impressive. The delivery was prompt and there were no issues with setup. We would recommend the Annabelle to anyone looking for a firm mattress with the very latest technology, materials and construction.

Wish I ordered this sooner!!!

After my first full 8 hours of sleep in weeks I woke up wishing I ordered my Annabelle mattress sooner. I work long overnight shifts so sleeping during the day with shoulder pain isn’t easy. This latex hybrid bed is firm with a soft top so my back felt supported without any painful pressure points. Ordering was easy, set up was simple and the delivery scheduling was flexible. Delivery personnel were punctual and so helpful. It was overall a very positive experience and I’ve already recommended this model to my friends and coworkers!

Shoulder Pain Gone!

The Spring Air Annabelle Mattress is perfect for anyone looking for a firmer bed. After just a week of owning it, I feel myself waking up with more energy because I am not tossing and turning to get comfortable. Although this bed is firm, it has a really soft feel to it. After the first night my shoulder pain had significantly reduced and after having it for a week i've woken up with no pain! I didn't want something low to the ground, the height is perfect and really gives me bed a great look. Purchasing, delivery, ands et up were all a breeze. I highly recommend this mattress!

immediate relief of our back pain

The Annabelle latex hybrid is an outstanding mattress for someone looking for a firm mattress. My wife and I instantly found immediate relief of our back pain after sleeping on this mattress. the quality of this bed is head and shoulders above any of the other beds out there - you can tell the manufacturer really put the time and effort to make this bed perfect. the mattress set came much quicker than expected - within 5 business days we got a call to set up a delivery, and the delivery personnel were just fantastic. they set up the bed for us and took all of the left over plastic and boxes associated with the bed. it was quite the experience! It lays at the perfect height- around 11 inches, which is perfect for my wife and I to get in and out of bed ,as we're no spring chickens! I absolutely recommend this mattress to anyone out there with back issues.

Light mattress but...

Noticed that the mattress was much lighter and easier to handle than most inner spring mattress types. However, the support wasn’t for me as a side sleeper. I noticed even more discomfort after this product arrived. After two weeks plus, I knew this had to go back. It simply was too firm and not as forgiving. Also I thought this wouldn’t be as heat generating but sure enough had a hard time regulating body temps. Thank goodness for the return policy and ease in scheduling.

Best Bed I’ve Ever Slept In

This is by far the most comfortable bed my husband and I have ever slept on. After just days of owning the bed, we noticed how soundly we were sleeping and how much better our backs were feeling. The excellent quality of the bed was paired with the ease of ordering online and outstanding turnaround on delivery. Everything about this Spring Air product was and is a 5 star experience.

Better Than Most Beds

I have serious medical problems. Locally, I had parts of my back side ribs removed making it very difficult for me to sleep. This is my 3rd or 4th bed from Costco and this one is a keeper. It's the most comfortable bed I've sleep on since my unfortunate surgery in 2015. I think the bed is made very well. It doesn't have handles on it which makes it difficult to position on the box spring, but I like it.

Best Bed I’ve Ever Slept On

This is by far the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! The quality of the bed is unmatched by any of the previous mattresses I have purchased. The support provided by the firmness of this mattress has helped me consistently get great nights of sleep. The delivery and service by Costco and Spring Air was also exemplary making this buying experience truly 5 stars! I would recommend this product to anyone looking to improve their overall health and sleep!

I wanted to like this set, but...

Its been 9 months and we really wanted to like this mattress set (purchased after reading reviews and researching) which replaced our memory foam mattress of 12 years. However, it's just not as firm as we would like, seems to be starting to sag especially the edges, even though we rotate it every 3-4 months. It also slides around quite a bit on top of the platform which is annoying. I expected more from this, but will be returning it; replacing it with a memory foam as we had before.

I bought this mattress...

I bought this mattress about a month ago and I’m so happy I did. It’s fantastic for my chronic lower back pain and now I can finally get a pain free, restful nights sleep!

We love this bed...

