Southerland Mattress Reviews

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Southerland

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.3/10

Price Value: 8.3/10

No Back Pain: 8.1/10

Price: $399-2399

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Southerland's Specifics

Southerland has two different types of mattresses -- gel-memory foam based all-foam mattresses and memory foam hybrid mattresses with pocketed coil support systems. Customers like their mattresses at first, but there were some complaints about durability and quick sagging issues for some.

Those that are concerned about durability and long term comfort, take a look at our top rated mattresses for great alternatives. Specifically, the Dreamcloud mattress provides a high profile pocketed coil mattress that is high rated by customers.

Craftsmanship & Quality

Southerland has two mattress lines, the Signature and the Signature Gel. While the Signature Gel is an all-foam mattress, the Signature line features pocketed coil support systems that react independently to the body to properly cradle the spine.

We'll go through each of their mattress lines in depth below:

Here are the details about the Southerland Signature Line:

The Southerland Signature line has four mattress options with various thickness options -- The Ultimate, Luxury, Deluxe, and Classic. What varies between these mattress options are the foam comfort layers and the firmness of the options. The Classic Alto mattress offers a traditional innerspring feel, while the Luxury and Deluxe (Mozart, Harmony, Cappella, Sonata, and Arietta) all have thicker layers of memory foam above the coil systems that are customized to the firmness choice selected. The Ultimate mattresses, including The Rhapsody and Serene, has a layer of innersprings below the pocket coil matrix with a thick layer of foam on the top layer. Customers find these mattresses initially comfortable overall, but some had issues with durability.

The Pros: A multitude of hybrid mattress options with firmness options.

The Cons: Complaints about durability and sagging for some sleepers.

Here are the details of the Southerland Signature Gel Line:

The Southerland Gel mattresses have four options -- the Juneau, Gemini, Emory, and Cascade. These mattresses vary the thickness of the foams that are used in the mattress. The types of foams that are included in these mattresses are copper-infused memory foam that help diffuse heat away from the body. Beneath these layers include firmer high density foam that support the spine. Most customers like these mattresses at first, but there are numerous reports of sagging over a short period.

The Pros: Competitively constructed memory foam options in multiple firmness options.

The Cons: Problems with sagging reported by customers.

Overall Comfort

Southerland mattress has a variety of firmness options and does a good job providing a large selection of comfort layers in their mattresses. However, there are issues with sagging reported and that could cause some sleepers to think again about this brand.

Firmness

One of the things that Southerland does an excellent job on is providing a variety of firmness options to sleepers. The above chart is the kind of firmness range that you can expect to find from Southerland.

Back Pain Relief

While the materials used should do a good job comforting and supporting the spine initially, the reports of durability issues means that comfort could degrade over time, possibly aggravating issues further.

Cooling

With the inclusion of perforated foams and copper-infused memory foam, most of these mattresses should sleep cool for most sleepers.

Who Are Southerland Mattresses Right For?

Southerland are good temporary options and preferred for those with unique firmness requirements. For those looking for long term comfort, take a look at our top rated mattresses for strong alternatives.

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

Worst mattress ever

This mattress started sagging only two weeks after purchase, both sides of the bed had deep indents in it causing both my husband and I back pain. I took it back to the furniture store where I purchased it from after 2 months, to be treated with the worst customer service ever. They inspected the mattress without taking off the plastic I wrapped in, stating they found nothing wrong with it. Poor quality, horrible comfort, and warranty. Save your money and keep looking.

Uncomfortable

I bought this bed only a couple of months ago and at first, it was a dream, but now it has a lot of sagging in the middle of it. If I only saw this review site before I bought. :(

Okay Mattress

Bought a couple of days ago. So far, pretty satisfied. Is it the best mattress? No. But, it's pretty decent. A little worried about the durability from these reivews.

Bought it, and then returned it

Luckily was able to return this. I was really dissappointed with the material. From the get go, there was one area that poked into my back. It was a little strange and I thought that it may have been a defective product. But, after risking once, I won't be risking again.

That's why they call it a cheap mattress

I thought that I was going to be getting a real value out of this mattress, but uncfortunately, this is exactly what you would expect out of a cheap mattress. Something that leaves me in pain in the morning is exactly the opposite of what I wanted to purchase. I wish I could give 0 stars.

Sleeping like the dead

I got this bed in 2001 and am still happy with it. Every night I sleeping soundly and without any problems. I wish they made more exactly like this one!!

Great mattress...

Great mattress, I bought one for my mom and she loves it.

The worst...

The worst mattress I have ever slept on in my life. Within one month of sleeping on mattress, it's like laying in a fox hole. I regret not complaining immediately. I would give zero stars if I could.

Over 2 inches...

Over 2 inches the mattress has sunk in less than 6 months. I am not a large person...rotated etc. Regret not taking it back within 120 days. Now..we are stuck. Jumped thru hoops for warranty...so we can get ANOTHER poor quality mattress.

Worst mattress...

Worst mattress I have ever owed! $1200 mistake

Terrible quality...

Terrible quality for the money. In less than one year we have craters where we lay and have done all the recommended turning of the mattress etc.

This is a wonderful company...

This is a wonderful company. They treat people very well with much respect. Would advise anyone to do business with them. They are honest and good-hard working people, who always keep the customer in mind.

Awful

The bed was bad after 18 months and back issues ensued at 36 months! Tried to get the warranty to cover the bed but they wanted me to pay $250 for them to complete the warranty.

Cheap and lying information when buying this mattress set.

We bought two sets of these, what looked like Big Lots mattresses. We were told they would be the same. When delivered they were two different types of mattresses. One was very cheap and after 3 nights it began to sink down a little. The next night it was worse. I have awaken with back problems each morning and in the middle of the night. Worse. CHEAP, set of what we told , was a wonderful set. $250 for warranty. Dear Lord, had we known. This true, negative comment will be shared all over the internet. LEAVE THESE CROOKS and their mattresses alone.

