Southerland vs Symbol

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Symbol

Symbol mattress company was founded in 1961, focused originally predominantly on commercial mattresses including mattresses for schools and health care facilities. Over the past few years, they have used their commercial backing to release consumer products through retailers in the Midwest, Northeast, and South Eastern U.S. They boast American made fabrics and manufacturing and use certified Certipur-US foam (which is low in volatile organic compounds) on some of their mattresses. Most customers like their mattresses at first, but there are some that experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Southerland and Symbol in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Southerland: 7.2/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Southerland: 7.3/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Southerland: 8.3/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Southerland: 8.1/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Price:
Southerland: $399-2399
Symbol: $189-$1259

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Symbol:
Get Yours Now

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. If you are thinking about buying, make sure to get more details about the mattress below.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Support isn't equal to firmness. Excellent support means having a mattress that cradles your hips and shoulders to align you back. Unfortunately, these mattresses aren't the best in terms of support. Most folks are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some customers didn't feel supported well over time.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. For most, these mattresses do a fine job with edge support at the beginning, but some had complaints that edge support wasn't all it could be long term.

Southerland's Durability

Finding a highly durable mattress is great, and when we instead buy a mattress that causes us discomfort after only a year, we feel cheated. That said, it is much more difficult to find the right durable mattress nowadays. With more choices than ever, many companies are sacrificing quality to make a quick dollar. When it comes to these mattresses, unfortunately, they have some sleepers who have reported durability issues over a short time. That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Symbol's Owner Satisfaction

There is some negative input from sleepers about these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. One of these mattresses may be great for you, but it makes it harder to predict. Continue reading below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Symbol's Supportiveness

Mattress support is extremely important to a good night sleep. Overall, these mattresses are above average in terms of supporting sleepers. This is important if you have been struggling with lack of support. Most reviewers report that these mattresses are supportive overall.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportiveness there is on the edges against the center section of the mattress. These mattresses provide solid edge support overall, but some customers may notice more contouring along the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good at measuring mattress firmness. It is also a solid test for understanding evenness of support throughout the mattress surface. Overall, these mattresses will work well to provide even support.

Symbol's Durability

Getting a mattress which has lasting comfort is what buyers are after. We all wish our mattress will last a decade or more and still provide us with cozy comfort. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are considering purchasing as your full time mattress, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Symbol Customer Reviews

Symbol Mattress

We purchased our queen matress about a year ago. Loved it at first but now its broke down in the center. The place where u bought it tells me its not in warranty since i didnt buy the box springs with it. WELL I WASNT INFORMED OF THAT WHEN U PURCHASED IT or i would have got the box springs. Now im out 600 dollors on a 5 year warranty mattress. I will tell everyome i know about this. My company i work for purchases all its matresses from these people for campers. NOT ANYMORE

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.