Sleep Science vs Urban

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Urban in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sleep Science: 8.3/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sleep Science: 8.4/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Sleep Science: 8.7/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Sleep Science: 8.3/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Sleep Science: $399-2499
Urban: $299-$4299

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers report that these mattresses are comfy., but others have had mixed experiences. Although there were good ratings overall, there were also some poor ones. Read on for customer reviews and the specifics.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer above average supportiveness, which is refreshing for those struggling with the aches and pains of a sagging bed. That said, there are some that have described a lack of support for them, so take a look at some of the other reports from customers to make sure your choice is right for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much resistance there is along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do well here, but heavier folks may experience less than ideal edge support.

Sleep Science's Durability

Durability comes down to materials, craftsmanship, and quality control. Mattresses that sacrifice these attributes may have durability issues for some sleepers. These mattresses specifically get mixed reviews from customers on durability. Some report finding lasting comfort, while others complain about discomfort over the short term. Do a final rundown of the reviews before you purchase.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are highly rated by customers overall and most feel very comfortable. Some customers, though, didn't feel as positively. If one of these mattresses is on your short list, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Urban's Supportiveness

Having support layers is essential to the general feel of a mattress and whether it is beneficial for the back and spine. These mattresses are good at supporting sleepers overall. This means that these mattresses should make you rest easy!

Edge Support
Most customers report that they are satisfied with the edge support of these mattresses. This means that you can sit on the edge of the bed or roll to the side and the mattress will prop most sleepers up rather than sinking.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some folks love seeing bowling ball and density tests as a way of measuring support. These mattresses provide a consistent density surface, which is great for customers that need extra security in buying.

Urban's Durability

In terms of the durability, these mattresses do a good job versus competitors. Having a durable mattress can mean years of comfortable nights. while one that quickly falters can mean immediate discomfort. These mattresses will last up to a decade, which is good for mattresses today. Those that are heavier than average or use their mattresses more than once a day may experience a slight decrease in durability.

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.