6 Years later, desperately needing new mattress

We purchased this mattress almost exactly 6 years ago from Nebraska Furniture Mart's mattress selection (in Kansas City 2012). The Southerland was presented to us as a Simmons equal, made by a proud USA company, and sold for less of a cost of most mattresses ($659.00). I've had a few years of restless sleep and segments of back pain, but I've been making other excuses for the problems (maybe gaining a few extra pounds, maybe stress, maybe needing to get some more exercise)...until now. I have had severe back pain while sleeping to the point it is constantly waking me up during the night and spasms upon waking. It's been months now and I finally gave in and have tried sleeping on my sofa and my child's twin mattress. Both have been better periods of sleep than in my own bed. The store I purchased the mattress told me today that in order for the company to uphold the warranty, and potentially replace the mattress, they would need to prove there is a 1.5" permanent depression in the mattress. In my case, the mattress has no depression when not laying/sitting on it. In my case, my mattress just doesn't seem to have the same strength of resistance to my weight when laying on it. I have a "Firm" mattress but when laying on the mattress I feel like I am in a long curved shape, putting a strain on my lumbar back curving the wrong way.

Don't buy it!

Started off great, by the end of the first year my husband was sleeping upstairs in the guest room. After the second year, I was sleeping in a hole. In order for them to even consider doing anything you have to jump through hoops and it doesn't show when it is just sitting on the floor. When you lay on it just hope you can manage to turn over or even get out of the bed. We have packed folded towels underneath trying to get some support but even that is breaking down. Haven't had a good nights sleep in a very long time. Any mattress you cannot turn will end up with a sunken place in it.

I bought an Englander Egel...

I bought an Englander Egel mattress that Southerland owns or makes. I've gotten such a run around from these all these people I don't know who is responsible. The mattress started falling apart after two years. I'm still trying to get warranty service for it put they keep handing me of to one person that handles the all the southeast US and he doesn't return phone calls or Emails. Do not buy from these people. If you have a problem they just keep passing you around hoping you give up! I'M NOT GIVING UP!

Mattress springs were poking through...

Mattress springs were poking through the padding within 2 years of purchase. The mattress failed and has a huge "nest" area that sinks about 4-6 inches deep and is about 12-18 inches across. I will never buy another southerland mattress. I bought this one to support a local company. NEVER AGAIN. The store I bought it from will not honor the warranty and say they no longer carry Southerland due to similar problems. I called and left numerous messages with Southerland's customer service - no one returns phone calls. I finally reached someone but when I sent the paperwork off to replace the mattress - NOTHING.

All I know...

All I know is that ever since I bought my Southerland mattress at Bedzzz Express, I now know what it means to get a good nights sleep!

I purchased a mattress from a local store...

I purchased a mattress from a local store in 2014 that was a Southerland product. The mattress was great at first but became harder and stiffer after 2 years. The foam actually became less flexible. There is nothing in the warranty that covers this type of ware. Amerigel Discovery Gel - By Southerland Bedding, Queen, Medium Firm.

I purchased an Englander Egel...

I purchased an Englander Egel mattress Dec 2012 and we loved it till it failed in Jan 2017 (less than 5 years). I filed a warranty claim and was sent another mattress by Southerland BUT it was a completely DIFFERENT mattress. Southerland has made no effort to resolve this issue. We are stuck with a HORRIBLE mattress that we will have to replace. I do not recommend this company.

Warranty Claim when Weekend Only no longer sales their product.

After initial purchase 6 years ago the mattress was defective. For whatever reason Weekend only quit carrying their product. For a claim they quoted their fine print and could care less. The warranty price was like buying a whole new mattress. I would never waste my time or money with this group again.

Compare Southerland With These Brands

Compare With Dreamcloud

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Level

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Awara

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Puffy

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Eight

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Amore

Compare With Layla

Compare With Nolah

Compare With Birch Living

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Helix

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Allswell

Compare With Tulo

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With Sleep Ez

Compare With Idle

Compare With Sapira Sleep

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Big Fig

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Nora

Compare With Voila

Compare With Aviya

Compare With Purple

Compare With Essentia

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Cariloha

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Lull

Compare With Performasleep

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Casper

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Oso

Compare With Airweave

Compare With Urban

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Technogel

Compare With Christeli

Compare With Lifekind

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Endy

Compare With Eve

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Doze

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Verlo

Compare With Cuddle

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With Flobeds

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Sleepys

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Pranasleep

Compare With Foam Sweet Foam

Compare With Keetsa

Compare With Kiss

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Postureloft

Compare With King Koil

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Sleep Science

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With White Dove

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With Comfort Tech

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Parklane

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Innomax

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Banner

Compare With Safavieh

Compare With Hästens

Compare With Mlily

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Tuck

Compare With Lebeda

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Perfect Cloud

Compare With Purasleep

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Dynasty

Compare With Wolf

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Custom Comfort

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Sherwood Bedding

Compare With Sleep Innovations

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Spa Sensations

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Gold Bond

Compare With Enso

Compare With Ethan Allen

Compare With Personal Comfort

Compare With Bed Boss

Compare With Shifman

Compare With Bowles

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Solstice

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Boyd

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Ortho

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Maxim

Compare With Cheswick Manor

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Dutch Craft

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Linenspa

Compare With Symbol

Compare With Astrabeds

Compare With City

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Spring Air

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Denver

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Englander

Compare With Ikea

Compare With Pangeabed

Compare With Tomorrow

Compare With Resort Sleep

Compare With Zeopedic

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.