Sleep Science Mattress Reviews

Get The Best October 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Sleep Science

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.4/10

Price Value: 8.7/10

No Back Pain: 8.3/10

Price: $399-2499

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Sleep Science's Specifics

Sleep Science makes a variety of mattresses that are all-foam and offer multiple firmness options. These mattresses offer multiple thickness varieties. Overall, customers like their Sleep Science mattresses overall, but there were some that had issues with the durability of these beds.

Those that are concerned about long term comfort, take a look at our top rated mattresses and specifically our list of the best memory foam mattresses for strong competitors for a good price.

Craftsmanship & Quality

Sleep Science has a variety of all-foam and latex mattresses to choose from. We'll go through each of their mattress options in depth below:

Here are the details about their 10'' Memory Foam Series:

The Sleep Science 10'' memory foam mattress comes at a medium firm profile. It features three layers of foam -- a 3'' memory foam layer, 2'' air comfort foam layer, and 5'' high density base foam layer. These mattresses get good initial responses from sleepers overall when it comes to comfort, with a subtle contour but solid support. That said, there are some disagreements when it comes to durability.

Next, here are the details of the Sleep Science 9'' Latex Mattress:

The 9'' latex mattress from Sleep Science provides a firmer mattress feel with two layers of latex. The top latex layer is 3'' of medium-firmness latex that subtlely bounces under the sleeper. Below that, is 6'' of firmer latex foam that supports the spine and provides a firmer feel to the mattress. Both of these layers are perforated for additional airflow and should sleep cool overall. Customers describe these mattresses as comfortable at first, but some had issues with long term comfort.

Next, here are the details of their Carina 11'' Gel Memory Foam Mattress:

The 11'' mattress has four layers of foam, including 2'' of gem-infused memory foam, 2'' of standard memory foam, 1'' of latex, and 6'' of base foam with perforations for air flow. This mattress is a medium-firm in terms of the feel, and most customers like it at first. There were some that had complaints about sagging over time.

Next, here are the details of their iFlip Mattresses:

Sleep Science's iFlip mattresses come in either a 10'' or a 12'' profile and are developed to be flippable between a medium-soft or medium-firm feel. From soft to firm, the layers are 2'' of memory foam, 2'' of slightly firmer air comfort foam, 4'' of perforated base foam, 2'' of firmer air comfort firm, and 2'' of medium feel visco elastic foam. Most customers like their iFlip mattresses at first, but there were some that had issues with durability.

Next, here are the details of their Ara 13'' Mattress:

Sleep Science's Ara mattress comes with a medium-soft feel. Its layers include almost 6'' of memory foam, a slim layer of transitional foam, and 6'' of perforated base foam. This mattress is ideal for side sleepers and most customers like what they feel at first. However, some customers had issues with durability.

Next, here are the details of their 14'' Copper Infused Memory Foam Mattress:

Sleep Science's Copper Infused Memory Foam mattress comes in a firm profile with the top layer featuring copper infused foam. While this design is designed to lead to better cooling and temperature regulation, there were some sleepers that complained of warm sleeping surfaces.

Next, here are the details of their 13'' Bamboo Cool Mattress:

The 13'' Bamboo mattress comes with a cooling bamboo charcoal infused memory foam layer on the surface. Designed to diffuse heat away from the body, this top layer helps with providing some pressure relief on an otherwise firm mattress. Overall, customers like this mattress, but durability was a concern.

Lastly, here are the details of their 11'' Black Diamond Mattress:

The 11'' Black Diamond Mattress features charcoal infused memory foam on the surface layer and a firm design, ideal for stomach sleepers. With an all-foam design, customers really like this mattress at first. However, there were multiple reports of sagging over a shorter than average period.

Overall Comfort

Sleep Science has a wide range of comfort options and most customers find these mattresses to feel good at first. However, there was a significant group that had issues with the durability.

Firmness

See the above scale. Sleep Science provides a wide range of firmness options for sleepers. Those that are slimmer in body size and side sleepers will do best with a softer variety and a firmer mattress will be best equipped for stomach sleepers.

Back Pain Relief

As some sleepers have had issues with durability, some may find that these mattresses have issues with consistent relief and back support over time.

Cooling

While most customers don't describe issues with heat retention, some of these mattresses that incorporate memory foam on the top layer may retain heat for some sleepers.

Who Are Sleep Science Mattresses Right For?

