Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best June 2024 Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Sleep On Latex vs. Stearns And Foster

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep On Latex

Sleep On Latex is an all-natural and eco-conscious choice if you want all of the benefits of memory foam, but don't want synthetic foams in your house. Latex is harvested from the rubber tree vs other foams that are made with petrolium or harsh chemicals. With two different firmness profiles and Greenguard Gold® certification, most customers report happy experiences with Sleep On Latex with rare complaints about feel and longevity.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for over 150 years with its last few decades being a part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur-Sealy along with brands like Tempur-Pedic and Sealy brands. With such a long legacy, they have become a recognizable name-brand known for luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs. With most customers experiencing the pillowy comfort they are known for, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers over the recent years.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sleep On Latex in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sleep On Latex

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sleep On Latex: 8.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sleep On Latex: 8.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Sleep On Latex: 8.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Sleep On Latex: 8.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Sleep On Latex: $799-$1549
Stearns And Foster: $1699-$8998

Sleep On Latex:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Buy Online: Get Best Deals


Sleep On Latex's Owner Satisfaction

There are some negative ratings from sleepers for these mattresses. Some customers were happy with the way their new mattresse made them feel, but others reported being uncomfortable. Therefore, it is hard to understand if one of these will keep you totally comfortable. Do additional research below to learn from customers if one of these will work for you.


Sleep On Latex's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though some customers are happy with their purchase, others have had issues with alignment long term. If you like these mattresses, make sure to look at the specifications to make sure it will agree with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Edge support in these mattresses may not be excellent so make sure to do added research if it is important for you.


Sleep On Latex's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. Unfortunately, not all sleepers have felt that these mattresses were durable enought for them. If you are considering buying for nightly use, read the reviews to make sure it will work with your body before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still folks that love their mattresses, but there are many others with complaints. Learn more details about the mattresses below.


Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Stomach and back sleepers need tons of support from their mattresses. Also, deeper support that keeps the spine aligned with the rest of the body is an essential trait for side sleepers. For most, these mattresses are above average in terms of support. That being said, some customers didn't feel supported 100% of the time so if you are heavier, make sure to dig into the specifications.

Edge Support
This mattress provides above average edge support. Over the long term, some had issues with dipping along the sides.


Stearns And Foster's Durability

Finding a long lasting mattress is great, but it's not always that easy. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you are a heavier individual, read up on your options because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues from some mattresses.

Browse Sleep On Latex Customer Reviews

My hips don't ache anymore!
We had a very firm serta icomfort that hurt my hips. I'm a side sleeper. Last year we added one of the latex toppers. That helped, but not enough. We recently got a medium mattress and are using it with the topper. It has been great!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

very good service and product
The firm is fit for us. I am pregnant, this one helps a lot

So far so good!
It’s a great mattress though mine only is about 8” since the wool and cotton has not yet full expanded. I have great sleep at night, no aches or pains.

new home furnishings
We have ordered 3 queen size beds for our new home. Not only do we love the mattresses or guests do too! We also ordered 4 deluxe pillows, which we are not as happy with. They are too thick which make them uncomfortable.

comfy mattress
We purchased the firm latex mattress. It is very firm, but we are comfortable on it. As has been mentioned in other reviews, there is a smell to the mattress. It is going away over time, but some people might find it objectionable. It is also a heavy mattress. We purchased it for our boat and there are storage lockers in the platform on which the ...Read Moremattress lays. It is a bit difficult to lift the mattress when we want to access those storage lockers. The mattress was delivered in record time! Read Less

Best mattress I've owned
Stands up to all the claims made by it's inventor ! Better more relaxing sleep than on any other mattress, hands down. Also, the price is reasonable and the Customer Service is fantastic. !!

