Sleep Innovations Mattress Reviews

Win a FREE Cocoon By Sealy Mattress! Ends July 23. Enter Giveaway
Get Special July 2017 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Sleep Innovations

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sleep Innovations is a fairly recent contender in the online and offline mattress space. They sell predominantly on Amazon, other online retailers, and through their offline partner network at stores like Target, Sears, and Kohl's. Overall, they offer a cost-effective solution but without many of the perks of some of the newer brands.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.5/10

Price Value: 8.5/10

No Back Pain: 6.5/10

Price: $339-$849

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Browse Sleep Innovations Customer Reviews

I find it VERY comfortable and it keeps me from getting too hot at ...

I think everyone should get one of these, they arrive in a tall but moderate size box, After unboxing you cut the plastic cover and it starts to expand to its normal size, I find it VERY comfortable and it keeps me from getting too hot at night. I am sleeping better than at anytime in my 67 years!!!!

Best sleep in years

This is the best mattress I have ever slept on. I know some people give it a bad rating saying it is too firm, but it really is only about personal preference. I have slept on hard beds and this is not one of them. Yes it is firm, you don't feel like you are sleeping on a soft pillow top but I don't think that is best for your back anyway. I had back surgery last year and this mattress addresses issues that no other mattress has, regarding the many issues my back requires. It take a night or two to get used to the difference but once you stick with it, you will be happy you transitioned.

I'm happy with it

As of today, this mattress is a huge improvement over our last one. It is quite tall and doesn't need a box spring (we have it on a wood platform). The mattress is firm, but given a few minutes, you sink into it a bit, which really makes it quite comfortable to sleep on at night. It doesn't keep cool quite to the extent as I was hoping. It's pretty humid here in the warm Florida Panhandle, but I wasn't expecting miracles. Good value overall for the price tag.

its just as good as my very expensive beauty rest mattress.

I have owned this mattress for over 1 year and love it. I bought this as a toddler bed when we were transitioning my son from the crib to a bed. This bed is tall enough that you don't need a frame for it. For the time being, we have the mattress on the floor with no frame and don't have to worry if my son falls off the bed. The bed is comfortable for him and adults. I often find myself sleeping in this bed as my son sometimes needs dad with him to go back to sleep. I love this bed and its just as good as my very expensive beauty rest mattress.

House divided

Pretty firm. I loved it, my wife hated it. If your looking for a mattress that's super soft like a plush DO NOT buy this. For a firm mattress this thing is incredible.

Would not recommend if you are shopping for a plush a mattress.

This mattress may very well be the firmest mattress that I have ever had the displeasure of sleeping on. If you want a firm mattress it would be a great buy. If you are looking for plush you should go ahead and purchase a mattress topper as well.

Not bad, not great.

This is our first memory foam mattress purchase. For the last 13 years we have been sleeping on a pillow top mattress, but that old mattress was getting pretty lumpy and old and I couldn't find the exact same brand to replace it. So we started mattress shopping..... ugh how I hate mattress shopping! After a couple of weeks of research, we settled on this particular mattress (in king size). Delivery was prompt and setup was painless. Open the box, follow the directions to carefully cut away the protective compression packaging and enjoy as your mattress takes shape in front of your eyes. We opened ours in the morning and slept on the mattress that night. It was a different experience at first and frankly couldn't decide whether we had made a good decision or bad. This mattress is really firm, especially if you put the Dreamaway Mattress Protector on it. We have used the mattress for a few months now and I think I'm finally getting used to it. I'm not an especially great sleeper any way, so it is hard for me to claim that I'm sleeping any better or any worse than before. Thankfully the lumps are gone :) and I can move around the bed at night without disturbing the Mrs. We had a really nice bed set, so I saved the box spring and frame and put the new memory foam mattress on top of that. Considering the price paid, ease of setup and pain free ordering / delivery process from Amazon I wouldn't say that I'm unhappy with the purchase. But for me it wasn't the paradigm shifting sleep experience that I was hoping for. One thing I want to stress is that this mattress is very firm, so if you're looking for a softer experience you should consider something else. We haven't slept on it in the summer yet, but so far the mattress temperature is comfortable. As for reports of chemical odors on memory foam mattresses....... this one was minor and gone before we went to sleep on it the first night.

