Sleep Science vs Symbol

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Symbol

Symbol mattress company was founded in 1961, focused originally predominantly on commercial mattresses including mattresses for schools and health care facilities. Over the past few years, they have used their commercial backing to release consumer products through retailers in the Midwest, Northeast, and South Eastern U.S. They boast American made fabrics and manufacturing and use certified Certipur-US foam (which is low in volatile organic compounds) on some of their mattresses. Most customers like their mattresses at first, but there are some that experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sleep Science in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sleep Science


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sleep Science: 8.3/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sleep Science: 8.4/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Sleep Science: 8.7/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Sleep Science: 8.3/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Price:
Sleep Science: $399-2499
Symbol: $189-$1259

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Symbol:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding owner satisfaction is a great way to target the right mattress. Overall, these mattresses get mixed feedback. Some were entirely satisfied with these mattresses, but others couldn't get comfortable. Read on to figure out if they will work for you.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

Reviewers like these mattresses supportiveness overall, which is ideal for those that are struggling with pain from a sagging mattress. That said, some reviewers have mentioned support issues in reference to their bodies, so make sure that the firmness range is aligned with your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is a useful indicator of resistance and support along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses have good resistance, but some folks may experience less edge support over time.

Sleep Science's Durability

Mattresses don't seem to be as long-living as they once were. Finding a mattress that remains really comfortable after 15 years of use is definitely not a simple thing. However, finding a mattress that really stays cozy that long can save you lots. Sadly, sleepers have mixed feelings about these mattresses. Some sleepers don't have any issues, but others report having quicker than average durability problems.

Symbol's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Below you will find more information from customers on the specifics from these mattresses.

Symbol's Supportiveness

Mattresses that provide support are oftentimes called firm, but when we write about support, we are talking about material that aligns the spine. Most folks find this mattress supportive, but some have limited complaints about feel.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses have good quality edge support, which is great for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress or sleep at the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By resting a bowling ball on the mattress, you can measure how even a mattress is in terms of support. These mattresses will provide a good amount of support overall, but some with wide hips and shoulders may experience some discomfort.

Symbol's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. Over a shorter than average time period, some sleepers have had issues with durability and feel. If you are have a larger body type and are looking for something with lasting support, these mattresses may feel good initially, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Symbol Customer Reviews

Symbol Mattress

We purchased our queen matress about a year ago. Loved it at first but now its broke down in the center. The place where u bought it tells me its not in warranty since i didnt buy the box springs with it. WELL I WASNT INFORMED OF THAT WHEN U PURCHASED IT or i would have got the box springs. Now im out 600 dollors on a 5 year warranty mattress. I will tell everyome i know about this. My company i work for purchases all its matresses from these people for campers. NOT ANYMORE

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.