Pleased...
In an attempt to remedy chronic back discomfort & having more preference towards firmer sleeping surfaces... I initially purchased a medium 3" topper to firm up a pillow top mattress. When I received it, found that I would've preferred the firm topper as the medium didnt do much. With plans of returning the topper, I decided to go ahead and pu...Read Morerchase a latex mattress, choosing the 7" firm. Interium I slept on the topper placed on a carpeted floor. Those few nights were THE BEST sleeps I had in a long while. Firm enough for me to feel the support of the floor, yet cradled enough by the topper that it wasnt too hard. Also noticed that I didnt wake up with my normal morning stiffness from the pillow top mattress. Shipping for mattress was just as quick as the topper. Upon opening there was a farm animal smell mixed with latex, which was strong enough to be off putting to me. I also noticed sagging in the middle of the mattress once it was laid onto my platform bed. I phoned the company & the customer rep assured me that it would take a few days to a week for the mattress to full expand to its capacity; and if it didn't, they would ship a new mattress. I found the firm to be TOO firm(I'm a side sleeper) & bouncy, so I put medium topper over it. I felt like Goldilocks, it was just right!! Even masking the zoo smell from the mattress. Now having slept on the mattress & topper for nearly 2 weeks, I have to say that I am getting some of the best nights sleeps ever!! Even my housemate commented how comfortable it is to lay on. So I wont be returning the topper, happy to know that if I go thru a phase of needing more firmness, I can always remove it. Oh, I also noticed that the animal smell as calmed down a lot, needing to place my nose close to mattress to detect. I do wish the mattress had handles. I am very happy with my investment, 3 stars for now, will return after 6 months with an update; as only time will tell how well they both hold up from use. Read Less

9 inch medium mattress
Solid, way to firm. Will probably return.

Simply the Best!
Best mattress my wife and I slept on in years. Everyone needs one!

Happy with my purchase
I recently bought a 9 inch Pure Green Natural Latex Mattress and am very happy with it. I wanted to avoid the off-gassing of memory foam so I was specifically looking for a latex mattress. I researched most of the other latex mattresses available online and decided on Sleep On Latex because of price and the positive reviews. I purchased the medium...Read More firmness and have found it very comfortable even though I sleep primarily on my side and a soft mattress is generally recommended for side sleepers. I have slept on latex for several years and before buying a new mattress I checked with the place where I had bought my first latex mattress for comparison. Their 7 inch mattress was almost twice as much as the 9 inch one that I bought from Sleep On Latex. I feel that there is no better value than Sleep On Latex. Read Less

Lower and mid back pain
Queen medium, back and side sleeper. I have back pain after 6-7 hours every time, despite trying all sorts of positions, a soft latex topper, a soft memory foam topper, and pillows under parts of me. But I spent three nights on a cheap cool mattress at my father's house and I slept like a baby without pain all night. I want to like these latex and...Read More foam mattresses but they just haven't worked. Read Less

So far so good
Great customer service and the mattress seems like really high quality

Pleasantly surprised...
I was looking at a Metta and another higher end mattress, but found this brand on Amazon which was at a lot better price than the Metta and the Pure Green brand had a lot of great reviews. I bought the firmest version which is perfect for me. It smelled quite a bit (off-gassing) for about a week, but it quickly dissipated. I bought a Twin XL (for ...Read Morean adult) so I can travel light when I move, but will buy a Queen size when I get to where I'm going. I will buy a Pure Green brand when I do get there as the price is great and it is a comfortable mattress. Read Less

Pleasantly surprised
Read a lot of reviews and did a lot of Reddit’ing and couldn’t be happier

Super comfortable
This is the best mattress i have ever owned. Its supports my body well and is comfortable too! It is very heavy to move tho.

Excellent quality but heavier than expected
I got the firm version of this mattress, and it’s great for back sleepers (maybe a little too firm for side sleepers). I’m not giving it five stars because I don’t recall being warned anywhere that the queen size mattress weighs 150 lbs. I’ve since learned that latex is heavy, and I think it’s great for some people. If you’re not on the first floo...Read Morer, you may want to request “white glove” service. Even in the box it took two strong men and me to get it upstairs. I decided to return it, and I’d get the regular instead of the firm if I did it again. I’m opting for a lighter mattress. They offered to let me donate it, but since it’s so heavy I asked that they pick it up. They’re sending people who will carry it back downstairs for me, and they were extremely pleasant and understanding about the return. They’re definitely a quality operation, and I’m sorry it didn’t work out for me. Read Less

Great Value and High Quality
The Pure Green is really well constructed from materials that feel durable, especially the primary material, which is a huge slab of latex. I much prefer the feeling of the latex mattress to memory foam, and I like that it's cooler than foam mattresses. Highly recommended.

