Sleep Number vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years. What most people know them for is their firmness number technology that allows you to adjust the firmness on either side of the bed with the touch of a remote. However, over the last few years, they have launched more smart technology in their mattresses. This tech adds sleep tracking and automated adjustment as you sleep. While most sleepers find this technology very interesting, there are some complaints from customers about durability and long term comfort. Read on to drilldown into each of their mattresses.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sleep Number in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sleep Number


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sleep Number: 7.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sleep Number: 7.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Sleep Number: 8.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Sleep Number: 8.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Sleep Number: $499-$7099
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers don't always feel excellent about these mattresses. Some customers didn't have a good experience, but others were completely satisfied. Due to this, it's harder to predict whether one of these will sleep perfectly for you. Continue looking on below to learn more if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer above average supportiveness, which is ideal for those that are struggling with pain from a sagging mattress. However, some have had issues with support long term, so take a look at some of the other reports from customers to make sure your choice is right for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is an indicator of how supportive the sides of the mattress are versus the center. These mattresses do well here, but some folks may experience less edge support over time.

Sleep Number's Durability

Mattresses that are very durable are great, but difficult to find. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you are bigger in body type, take a look at the reviews before purchasing.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Customers, sadly, don't always have positive remarks about these mattresses. Some feel cozy and comfortable, but others don't feel that way. If you are pondering buying one, take a look below for more specifics.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress can mean the difference between a comfortable night sleep and pain. These mattresses do well in supporting folks at the beginning, but there are some who have found the long term support lacking. It is really important to take a look at all of the reviews to make sure these fit your body type.

Edge Support
Many look for good edge support as a way to be comfortable getting in and out of bed. These mattresses are okay in terms of edge support, but some experience more contouring than they would like.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure the density and supportiveness of these mattresses, supportiveness for these mattresses is fairly even. Some folks, however, have described issues with support degrading over time.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresses aren't appreciated as well for their durability. While some have experienced good performance, others describe having issues faster than average. Make sure to do some extra reading of the reviews and warranty policies before buying.

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.