Great bed, takes a little getting used to.

This is an awesome bed! It takes a little getting used to, but once you are, it's great! Definitely recommend two people to unpackage and place the bed, though I did manage by myself, it wasn't the most comfortable experience. My previous foam bed had a lot of off-gassing. With this bed, unless you put your nose right in it, you really can't smell anything.

Good quality 'No-Sag' Mattress

This is a really good quality mattress. After a year of use there is no dip or sag. Also the corners do not "bend" when you sit on them. I deducted a star because, at first the mattress was just too firm
for us. We were wondering if we had to return this.Luckily we tried a 2" topper from costco ($99) and that did the trick. Now we have a firm base with a plush top. Best of both worlds !

Love the mattress

Love the mattress, quality product. I previously slept on a cheap mattress with a nice 4" memory foam pad that was fairly soft, so this is a little firm for me although i'm sleeping well on it. Why I gave it 4 stars is that the listing says medium/soft feel but its no where near soft. Its more medium/firm. I'm going to purchase the extra plush bamboo mattress pad just to soften up a bit because a slightly firm mattress is probably better for me anyway.

No odor, regained "normal shape" after shipping and not too firm... Loving it.

I read a lot of reviews before ordering this and I was very concerned about the potential odor from the foam. Thankfully even when I first cut open the bag it comes in there was no odor at all... literally no odor (even with face pressed against the foam). So I guess that pretty much takes care of that.

As for any crease from shipping, it seemed to disappear in about 15 minutes. I did follow the instructions and I even went above and beyond by leaving it sit for 2 days before I slept on it. I don't see or feel any creases or any indication that it was shipped folded.

As for the firmness, it is a bit firm and softens up as you lay on it. It took a week to get used to it but I am very pleased with it now.

I am so happy I didn't waste $3,000 - $5000 on a Tempurpedic at the furniture store. :)

Excellent product....

Wish I would have bought one years ago. We both work midnights and when we finally get to crawl in and get situated " lights out " I don't even move. This matress is much cheaper than the pillow top we replaced. I'm going to replace our two childrens mattresses with these. I highly recommend them. No more back pain...that alone is worth it. Excellent product for the money. I don't overheat either, very rested when I wake up.

1/2 the price of the popular brand...

This mattress is comparable to the Famous Brand memory foam mattress I have used at a friends home. However, this cost half the price. The only drawback is finding bedding that fits the thickness of the mattress...

Great mattress! Firm but fair.

My other mattress was a spring with box frames. It was over 15 years old and sagging. I think I used it for way too long beyond its usefulness. I should have replaced it years ago. I think the old mattress ruined my back as well. I could not sleep soundly for any longer than 4 hours before my back would start hurting. Then I would just shift and turn the rest of the night. Needless to say I have not slept well in at least 6 months to a year, if not longer. My back only hurt when I would sleep so I could almost definitely attribute it to a deteriorating spring mattress. I decided to make the switch to a foam mattress to try something new. This mattress appears to be well constructed in the materials used and the mattress covering. It is a firm mattress for sure. I have had it for about a week and am still getting used to it. My back still gives me trouble at night but it is markedly better and improving. I think my back is just now resetting itself from years of terrible posture during sleep. The firmness was a concern because I am a side sleeper at times. I have found this mattress not to be an issue for me though. I went with this one because the reviews I saw said it was not as firm as the one with the gel-foam layer and the gel-foam layer one was not recommended by side-sleepers because it is firmer. This was a great purchase in my opinion. My wife likes it and I am getting used to it, and my sleep is improving. The other concern was the heat that some people had mentioned. I have found zero issues with heat transfer. I don't even notice it. The mattress expanded almost immediately after removing it from the bag and was ready in just a few hours really. We slept on it that night.

this is the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on

this is the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. i had previously purchased one in a full size so when I upgraded my living arrangements i got a king size. the mattress is firm but soft on top and very supportive. get deep pocket sheets for it. you wont be disappointed.

