Southerland vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. Their Southerland brand offers foam, latex, and innerspring mattresses. The mattresses are exclusively in retailers across the US.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Southerland: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Southerland: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Southerland: 8.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Southerland: 8.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Southerland: $399-2399
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering purchasing, keep reading below for information on feel. They, sadly, get some low reviews from customers. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Support is a bit different than firmness. A well supportive mattress aligns the spine and leads to healthy sleep. Overall, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most find that they provide a good amount of support at the beginning, but some folks didn't feel like they were adequately supported over time.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. These mattresses do well with edge support at first, but some found it didn't last as well as they would have hoped.

Southerland's Durability

Sadly, not everyone rates these mattresses well for longevity. While some have experienced good performance, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. If you are considering to buy, take a look at the warranty and return policies beforehand.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Read on to understand the specifics of the mattresses.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is refreshing for those struggling with the aches and pains of a sagging bed. That said, some reviewers have mentioned support issues in reference to their bodies, so make sure to do some extra research on the firmness and whether it will work on your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much resistance there is along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do well overall, but some may experience some degrading of support over time.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Mattresses with lasting support are phenomenal, but difficult to discover. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.