Sleep Science mattresses are ideal as temporary mattresses for children where comfort longevity may not be as much of a concern. For those looking for quality alternatives, take a look at our top rated mattresses for strong alternatives.

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

Works well for us

The mattress is definitely on the firm side but we both find it about right. After 11 months, the bed seems to be wearing very well... no signs of change in feel or shape. The adjustable bed is used in zero gravity every night for one of us and not used at all for the other. The adjustable bed works well for back sleepers but not side or stomach sleepers.

Six years later, we still love it!

This bed is the best we have ever slept on, even 6 years later. We have the queen, and now want a Cali king (we now have a dog sleeping with us), and will be buying another one of these latex matresses from Costco. This one will go into the guest room, and it looks brand new. It has not settled or sagged at all, even though it is used every night, by 2 people. It is NOT hot, either. The memory foam mattress we bought from Costco first, was hot, however. So we returned the memory foam and got this latex mattress. We are so happy!!!

Not so great!!

I did what i thought was plenty of research before i bought this bed.. I've waited a full year to try and get used to it, and kept telling myself and my spouse it would get better. Not only was it hard and uncomfortable but, from 3 months on, it had big depression on both sides. It seemed to get worse , not better! The only good thing is i bought it from Costco, so they agreed to take it back, no problem! Yea Costco!!

very good customer services

I bought this bed on July 7, 2016. It was my first Costco online shopping. As in warehouse shopping, the online service was very good. The delivery company did not call me to confirm the delivery time but Joshua and Carlos did great in the delivery of the bed and setting it up. Brandon at the distribution center was excellent. I could test the bed before the purchase. The latex mattress feels cool in summer compared to other types of mattresses. I hope I enjoy my bed for many years to come. I love shopping at Costco!!!

Super Comfortable; great support

I've purchased 3 of these mattress so far. The first one about 3 years ago, then another one the following year and another one a couple months ago. the first one was in a guest room and the other two were for two of my kids who loved the bed when they slept on it while visiting!

Helps with my back

I bought this bed over 2 years ago, maybe 3 years now. My husband was a reluctant buyer, because we are only early 40's :) He thought adjustable was for the nursing home. But he had enjoyed it just as much. It hasn't helped his snoring, but he enjoys the leg elevation and massage features after a tough day or workout, and elevation of his head when congested. I have had a couple of back injuries from car accidents, and sleep considerably better on this bed than ANY OTHER!! We had a memory foam before this. This is NOT memory foam. Memory foam sinks in with your weight, then when you turn over you fall back into the rut you created. Ours was also hot. This foam doesn't radiate heart back at you. I love that! It doesn't sink in. It has great support. It is nice to be able to sleep elevated without getting up in the middle of the night to prop up or go to the recliner. My bed sleeps just like it did almost 3 years ago. No sagging, indentions, or soft spots. It does creak a little when adjusting, nothing a little wd-40 can't fix. The base and massage features still work like a top. No problem! Good buy!

L-O-V-E IT!!!!!!!

Purchased and received this split King organic mattresses with adjustable bases on April 8th, 2016. What a great product! Both my husband and I absolutely love our mattresses! The adjustable bases fit perfectly inside our existing bed frame, and the mattresses are sooooo very comfortable. I have always been a side sleeper, but no more! I'm able to easily sleep on my back now. Since I am a professional singer, this is a real plus for me. Also, the adjustability allows me to (among other things) raise my head ever so slightly to allow for sinus drainage as well as legs for additional perfectly tweaked comfort. The mattress cover is soft and also feels luxurious. A 3 inch layer of softer 19 ILD natural latex perfectly compliments the firmer 32 ILD layer underneath it to softly cradle with no pressure points yet support my body superbly. Adjustable base works great. Fully articulates for customization. Zero Gravity pre programmed position is heavenly! Don't wait. Buy this now!!! You'll be glad you did! Great price and great product. Thanks Sleep Science - Well done!

Wonderful Bed!

We got this bed a couple of months ago. It is very comfortable. Unaware another person is in the same bed. Mattress is fine for us, not too firm and not too soft. No odor.

Delivery company had great personnel.

One side had a control box (located under the bed) that failed in the first few hours. Costco called the company and we had a new one installed by the company in a few days.

I would suggest going to check out Dreamfit mattress covers (they come in twin xl and their kings sheets (2 twin xl bottom sheets with one King top sheet. Their bottom sheets and mattress covers have extra elastic straps to hold the sheets in place. I found these after much research. They stay in place great. Love my bed!!