Fantastic mattress!
I bought the medium firmness king size mattress and it is the perfect firmness for me. I have been extremely pleased with my purchase. It arrived very fast from the time I ordered it and removing it from the box and unrolling it was pretty easy. I did have someone help me with that part of it. The quality is excellent and I'm sleeping very well on...Read More it. Read Less

Unsure about this matress
I really, really loved this mattress for the first few weeks...it felt amazing compared to my old bed. Now that I've had it for about 8 months, I'm less sure. I bought the medium firm mattress, 9 inches thick. I waffled between firm and medium, and ultimately chose medium after talking to an employee, because I often sleep on my side and some...Read Moretimes sleep on my back and that was the recommendation. It seems like it has already lost a little bit of it's firmness, which I thought was not supposed to happen. After about 3-4 months I started really wishing I had chosen firm. Hopefully it doesn't soften further. Some Pros: The price! I could not have afforded most of the other brands of natural latex mattresses out there. Also, more comfortable than many other conventional matresses. Another issue is the mattress itself is a little (1-4 inches) narrower and shorter than advertised, than a typical full size bed. Maybe factor the thick wool cover into the advertised mattress dimensions, which seems misleading. I know it's just a few inches but it felt noticably narrower to me than my conventional full mattress. Overall, I'm still undecided. I'm happy to have been able to afford a more eco-friendly and healthy mattress. I wonder if I expected too much, comfort-wise. Since I did love it at first, I would kind of like to try the firmer mattress instead...but am worried I'll just be disappointed again. Read Less

Twin mattress - comfortable
Love the mattress, comfortable, safe, clean!

Continue to be impressed with Sleep on Latex
I bought another mattress identical to one I purchased just over a year ago with SOL, this time for my guest room. My mom is the first to sleep on it and says she has been sleeping great but that it would be enhanced with a little extra cushion from a mattress topper, which I currently have on mine. Though I have not ever slept only on the mattres...Read Mores itself, I do notice a difference in the additional comfort that the topper adds vs the mattress alone. Still, knowing the quality of materials in the mattress provides great peace of mind. I will continue to support this company for their commitment to sustainability, making non-toxic products, US manufacturing, and affordability!! Read Less

The extra!
It is nice to read reviews that actually are true. My experience has been great with this company and it's customer service. They helped me choose the correct Bed , topper and pillow. I couldn't be more pleased with the Sales Team and the product. Which by the way, is like sleeping on a cloud. The most comfortable bed I have ever had. Thank you

Thank you
My wife and I loved our old tempurpedic, but started looking around when upgrading to a king size. We were initially attracted by the organic, natural nature of the mattress. It’s significantly less expensive than a tempurpedic or comparable organic option. And having slept on it, we’re done shopping for any other bed. Thank you so much for bringi...Read Moreng us this mattress. Read Less

Like it overall
We bought a 9 in medium density mattress, and added the 3in soft topper. This was not comfy enough for my husband's aches and pains, so we are going to add a 3 in down topper in search of a cloud nine rest for him. I like the mattess with the soft topper, and I like that it's natural, had minimal odor, and that it is not friendly to dust mites.

excellent quality and comfort just
excellent quality and comfort just as I expected

great product
I bought a queen size, 7" firm and so far it's been great. it is a little firmer than I'd like and I'm exploring options with the company. I may get a topper to soften the experience a little. the product came in the big box and it is heavy. i needed to get my son to help lift it upstairs. and it does have a mild scent from the new zealand sh...Read Moreeep wool cover but it didn't bother me at all. i actually kind of like it. but i actually look forward to going to bed again which was not true of the sleep number bed my wife and i bought 5 months ago. highly recommended. Read Less

Firm Latex Queen 6 Inch
Company was great to work with. Fast delivery. Great mattress. Wish we had purchased sooner! Firm support with give and healthy materials. No odor. Best way to understand is to try it! Low risk with their excellent return policy and great customer service.

Long term review - Mattress
First impression was very good on the overall quality and comfort of my firm mattress. Very supportive and comfortable. I wanted to wait and see if anything negative showed up, I was wary of the middle sinking in but nothing like that has happened at all. Would not hesitate to buy another one, hope this lasts for years. FYI the firm is just like i...Read Moret says "firm". I use an older 2" tempur pedic topper on it and it seems perfect. So glad I found this quality product. Happy to support a business that makes it's product in U.S.A. Read Less

Medium
This mattress is great, we got a medium firmness because so many people said the medium was really firm. I disagree, I think the medium is appropriately categorized and thus we are returning for a firm. It’s super comfy but we have an infant and need a firmer sleep surface. Company is quick to respond and great to work with!