No price can compare to a great nights sleep!

It did take me a long time to shop around to finally make the decision. I shopped for over a year for a new mattress and with my experience with my last mattress I needed to be sure before I spent so much money not to be satisfied. On my last purchase I spent over $2500.00 on a Seally posterpedic job. I thought I was shopping smart and purchased a close out model. I figured since I was shopping at a reputable dealer and purchased a product with excellent reputation I would be happy. I was far from that 6 months later, the mattress did not show any signs of wear. I was able to set a 8 foot level across the mattress with only about a 1/2" of variance across the surface which is with in specification. Even though the product was within the manufactures limits the product did not provide much support, I am 160 pounds at 5'9" and my wife is all of 110 pounds at 5'6". My point is we are physically fit active people and the product had us waking up multiple times through out the nigh and when we had to wake up we were often feeling tired and sore from sleeping on this product. We talked to the dealer to try to warranty the product, since the product was with in the specification and operating within the set of limitations set by the factory I was stuck with it. Well at $2500.00 at 6months old I was shocked that a product that seemed to be a great product at first was failing us so quickly. So with all that said I have had this new mattress for going on 3 weeks now and I must say it has alleviated all the complaints I have described about my previous mattress, I believe that it is too soon to effectively rate this product accurately with out seeing if I will have a problem because of having the previous product only 6 months and being so unhappy overall, having a mattress for 18 months and trying to get a replacement for a year I was happy to get a good night sleep. I did read all of the manufactures guidelines on how to care for it properly and they all are clear and reasonable to get the most out of it. This product sleeps comfortably in relation to temperature, on my conventional innerspring mattress I was a hot sleeper and was constantly throwing the covers off in the middle of the night then waking up freezing cold. With this product I reach my rem sleep very quickly and sleep all the way through the night waking up crisp and refreshed ready to conquer the day! This product supports me and I wake up with no pain or sore muscles. I have had friends that have purchased this same mattress and are still satisfied, I am truly hopping we have the same experience, a warranty doesn't mean a thing if the guidelines protect the manufacture. Not sure about this warranty by reading it I would have to say it may not be much of a warranty, In the event you want to make a claim you have to pay to ship and return ship to you so that they can inspect the product. This leaves me to only guess that if I had to request a warranty replacement it will not be an easy transaction.

I am in love

I am in love. This is the best thing since sliced bread. My husband was not interested
In buying a mattress on line. It came there was no smell like some viewers mentioned.
It came early which was great. I am telling everyone what a great experience this was.
PS I have never written a review before.

Very comfortable. Came vacuum sealed and expanded to full size ...

Very comfortable. Came vacuum sealed and expanded to full size very quickly. Not too firm. Does seem to be a little warmer than other mattresses. Can't beat the price though. Make sure you buy extra deep fitted sheets to fit.

Super Nice Bed!!

We really love this bed despite what everyone is saying here. Yes the bed is firm, but it's a cushiony firm.

Let me describe: the bed has great support. Coming from a nice expensive pillowtop spring bed, this bed is firm. Something that we were looking for after 5 years on that pillowtop. This bed has healed my bad back too!

Feels like sleeping on a Twinkie!!

Great Mattress, and a good value

Great value....comfortable...no-cons for me... It's amAzing that it was delivered in such a small box compared to the expanded size...just open the box , let it expand and air out....( smells like baking cookie crust ...for a few days; )
I carried it up 4 flights of stairs by myself...I sometimes carry my guitar amps (fender-tube) up and down ,,, so the 90+ lbs weight of the bed wasn't an issue... It's just bulky... I weigh over 200lbs and over 6'0 ft... Just to put things in perspective...so if you are out of shape ...pay someone to move it....once it expands.. It's much easier to move around... Just bulky...oh yeah... My place is hot all year long....haven't closest all my windows in 18 years .. The temperature of the bed is balanced... Not hot , not cold....
Even when it over 90 deg in the house...I don't know about durability , but time will tell....

