Sleep Number vs Urban

Get The Best February 2020 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years. What most people know them for is their firmness number technology that allows you to adjust the firmness on either side of the bed with the touch of a remote. However, over the last few years, they have launched more smart technology in their mattresses. This tech adds sleep tracking and automated adjustment as you sleep. While most sleepers find this technology very interesting, there are some complaints from customers about durability and long term comfort. Read on to drilldown into each of their mattresses.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Urban in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sleep Number: 7.5/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sleep Number: 7.4/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Sleep Number: 8.2/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Sleep Number: 8.5/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Sleep Number: $499-$7099
Urban: $299-$4299

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are happy with their selection, this brand has lower satisfaction scores than average. If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Experts agree that a supportive mattress is very important for having a good night's sleep. Sleepers describe these mattresses as highly supportive at first, but there are some complaints about supportiveness over the long term. Take a look at the specifications and the reviews to make sure that these fit your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute in hunting down a mattress that is comfortable no matter where you relax on it. Most experience these mattresses as having fine edge support, but there may be more declining edges over time.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure the density and supportiveness of the mattresses, there is initial support throughout the mattress is fairly even for most sleepers. Some folks have mentioned that support may degrade over time for some.

Sleep Number's Durability

These mattresses may not give the lasting comfort that you are striving to find. Some sleepers have had problems with feel and durability over a shorter than average time. If you are have a larger body type and are looking for something with lasting support, these mattresses may provide good comfort initially, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers are satisfied with their mattresses. This means most customers leave positive ratings for this brand, but there were some caveats. Some sleepers didn't enjoy the feel of their mattress. Make sure to read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you!

Urban's Supportiveness

These mattresses are well supportive versus other competitors. They do a great job aligning the spine and most folks feel comfortable due to this. Customers describe that these mattresses are supportive and and don't talk about issues with initial sags.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important point when you are used to laying close to the edge of the mattress and wish having supportive balance all the way to the edge. These mattresses offer good support on the sides and edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Using a bowling ball on the surface of the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. These mattresses are good at being supportive evenly thoughout the mattress.

Urban's Durability

Finding a durable mattress can means thousands in savings for you and your family. This is one of the reasons that customers strive so hard to find mattresses that last. However, any shopper reading the reviews knows there are brands that seemingly don't care about the same thing. In spite of that, shoppers can still find great products by good brands. These mattresses are given high marks when it comes to durability. Unless you are of a heavy build and use the mattress more than average, these mattresses should perform for you for 7 - 12 years.

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.