SleepOnLatex is Top Dog
Fantastic mattress! I was very apprehensive about purchasing a mattress online but so happy now that I went with SleepOnLatex. Delivery was straight forward, the unwrapping and installation process was uneventful. The even and comfortable support from the mattress was superb. I told my wife that I felt like I was floating!

Heaven
Slept on a futon for 2 decades until I got my new latex mattress. Best decision I ever made.

Love it!
I love my latex bed. I purchased the 9 inch firmer and 3 inch soft topper. Everything is high quality. I mage a V birth bed in our sailboat a decade ago from a king size 6 inch mattress. A local company cut it into 5 pieces that fit like puzzle pieces into more than a king size wide V s shape that was only 18 inches at the feet. I covered it with ...Read Moresilk/cotton blend upholstery. It is a great bed so we decided to get latex for home. It's like it is alive made of a chunk of meat, it's such a natural product. Just amazing stuff! Thank you! Read Less

Twin mattresses
We bought twin mattresses for our girls. They are super comfy and our daughters have gotten great sleep since they started using them.

Dreamy bedtime!
We bought the 9” medium mattress with a soft 3” topper. It’s just dreamy! What was great was that the mattress was ready to sleep on soon after unpacking with no off gassing.

Best mattress ever!
I have wanted a natural latex mattress for a few years now. I love the say I feel so refreshed after sleeping on this mattress. The firm mattress is Sooooo comfortable for my wife and I. I will buy another one in the future and will recommend them to my friends.

It’s definitely not memory foam
I am enjoying the new 9” king soft-firmness mattress. However, if you enjoy memory foam, this may not be for you. In fairness to Sleep On Latex, they made that point clear to me when considering my purchase. Latex pushes back more that memory foam, but you won’t sink, either. Adjusting to the mattress has taken time. I am not sure if adding a...Read More topper as others have would improve what I feel is a fairly firm “soft” mattress? I have considered getting a soft topper as I have noted many others have done. Read Less

Love it!
Got a twin size mattress for my daughter and she has been sleeping very well on it! I got the soft version and feel that it is the perfect firmness for her! Only complaint would be that it is difficult to make the bed, but definately a worthy trade off considering the quality of the mattress. Knowing my daughter is sleeping on a safe mattress is w...Read Moreorth the extra 10 mins it takes to make her bed!! Thank you for making such a great product! Read Less

Great
met my expectations completely at a reasonable price, now I wake up with no back pains. I tried another product with a sleep on for 100 days and return if not satisfied, I returned it after 11 days.

lovely mattress
We were happy with the firm mattress, and I'm even happier with the addition of the 2" soft latex topper, which feels like the ideal combination of support and softness. Great products, excellent customer service; highly recommended!

Firmer than expected, but I love it
I've only ever slept on one mattress my whole life, so I dont have much mattress wisdom to offer. The mattress was a little firmer than I thought, but I sleep like a baby on it.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss
Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Made for me!
The S&F Reserve No.2 is absolutely hands down the best mattress I have every layed on in my whole life!! As soon as you lay down on it, you are engulfed by a comfort second to none- sending you to dreamland immediately!!

Five stars
so far, like the product

Very comfortable so far...
We have the mattress for about 1.5 months and so far it's very comfortable. Much better than the last mattress that caved in the middle.

Best night sleep in years good quality
Great

Love the comfort
I have SI joiny dysfunction & was so afraid having a new bed but it did not make my situation any worse. Love the comfort, sturdiness & quality! Hope I can say that in a few years & there is no breakdown.

I love my new mattress best purchase made
The edges stay firm but the bed conforms to your body

Mattress Feels Bespoke
I have never slept better than on my Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid mattress. A complete restful night's sleep is so important and I had no idea what I was missing until I slept soundly on my new S&F mattress. I now look forward to going to bed and wake up each morning well rested, energized, and excited to greet the new day. I love my Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid mattress and recommend it frequently. It is a well-built, solid mattress designed to provide lasting comfort and stand the test of time. When my new mattress arrived, I was ecstatic. It was even better than expected. It is beautiful to look at, but is solid, strong, and durable. The hand-tufting, encased coils, edge protection, rich fabric - the precision and craftsmanship - all give this quality mattress a luxury feel. The mattress has a lot of heft and durability. It is a solidly built quality mattress and foundation that feel like they will stand the test of time. *This reviewer received a mattress at no cost as part of a product sampling program.