Comfortable..natural latex adjustable

The mattress delivery was great..even on time. The mattress itself is nice ...no sinking in like foam. Soft and supportive. The adjustable base is great. I do wish the lights on the remotes would come on before you try to poke the right button. Zero gravity setting is awesome!

Very comfortable

Its very comfortable. Firm for support but not too firm. My wife & I think it is the best mattress we have slept in. No smell at all.

It's SOFT, not 'medium with a bounce'

Disagree with the SUBJECTIVE product details 'Sleep Science comfort scale: medium with a bounce.'

There is missing objective ILD firmness scale info in the product details. For me, 5'3 and less than 120 lb, this is surely a soft latex mattress. In general, The 'soft' designation corresponds to an ILD rating of 19-21. The ILD rating for the medium range is 24-26. After digging yourself, then you find this mattress has ILD 19 on the top 3 inch layer over another 6 inch of 32 ILD.

Mattress

Best mattress I've ever had

Comfortable and pressure relieving.

The delivery was early by several days and happened without notice, but luckily we were home to receive the mattress. Unpacking and getting it ready for use was seamless and fast; we didn't have to wait for several hours and slept on the mattress within hours of set-up. So far, the mattress has been comfortable, relieving pressure in all the right places while providing support. I wake without the aches and pains I had come to assume were "normal" as I grow older. I am optimistic that it will continue to be as comfortable for many years to come.

Very Very Very Firm

We found this mattress to be extremely firm. We bought a softer topper to help but unfortunately it did not. We have purchased 5 other foam mattresses for ourselves and family members and had been very pleased. This one was just too firm.

Awesome mattress

Mattress is so firm and comfortable!

I love my bed!

We picked this up because I have a bulging disc in my back and even though our other mattress was only 3 years old, it wasn't cutting it. I Love This Bed!!! We've only had a couple of months but so far so good. It's firm the way I need it and supportive. I'm a big guy 6'2 270lbs and it's great for me.

Perfect mattress !!!

It’s a very good mattress and my mom loves sleeping on it. The mattress is true to the firmness.

Great firm mattress!

Love it feels great for my back and gives plenty of support. Even better you don’t feel any movement when there’s someone next to you.

P

My husband and I both love this bed! It keeps us from getting overheated (a big issue of mine) and is the perfect firmness. This is our favorite bed after having two other gel cooling foam mattresses that have also been purchased recently. Actually, this is our favorite bed we've ever had and we are both 60.

Very happy with purchase

Very happy with this purchase. Mattress is super comfortable and the firmness just right for both wife and I. (Of course firmness and comfort are subjective and very individual.) The adjustable functions work great and motors are pretty quiet. This was a major factor in our decision as my wife just now had shoulder surgery and sleeping in a reclined position is needed. Packaging and assembly are quality although it would be recommended for 2 people to carry base pieces and mattresses from delivery location to bedroom. Assembly video very helpful. Time will be the teller for durability, but very happy with the purchase and first impression.

good

the bed is comfortable but its been only 1 week since I have been using it.

Favorite place

Love my new Sleep Science split king bed and adjustable frame. I have only slept in in the last 4 nights so this is an early evaluation. We had a temperpudic for the past several years but this has surpassed that at more than half the cost. So far this bed is my favorite plays to be.

WORST MATTRESS EVER

Don't waste your time and money . I had this mattress for more then a month. An every morning i woke up with sore Back .I am been using memory foam mattress for more then 10 years and I never had such a horrible mattress for the price i paid . I am glade i got it from Costco so I could easily return it ..

Good mattress

Good mattress that was delivered one month late. Came rolled up. Have to let it rest for 3-4 days to self inflate and acquire firmness. Since its brand new cannot say how long it will remain firm

Great bed & purchase.

Great bed! Sleeping great & elevate when needed without disturbing spouse.

Worst purchase

Terrible mattress. Got it delivered after a month after it’s shipped (which is after a week after I ordered). Mattress has some stains on the bottom. Couldn’t spend another month and half without a mattress so opened it. Both Costco and sleep science have deceived me to the core and lost all the respect and trust I had in both these brands. It’s not firm at all, people who love plush would rate this below plush rating. I’ve no energy and time now to deal with the customer service at Costco which discontinued email and chat supports. Staying on phone with them for hours and getting mediocre resolution isn’t worth.