We love this bed. I was a little concerned at first to buy a mattress online that we hadn't tried out but knew the hybrid was exactly what we were looking for. You pay so much overhead at a store for commissions. This was a great full night sleep the 1st night and we have enjoyed it since.

Very Firm

This mattress is very firm and I am trying to get use to it but my back feels fine when I get up, not sore like some of the other mattresses I have tried. If you like a very firm mattress, I would give this mattress a try.

I bought this Queen bed...

I bought this Queen bed with box spring about 2 months ago. I love it. I did add my cool pad to it. The bed is firm but the 2" cool pad makes it just a bit soft, which is perfect. No complaints.

Comfortable Matress Worth the Money

We are really happy with this mattress. It is firm and yet soft and comfortable. I knew I needed a new mattress when I continued to wake up in the middle of the night due to back pain that took several hours to go away after waking. This mattress has helped me resolve my back pain.

Comfortable and firm

I bought the queen mattress set at Costco.com and worried about buying a mattress set without trying it out first. The guys delivered it and set it up quickly in my bedroom. They were very professional and helpful and took away all of the plastic wrapping. The bed felt firm when we first tried it, but within a week we had good sleep and all out aches and pains were gone!

I have only had the bed...

I have only had the bed for a month and I only have positive things to say about it. It’s firm, which my back is very thankful for. As with any bed, I hope in 2 to 5 years the bed will maintain its firmness.

Very Comfortable Mattress

I bought it in hope of getting rid of back pain. It's the end of week 2 and it did fix me and my gf's back! It is firm in a good way that makes us comfortable enough to sleep thru the night.

I had to return it

I had to return it right away. it was hard as a rock

Too firm

I have been unable to sleep on this mattress because it is too firm. If you buy this mattress I recommend buying a mattress topper too.

Much firmer that advertised

We got the bed few days ago. Overall looks like a nice mattress. The mattress was advertised as mid firm, however it is a really firm mattress. We tried it for few nights but it is not comfortable for us. We'll return the mattress.

Hard, we like it

We have been using it for a month. We like it.

Very Firm

After 4 months, my back and spine hurts from sleeping on this mattress. I have switched it every two weeks and nothing helps.

good mattress

good product

Compare Spring Air With These Brands

Compare With Tomorrow

Compare With Dreamcloud

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Level

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Awara

Compare With Puffy

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With Layla

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Nolah

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Helix

Compare With Eight

Compare With Amore

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Tulo

Compare With Allswell

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Sapira Sleep

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Nora

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Idle

Compare With Sleep Ez

Compare With Big Fig

Compare With Purple

Compare With Essentia

Compare With Voila

Compare With Aviya

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Cariloha

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Pangeabed

Compare With Performasleep

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Casper

Compare With Lull

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Airweave

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Christeli

Compare With Technogel

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Urban

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With Endy

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Lifekind

Compare With Eve

Compare With Oso

Compare With Doze

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Verlo

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Cuddle

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Flobeds

Compare With Kiss

Compare With Pranasleep

Compare With Keetsa

Compare With Sleepys

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Foam Sweet Foam

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Postureloft

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With King Koil

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Parklane

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Comfort Tech

Compare With Innomax

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With White Dove

Compare With Sleep Science

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With Banner

Compare With Safavieh

Compare With Hästens

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Tuck

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Lebeda

Compare With Mlily

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Perfect Cloud

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Purasleep

Compare With Dynasty

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Sleep Innovations

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Custom Comfort

Compare With Wolf

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Sherwood Bedding

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Spa Sensations

Compare With Gold Bond

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Shifman

Compare With Bowles

Compare With Enso

Compare With Personal Comfort

Compare With Ethan Allen

Compare With Bed Boss

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Solstice

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Boyd

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Dutch Craft

Compare With Cheswick Manor

Compare With Ortho

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Maxim

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Astrabeds

Compare With Southerland

Compare With Symbol

Compare With City

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Linenspa

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Englander

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Denver

Compare With Ikea

Compare With Zeopedic

Compare With Resort Sleep

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.