This mattress is exceptionally adequate
This mattress is a very recent purchase. So far, so good. My hope is it will withstand ordinary wear and tear and afford me a good night's sleep for years to come.

good mattress
very soft and comfortable, but seems to developed cavity over a period of time.

Yes i would buy gain
So far so good

good mattress
still getting used to it

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC
I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

Review from Mari of Beacon, NY
Purchased adjustable mattress from Sleepy's. I paid almost $4,000 for this mattress. A hole appeared in the mattress after two years. It is getting bigger. Stearns and Foster refuses to either repair this mattress or replace it. I am still paying off this mattress.

Review from Marcel of Farmingville, NY
I have to give Bedding 0 stars. I have the bedding for less than 5 years. My husband and I are senior citizens (72 and 75 years of age). We took the proper steps, according to the Warranty Claim. Which is a process consisting of taking numerous photos of the king size bedding: remove mattress, box spring take photos, measure sinkhole with a string etc. That being said - this was not an easy job. The photos did not show the sinkhole correctly due to our inexperience of performing this task. Our claim was denied. I wanted a representative to come to my home and take professional photos - that is not their policy. They would like us to retake the photos - they do not care that it would be basically a hardship for us to go through that procedure again. Do not buy Stearns and Foster Bedding. What good is the warranty.

Review from Debbie of Levittown, PA
I purchased the Beth Luxury Plush mattress on 5/27/2012 from Ashley Furniture Company. There is a sag in the middle and no matter how much I try not to roll into the sag I wake up in the middle of the night in the center where the sag is with back and hip pain. I read the reviews and realize I am in a hopeless situation. I am waiting for my appointment to have my sag measured but I already feel like it is a waste of time. It's really sad how this company is selling consumers very expensive mattresses and then have all these crazy loopholes in the warranty. Just from the number of consumers that have complained about the same issue I'm sure they realize that this is a major issue with their mattresses. I am already preparing myself to buy a new mattress because it is impossible to sleep on my Luxury Stearns & Foster. I am currently sleeping on a Futon bed in my spare bedroom as I wait for my measurement appointment.

Review from Sonya of High Point, NC
We bought a Stearns & Foster mattress about 3 years ago. We were told it would provide great support for our back. We were also told it would not sink in on each side. This mattress sinks on each side and there is obviously a big hump in the middle. This all started within the first 6 months. We have turned the mattress, stood it up, whatever we could think to get rid of the sunk in parts. We are extremely disgusted that we spent so much on this mattress and are currently shopping for a new mattress. My husband and I are tired of waking up with extreme sore backs. My husband a lot of times ends up on the couch to get a better night's rest.

Review from Yolanda of Washington, DC
I purchased a Stearns and Foster Cora Queen sized mattress from Sleepy's in Maryland in June 2014. After a year, I noticed indentation in the center and on the top corner. I noticed that my body aches and that it's hard to get out of the bed because of the center indentation. For the past six months, I noticed the back aches worsened. I put in a claim form to Stearns customer services on February 26th and have not heard from them. After reading complaints about the same exact thing regarding the Stearns and Foster mattresses, I see I'm not the only one. I paid a lot of money for this. My last mattress lasted the whole 10 years before needing a new one. After reading the complaints, it looks as though it's difficult to get your money back even though you are under warranty.

Review from Love of Fenton, MI
I'd like to start out by saying that I have loved and slept incredibly well on my S&F Thornwood Lux Firm mattress for several years. Additionally, everyone who has slept in my bed has commented on how comfortable it is (even now, admittedly). However, having said that we're at the 6 or 7 yr mark and it's definitely showing signs of wear. I'm a bigger girl, so I understand that takes a toll and can create indentations. I rotate my mattress a few times yearly in an attempt to delay wear, but now it's hard to find a spot without a dip. I tend to wake up in the morning with a sore lower back, and I can no longer sleep in past 7 or 8 hrs. I have read that mattresses tend to give you 7-10 yrs on average, and I was hoping that being a more luxurious and reputable brand I'd make it to the end of that time frame with this one. Although I was looking to possibly replace it with another S&F, some of the reviews of newer models make me question if that would be a wise decision.