Mattress comfort

Sleeping was too warm and too firm

Mattress

So far so good. Hoping for a number of years of the same. Attractive and comfortable.

Very good quality mattress!

Very good quality; perfect firmness and it’s a good looking matress.

Advertised firmness not as anticipated.

Mattress was advertised as extra firm and we have found after 2 weeks of sleeping on it the areas where we sleep are already getting soft. Not sure if we will be able to keep it.

Seriously could be saving my marriage with this

My new wife has complained about how much I enjoy sleeping (i.e. I occasionally snore) which apparently keeps her awake. I had a 10 year old sleep number bed that she despised sleeping on because she prefers a firm mattress (firm as in she'd be more comfortable sleeping on the floor than a soft bed) and I was more flexible. She'd mostly started sleeping in the spare bedroom every night because of these two factors when I saw this bed go on sale around memorial day. I figured why not give it a shot and if it didn't work out, we could always return it. Well right from the very first night she noticed a difference where I slept in the zzzz setting and didn't make a sound. That kept up for weeks until we took a small trip and stayed in a hotel room and the snoring returned. We both totally looked forward to coming back to our bed. I've been sleeping comfortably and so had she. Now we can both sleep together in peace.

Very satisfied with this purchase

Super comfortable. Easy to assemble with two people. We love the adjustable settings. Zero gravity is divine!

Extremely firm

This is the most firming bed i ever experienced. May be too firm.

Sleep Science 14” copper infused cal king

Excellent bed great support

Mattress

It IS a from mattress of very good quality. The massage and adjustability of this bed are great. I’m hoping it softens some, I’ve had it for one month.

Haven't slept so well in years.

After 1 month we are very happy with the purchase. Firm but very comfortable mattress is exactly as described. Motorized stands work very well and seem to be high quality. The price was less than half of what we saw in bedding stores. We should have purchased sooner. My only comment would be that a set up and mattress removal service should be offered.

worst buy

started great...slowly sank and now i feel like i am sleeping in a pothole. it went from good to worst really quick. not happy with this purchase but happy with costco policy. they are awesome.

How good the bed is.

I had the bed for 1 1/2 months, it served whatever expectation I have for this bed that's why we bought it. Me and my husband likes it a lot.

Too firm for me

Sleep in this mattresses for one month. Good quality but just too firm for me.

Great Mattress

Perfect! Firm but not like a rock! Back is feeling better after 10 days.

Compare Sleep Science With These Brands

Compare With Dreamcloud

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Level

Compare With Awara

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Puffy

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Amore

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Nolah

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With Sleep Ez

Compare With Allswell

Compare With Helix

Compare With Eight

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Layla

Compare With Birch Living

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Big Fig

Compare With Leesa

Compare With La Z Boy

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Essentia

Compare With Aviya

Compare With Nora

Compare With Purple

Compare With Idle

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Cariloha

Compare With Tulo

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Lull

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Casper

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Performasleep

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Airweave

Compare With Lifekind

Compare With Technogel

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Oso

Compare With Eve

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With Urban

Compare With Christeli

Compare With Endy

Compare With Doze

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Verlo

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Cuddle

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Flobeds

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Kiss

Compare With Pranasleep

Compare With Foam Sweet Foam

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Keetsa

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Sleepys

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Postureloft

Compare With King Koil

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With Innomax

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With White Dove

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Comfort Tech

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With Parklane

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Banner

Compare With Safavieh

Compare With Hästens

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Lebeda

Compare With Tuck

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Mlily

Compare With Perfect Cloud

Compare With Purasleep

Compare With Dynasty

Compare With Wolf

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Sherwood Bedding

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Custom Comfort

Compare With Sleep Innovations

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Gold Bond

Compare With Spa Sensations

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Personal Comfort

Compare With Enso

Compare With Ethan Allen

Compare With Bed Boss

Compare With Shifman

Compare With Bowles

Compare With Solstice

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Boyd

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Ortho

Compare With Dutch Craft

Compare With Cheswick Manor

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Maxim

Compare With Spring Air

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Linenspa

Compare With Southerland

Compare With City

Compare With Symbol

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Astrabeds

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Denver

Compare With Ikea

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Englander

Compare With Voila

Compare With Pangeabed

Compare With Tomorrow

Compare With Zeopedic

Compare With Resort Sleep

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.