Southerland vs Therapedic

Get an Instant Discount for Therapedic Get $75 Off Agility

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. Their Southerland brand offers foam, latex, and innerspring mattresses. The mattresses are exclusively in retailers across the US.

Therapedic

Therapedic manufactures a variety of innerspring, hybrid, latex, and memory foam mattresses. They focus predominantly on innerspring and hybrid bedding. You may have heard of them or seen them in local mattress stores across the United States. Overall, they are known for their orthopedic bedding that is designed to provide better back support than others. Overall, Therapedic's bedding is middle-range in terms of product offering.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Therapedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Therapedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Southerland: 7.2/10
Therapedic: 8.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Southerland: 7.3/10
Therapedic: 8.7/10

Price Value:
Southerland: 8.3/10
Therapedic: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Southerland: 8.1/10
Therapedic: 8.2/10

Price:
Southerland: $399-2399
Therapedic: $139-$1099

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Therapedic:
Get $75 Off Agility

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

There are some negative ratings from sleepers for these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. Although one of these may work great for you, because of the responses it is more difficult to estimate. Continue looking on below to learn more if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Support isn't one and the same as firmness. Excellent support means having a mattress that cradles your hips and shoulders to align you back. Overall, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most customers are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some have reported support issues as time as gone on.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. These mattresses do a good job at edge support initially, but some found that it wasn't as supportive as they'd like

Southerland's Durability

Sadly, these mattresses aren't well loved for their durability. While some customers felt comfortable with their mattress, others describe having issues faster than average. Make sure to do some extra reading of the reviews and warranty policies before buying.

Therapedic's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses have above average customer satisfaction scores. This means most customers leave positive ratings for this brand, but there were some caveats. Some folks didn't like the overall feel. Make sure to read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you!

Therapedic's Supportiveness

Mattresses that give good support are oftentimes thought of as firm, but when we talk about support, we talk about material that works with your body to support the spine. Most customers have rated this mattress well on its support, but rarely, some customers don't always like the feel.

Edge Support
Most find these mattresses to have good quality edge support, which is great for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress or roll over towards the edge at night.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is useful for discovering if a mattress is evenly supportive. These mattresses will provide a good amount of support overall, but you should do additional research if you have a larger or smaller than average body type.

Therapedic's Durability

Mattresses that have good durability ratings last between 7 - 12 years based on the materials used. Foam mattresses are not as durable, but mattresses with high quality coils tend to last longer. That said, mattresses that don't have good durability will start sagging much quicker no matter the materials. Customers give mixed reviews to these mattresses. Some find them to be fine when it comes to durability, but others have had issues.

Get an Instant Discount for Therapedic:   Get $75 Off Agility

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Therapedic Customer Reviews

Good mattress

I love my therapedic mattress. I've had it for the past 6 months and I can't say enough good things. The only thing that I don't like is that I feel like it has fallen about an inch since I got it. I am worried that it will continue to sag.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.