Review from Chet of Myrtle Beach, SC
Please beware of a mattress from this Company. We are having the same issues as mentioned by most on this site - sagging and dipping of mattress where you sleep. Stearns & Foster will not do anything. Paid thousands for this mattress. Do not buy this product. Poor craftsmanship and very poor customer service. Beware Beware Beware!!! Would give "0" stars if it were an option. Shame on you Stearns & Foster.

Review from Annette of Boerne, TX
I purchased my third set of Stearns and Foster mattress in June 2014. Eight months after it started to sag. I filed a claim with the retailer, they sent their expert at my expense. Conclusion was that for the warranty to take place the mattress had to have 1-1/2 inch of measurable sag. Out of luck and out of $2,705.17 for the Emilia Rose PL Queen mattress. Needless to say that we cannot sleep on that bed any longer because it may not fulfill S&F's 1-1/2 inch requirement but the mattress sags and there is no good sleep on it, not as the retailer suggestion that the "mattress is conforming to your bodies". Very, very disappointed. I guess that we no longer be purchasing this brand.

Review from Wally of Alexandria, VA
Bought the Stearns & Foster because of thinking more money means better product. No way, it is the opposite with the Stearns & Foster firm baroque. It is very uncomfortable mattress compared to my Serta perfect sleeper. I own Serta perfect sleeper firm already and this Serta is much better for me than Foster. I'm in progress of returning back the Foster any day now just waiting to order another Serta perfect sleeper for half the price and much better comfortness. Now I know when people say more is not better and like channel designer said less is more.

Review from John@CannarsaDesign.com of Saugatuck, MI
I honestly can't believe how awful this mattress is, and I've purchased quite a few over the years. Like many before, I got this one from Art Van because they've always made the process easy, and have a good selection. I went through their mattress match-making system and really took my time selecting. I thought I made a good choice, and was very happy with it at first. Within a year, we both could feel a definite sag in the middle, developed worsening back and hip pain, waking constantly.

I called Art Van and they courteously sent a service rep out to "measure" by stringing a line across the top with weights on both ends. To meet the requirement for "failure" I learned that a mattress has to have a 1 1/2 inch measurable sag. The problem with this is that the plush top mattress can still have the foam and cushion stay "up" while the firm foundation under it has clearly weakened. Mine "measured" about 1 1/4 inches so it appears I'm out of luck. I sure wish I would have looked for reviews because it certainly is easy to find people who have had the same terrible experience. Let the buyer beware.

Review from Megan of Nine Mile Falls , WA
I've read the negative reviews about Stearns & Foster and agree with every one of them. My king mattress is a Queens Gate ultra firm, is five years old and is defective in the center. Of course the fine print in the "warranty" specifies the inches that it has to sag and says I'd have to pay for inspection and transportation. I couldn't figure out why my back and hip (I'm a side sleeper) were hurting and waking me up at night. Then I felt the center of the mattress, which is where I was sleeping, in a moment of revelation. And although you can't see a sag in the middle, you can feel the difference between that area and the parts of the mattress that would be the twin size areas. It's insidious and of course gives the manufacturer an out from giving me any consideration. So I'm sleeping on one side of the mattress, which will also obviously degenerate.

I'll never again buy this brand. I tried to call their customer service number, and was told via recording it'll be closed due to "unforeseen circumstances" and they don't know when it'll open. Lovely. Whatever happened to pride of manufactured product, or customer satisfaction? I'm not even trying to deal with Sears, which is not much better. I'm waiting for Sears to send me the credit card statements so I can send it on in another post.

Review from Jennifer of Mequon, WI
I've read the negative reviews about Stearns & Foster and agree with every one of them. My king mattress is a Queens Gate ultra firm, is five years old and is defective in the center. Of course the fine print in the "warranty" specifies the inches that it has to sag and says I'd have to pay for inspection and transportation. I couldn't figure out why my back and hip (I'm a side sleeper) were hurting and waking me up at night. Then I felt the center of the mattress, which is where I was sleeping, in a moment of revelation. And although you can't see a sag in the middle, you can feel the difference between that area and the parts of the mattress that would be the twin size areas. It's insidious and of course gives the manufacturer an out from giving me any consideration. So I'm sleeping on one side of the mattress, which will also obviously degenerate.

