Southerland vs Zenhaven

Get Memorial Day 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Zenhaven

Zenhaven is another brand by the factory-direct Saatva brand, which has done very well with their Saatva and Loom and Leaf brands. The Zenhaven mattress is an all-natural alternative with high-end materials like organic wool and 100% Talalay latex. What's more incredible: the pricepoint is much more affordable than major retailer varieties of the same quality, which is why it is such a great find for eco-conscious shoppers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zenhaven in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zenhaven

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Southerland: 7.2/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Southerland: 7.3/10
Zenhaven: 9.1/10

Price Value:
Southerland: 8.3/10
Zenhaven: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Southerland: 8.1/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Price:
Southerland: $399-2399
Zenhaven: $1299-$2499

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Zenhaven:
Get Yours Now

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering purchasing, keep reading below for information on feel. Sadly, they get some negative feedback from a selection of sleepers. Some customers were elated by their selection, but others felt let-down overall.

Southerland's Supportiveness

In terms of having comfortable support for all, these mattresses have mixed feelings. Some folks have described them as supportive and report sleeping soundly throughout the night, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you have a wider or heavier frame than average, these mattresses may leave something to be desired.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportive resistance you get on the edge of the mattress and is important for anyone that likes to sit on the side of their bed. Some folks report this brand's mattresses are not evenly supportive and may dip for some.

Southerland's Durability

We all want a long lasting mattress, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. That said, finding a mattress that is comfortable and durable is really hard these days. With more types of products than ever before, some brands aren't investing as much in quality. With these mattresses specifically, some reviewers had discomfort over a short period. That doesn't mean that it will happen to you, but make sure to read the warranty and return policies before purchasing.

Zenhaven's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses have high ranks for customer satisfaction versus competitors, which means when we did an investigation of the current data from customers, we found these mattresses were ranked highly. This provides a good foundation to look deeper into this brand -- read on for more specifics and customer reviews.

Zenhaven's Supportiveness

Good mattress support is what you need to wake up feeling good in the morning. You want a mattress that makes you feel refreshed and doesn't cause back aches. Customers report that these mattresses support the spine well.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses offer competitive edge support and prop up sleepers along the side.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among readers, the bowling ball test provides a good indication of firmness while also showing evenness of support across the mattress. If a mattress doesn't have even response, some may experience some issues with the mattress. However, these mattresses are rated well and shouldn't have that issue.

Zenhaven's Durability

One of the biggest factors to buying a mattress today is durability. Today, mattresses that last between 7 and 12 years are considered durable with average use. That said, there are other things that affect durability -- like material quality and sleeper size. These mattresses do very well when it comes to durability. There may be a slight decrease in longevity for those that are larger.

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Zenhaven Customer Reviews

My new happy place

After sleeping on a very worn but beloved traditional mattress for 15 years and trying to be more eco-conscious and not taken by the big-box mattress stores that have popped up seemingly everywhere, my husband and I took a chance on the Zenhaven King. I was sold the minute I laid eyes (and my back) on it but my husband thought the Plush Soft side was a little too soft and while supportive, not firm enough for his back issues. So we flipped (actually rolled it over) to the Gentle Firm side and all is well in the universe. Flipping the mattress took our sleep experience to a new level. He is now talking about purchasing the Lineal Adjustable Base as well and I really want to try the pillows. The only thing that was a bit of an issue was that the mattress is designed to be used without a box-spring, which lowers the bed height significantly. Husband is 6'2 and I am 5'8. The bed was too low to easily get on without flopping so we are using our box-springs under the mattress to regain the height until we purchase the Adjustable Lineal Base. The customer service reps were very helpful and patient with our many questions and there was absolutely no pressure to buy. Considering the risk involved in purchasing something like this sight-unseen, this was by far one of the best decisions we have made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.