Southerland vs Tuck

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons
The Tuck Mattress was Discontinued in April 2018

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Tuck

Tuck is an eco-conscious mattress company that is well-known for using recycled materials in their mattresses. From their coils to their foam, Tuck has taken the route of sourcing its materials in a responsible way. In terms of comfort, Tuck produces one medium firmness hybrid mattress that they customize to you with their sleep quiz -- it is made with both micro-coils and heavier duty pocket coils as well as poly foam on the surface layer. Most customers find their mattress comfortable and a brand to consider.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tuck in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tuck


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Southerland: 7.2/10
Tuck: 8.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Southerland: 7.3/10
Tuck: 8.2/10

Price Value:
Southerland: 8.3/10
Tuck: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Southerland: 8.1/10
Tuck: 8.2/10

Price:
Southerland: $399-2399
Tuck: $600-$1200

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Tuck:
Get Yours Now

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Not all sleepers like these mattresses. Some sleepers report feeling satisfaction with their new bed, but others not so much. Therefore, it is hard to understand if one of these will keep you totally comfortable. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Support isn't one and the same as firmness. Great support is when your mattress aligns the spine and leads to a better night sleep. Unfortunately, these mattresses have some negative feedback around support. Most customers are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some have reported support issues as time as gone on.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of their beds, edge support is key. For most folks, these mattresses do a good job with edge support at the beginning, but some didn't think that it was as comfortable long term as they had wished.

Southerland's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. Sadly, not all sleepers agree that these mattresses are durable, and some have had issues with longevity after a short time. If you are considering buying for your main mattress, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Tuck's Owner Satisfaction

Everyone wants to get to the bottom of which mattresses are best rated, but it isn't easy from just browsing online. These mattresses are rated very well by customers based on our analysis. Although this doesn't necessarily mean that you will love one of these, good reception from customers is an excellent starting point to do more research.

Tuck's Supportiveness

Having support layers is essential to the general feel of a mattress and whether it is beneficial for the back and spine. These mattresses are good at supporting sleepers overall. This means that you can rest easy with these mattresses!

Edge Support
Most sleepers feel that the support towards the edge offers comfortable resistance. This means that you can sit on the edge of the bed or roll to the side and the mattress will give you additional surface area to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Density and bowling ball tests are helpful in measuring support. These mattresses do well at keeping consistency across the mattress surface without many quality issues, which is terrific for feeling good about a supportive purchase.

Tuck's Durability

In terms of longevity, these mattresses are very competitive versus the competition. Having a durable mattress can mean years of comfortable nights. while one that quickly degrades can mean quick discomfort. These mattresses should stay comfortable for 7 - 12 years for most sleepers, which is good on average. Folks may experience slight decreases in durability who are of heavier builds or spend more than average in bed.

Check the Prices For Tuck:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Tuck Customer Reviews

Knocked Out

I waited far too long to buy a new mattress, but the Tuck is incredible, my wife and I have never slept better!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.