Sleep Number vs Zinus

Get Memorial Day 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years. What most people know them for is their firmness number technology that allows you to adjust the firmness on either side of the bed with the touch of a remote. However, over the last few years, they have launched more smart technology in their mattresses. This tech adds sleep tracking and automated adjustment as you sleep. While most sleepers find this technology very interesting, there are some complaints from customers about durability and long term comfort. Read on to drilldown into each of their mattresses.

Zinus

Zinus has been in the furniture game since 1979, selling extremely affordable furniture. They have used that experience to craft a solid Consumer Affairs accreditation and also online customer experience. They make three different mattress lines -- iCoil®, Green Tea Memory Foam, and Gel Memory foam varieties, all of which are extremely low-cost, which can be a big draw with customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zinus in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zinus


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sleep Number: 7.5/10
Zinus: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sleep Number: 7.4/10
Zinus: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Sleep Number: 8.2/10
Zinus: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Sleep Number: 8.5/10
Zinus: 6.5/10

Price:
Sleep Number: $499-$7099
Zinus: $100-$499

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Zinus:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Not all customers report feeling good about these mattresses. Some customers were happy with the way their new mattresse made them feel, but others reported being uncomfortable. Due to this, one of these could be great for you, but it also may be a problem. Read on to learn more about the specifics to find out if these mattresses will work for you.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is really important to having a healthy spine and getting a deep sleep. If your mattress doesn't support you well, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. These mattresses have been rated above average in support, but some had issues with how they felt for them.

Edge Support
These mattresses should do fine on edge support for most, which is ideal for those who like to put weight on the side of the mattress. Some that are larger may still experience sagging near the edges.

Sleep Number's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are not rated well for their longevity by reviewers. This means that some mattresses still may last years and years, while other mattresses may not last very long at all. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Zinus's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be sometimes difficult to find and make sense of -- especially with all of the noise in the industry. These mattresses, sadly, don't get the highest reception from sleepers. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Zinus's Supportiveness

Everyone needs a mattress that properly supports them. Whether you are looking for a firm mattress or a softer variety, a mattress that gives you a healthier back and spine is very important. Most customers say that these mattresses do well with support.

Edge Support
Many folks looking for a new mattress mention edge support as a top request. These mattresses offer good quality edge support, which means there is comfortable resistance on the sides of the mattress giving more sleeping area.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
It's popular to measure mattress firmness with a bowling ball on the surface and it does a good job measuring even support throughout the surface layers. These mattresses offer positive support throughtout the mattress.

Zinus's Durability

Finding a mattress that has comfort that lasts can save you lots of money. Sadly, in this day and age, everything from bedding to clothes degrades faster. Customers give mixed ratings when it comes to the longevity of these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfortable long term, while others reported not being as cozy over the long run. Do some additional research and make sure that your choice should work well for you before purchasing.

Check the Prices For Zinus:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Zinus Customer Reviews

Very cozy!

I've been sleeping on this for about 2 weeks now, and I'm kicking myself for not buying sooner! Very cozy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.