I'll never again buy this brand. I tried to call their customer service number, and was told via recording it'll be closed due to "unforeseen circumstances" and they don't know when it'll open. Lovely. Whatever happened to pride of manufactured product, or customer satisfaction? I'm not even trying to deal with Sears, which is not much better. I'm waiting for Sears to send me the credit card statements so I can send it on in another post.

Review from SUSAN of Fredericksburg, TX
So we received our 4th replacement from Stearns and Foster and decided to switch the type of bed all together. Sears was great to work with, they even credited us $890 on the difference of the upgrade so we paid an additional $300 to go with the lux estate ultra plush hybrid bed. This bed is soft as expected unless our other plush beds that were delivered were hard and felt cheap and the knobs were laying on top of the mattress instead pulled down. The adjustable base sometimes goes down on it own and smells weird still after 3 months. Smells like hay is the only way I can describe it. But I would recommend the lux estate hybrid ultra plush bed if you are looking for the softest bed!

Review from Zorina of San Diego, CA
I would give zero stars if possible. I purchased a high-end Stearns and Foster bed a couple of years ago. I noticed the indentations about a year after purchase. I thought my back and hips were hurting due to exercise, but I think it's this cheaply made bed. I can't believe they are allowed to stay in business with ripping people off. We had a bed before this one for about 20 years and no problems. I don't think beds should cost $3000 and last a year!

Review from Charles of Cedar Park, TX
We bought a Stearns and Foster in March 2013 at Sears in Columbus, OH. We now feel like we need to buy a new mattress because of the indentations and sagging causing us back pain. Will never buy another Stearns and Foster.

Review from jennifer of Dacula, GA
Have this Stearns and Foster high profile for just over a year. 14 mo. to be exact. I weigh approx. 130. Live alone! Stay home 6-8 mo. a yr. This mattress crapped out in about 6 mos.!!! I'm disgusted! 3 grand plus for the Lux! No! I've paid people to rotate, after a few weeks I'm in a rut. Just awful.

Review from Ina of Madison, AL
Bought a bed March 2015. The middle is already sagging. Called the customer service for Sleep Train. Erica informed me that all claims would be denied because I did not have a bar with a leg in the middle of my frame. Of course, I was not informed that was recommended when I first bought the bed for $1800. With all the bad reviews, on this site alone, I will STAY AWAY from any Stearns and Foster bed forever!!! The customer service was of no help. On a side note, as I was talking to the salesman about my problem, someone else walked in with the same problem. Guess what kind of bed that was??? Stearns and Foster.

Review from Rachel of Jacksonville , FL
We purchased a Stearns and Foster king Douglas House LXP with box springs for $2,500+. Clearly this is the worst mattress we have ever owned. Within a year the mattress sagged, though not more than 1 inch. But it was like sleeping in a wagon wheel rut. Hips, shoulders, back and knees ache every night. Stay away from this product.

Review from brad of East St. Paul, MB
We bought our king size mattress about 6 months ago and two months into it there were sagging spots on each side. The indentations are so bad that sleeping has become very uncomfortable. I feel cheated and taken advantage of. Will never EVER buy another S&F product.

Review from Georgia of Avon, IN
I bought the Stearns & Foster Queen mattress for $1500.00 and within 2 years the middle sagged so bad I had a hard time getting out of bed. I am physically fit, normal weight and swim laps regularly, walk and stay active. This bed made me feel tired and achy every morning. I finally replaced it with a Jamison for half the price and sleep great now. I put the S & F upstairs in the guest room but no one wants to sleep on it. It will go out on the curb.

Review from Laura of Brick, NJ
My Husband and I purchased a King Stearns & Foster Mattress/Box Spring from Ashley's Furniture. 22 days after sleeping on the mattress - deep sleep indentations started to incur on both side. I called Ashley's upset and scheduled a rep to come out to measure. 1" in deepest spot (after 22 DAYS!) and rep said warranty only replaces at 1 1/2". Again, why should we even have to call a rep after owning a mattress for 22 days?? I read reviews warning me about sagging issues prior to purchasing and I took a chance that it wouldn't happen to us. Just like other postings - I was also told to just keep having a rep come out until it reaches 1 1/2". Very disappointing that we replaced a good mattress that we had with this one. I will not be purchasing a S&F again.

Review from Byron of Glenmoore, PA
I purchased a Stearns and Foster queen size bed and box spring that was promoted by the sales representative as a superior bed set that was very firm. It was firm to my satisfaction when tested on the showroom floor, so I purchased it believing I was going to receive a very firm, high quality bed set when delivered..Shortly after delivery, the bed dramatically lost its firmness night after night. The normal body indentations you were to expect I read about on the Stearns and Foster website that were surpassed in the first two months.

Updated 12/16/2015 - I purchased a queen Stearns & Foster bed set, and after only a couple of months with just myself sleeping on it, the bed began to sag uncomfortably. But not to the satisfaction of the warranty requirements when measured by an individual Sealy sent out to my house to measure the bed in a place on the bed where it is impossible to sleep. Plus it was measured many hours after I had awaken and was off the bed, whereas any indentation that was there had risen to a perceived normal level. Customer service was unprofessional and unsympathetic when dealing with me and my concerns regarding the purchase of their product and the questioning of their warranty evaluation methods. If you are considering purchasing a Stearns & Foster bed, do your homework by reading the many reviews on the net, test many beds and research the ones you test. Good luck and happy shopping.

Review from Betty of Killeen, TX
I bought a Stearns and Foster Firm Luxury Mattress in March of 2014. I thought I was buying comfort, boy was I wrong. When waking up in morning, we find that our hips are extremely painful (we are both side sleepers). We also find that we roll to the center of bed. I called Ashleys (that's where I bought it from) with my problem. Appointment was made and craftsmen came out. He said that I did not have a depression of 1 1/2 inches and that there was nothing they could do. I said what about my warranty, he said I did not fall in the guidelines. I bought a firm bed not rock hard. So I'm stuck with a product that I cannot use without waking up in pain.

Review from Fernando of Plainville, MA
Paid over $2600 for a king-size Stearns & Foster mattress at Sleepy's. Came with a 10 year guarantee. After 2 years, terrible indentation on both sides where we sleep. After trying to use kit they send from Marshall Mattress and downloading pics, could not do. I am a senior and this was very difficult. Called and asked for representative to come do. After much begging, pleading and screaming they sent rep.

Received a call from Sleepy's only 3 days after this (before rep came) and they told me claim denied and mattress satisfactory. I could not believe my ears. When I said, "Oh really? They haven't even been here yet." Person on phone was speechless. After rep came and actually said to me, "THIS MATTRESS IS HORRIBLE" I got a call days later from Sleepy's telling me depression in worst spot was 1" and warranty Stearns and Foster puts out, depression must be 1 1/2". I told rep, "I am going to chiropractor regularly and what am I supposed to do???" She answered me stating I should call back in January and maybe sinkhole will reach 1 1/2." I could not believed my ears.

This is ridiculous and totally unacceptable. I will be calling back every single month demanding they remeasure. I am so disgusted with both Stearns and Foster and Sleepy's. After reading other reviews, I realize this is ongoing problem and horrible company and mattresses. DO NOT BUY STEARNS AND FOSTER!!!

Review from Tracey of Henrico, VA
I bought the Stearns and Foster Italian Garden mattress and right away it had deep body impressions. It was replaced and the new one only 2 months old has the same deep body impressions. For $2800 I expected more.

Review from Nicholas of Ipswich, MA
Always suspect companies that leave no way of contacting them on their website. At Stearns & Foster's website you can read all kinds of fancy writings, but no e-mail address to contact them. There is an 800 number and good luck trying to talk to alive person there. You can even see the "file a warranty claim" link on their website, but it does not work (broken link). It is a shame... The company sells mattresses for thousands of dollars and does not stand by their products. When it comes to warranty their defective items, it hides behind Sleepy's, Mattress Marshalls and the "fine print" on their warranty. My experience with Stearns & Foster was terrible in all aspects: the product - low quality, the support - none whatsoever, and the people there - always acting like I did something wrong and never at all interested in learning why their product failed.

Review from Dragan of Calgary, AB
Just like most people, our mattress started to get the sinkhole. I called the warranty department who sent us a "kit" so we could measure the sinkhole. It was a pain to take all the pictures with string. I put extra weight on the ends of the string which made a difference, BTW. While we were doing the pictures I discovered that the box spring had a huge sinkhole too. It was becoming a huge pain to get the pictures and do the warranty so we decided to try buying a new box spring for our King size bed which solved the problem. When we received our new box spring we took apart our old box spring and discovered that the metal frame bends super easy. I think the problem is in the box spring for a lot of these mattresses failing. It was cheaper to replace one of the box springs than a new mattress.