I love it!

its been a couple of weeks now.. i unboxed it and it unfolded in a couple of hours.. so i put sheets on and slept on it the first night.
I have been having soreness and stiffness for a while now from my former "innerspring" mattress.. and it was a very expensive one.. with 2000 coils etc. but my body was screaming at me every morning!!
So I thought i would give this mattress a try becasue there were so many good comments.
I love it! Yes, the first night it was firm, kinda scary.. but it softens up to you in little bit and then you dont feel "sunk" but I did feel supported. Its been a couple weeks now and I am going to put a 1 inch memory foam topper for a softer pillow top effect, but i do love the level of support and NO MOTION from your partner.. I am sometimes a restless sleeper, getting up and such, and my partner feels NOTHING. I will never go back to an innerspring mattress.. this mattress is the best i have ever had and it didnt break the budget.

Sleeping soundly w/o pain

Very happy with purchase. Bed is as described. I have slept well on this mattress from night 1. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new mattress. There was no smell and I slept on it 12 hours after opening.

Finally, a mattress that doesn't send me into a black hole...

This is our first memory foam mattress, and beyond what everyone else has said (positive), we are completely in love with this item. We replaced a sinkhole mattress (heh) with this, and the price was too good to pass up (I was in the process of ordering a queen when the web page refreshed and showed me the king mattress on sale for less than the queen!).

It IS a firm mattress, but only until your body starts to warm up the foam a bit, then you sink (but not too much!) slightly and suddenly it's heaven. Very impressed, considering it feels exactly the same as the $4500 Tempurpedic model I took a nap on in a local store.

Everyone will like a different mattress, but my advice is to give this a try. It might take a night or five to get completely used to it (bonus if you have a memory foam pillow to go with it!), but it is worth every penny and then some. You simply cannot put a price on a good night's sleep, no matter how cliche that saying is ;).

3 months in and the wife and I love this mattress

The adjustment from a spring based mattress to memory foam took some getting used to (more so for the kids, who were perplexed when jumping on it didn't provide the same gleeful launch)...but, 3 months in and the wife and I love this mattress. Price point was hard to beat and we haven't seen any issues with the mattress losing its shape. Very pleased.

Great mattress without the high price!

Wanted to try a memory foam mattress but didn't like the high price of the name brand sold in most retail stores. Found this online for considerably less and opted for the slight cost increase of the 14in version. Totally happy with this mattress! Slight smell from gases of foam a couple of days that has dissipated and nothing but a great nights sleep for me and my wife!

Money well spent

Firm but very comfortable. Its been a week and we have both slept well for a change. Bed arrived on time and was easy to unpack and set up. Others have stated you have to wait 72 hours after you unpack this to sleep on it, I think it was about 5 hours for us and everything was perfectly fine. I would not hesitate to buy this again.

Great sleep!

Love this from the very first night. The only problem is you have to stay clear from the edge as it sinks a little. So thick. We could have bought the less thick as this is a solid mattress - extremely comfortable and firm support.

More firm than I expected

I have shoulder and back problems. The bed has been good for my back, but terrible for my shoulders. My wife loves the bed so I give it four stars.

Great mattress!

I really like this mattress. It is firm and at first I figured perhaps it may be a little to firm for my body. I felt this way for the past 8 months of owning it (even though I've been sleeping fine the whole time) until I went on vacation with my girlfriend to Atlantic City. After staying in a hotel on a softer bed I could definitely feel a difference when waking up. I;m only 31 years old but I could tell my joints were a bet more stiff than I had gotten used to. Overall even though I never owned the cheaper version of this be I'm still very satisfied with my purchase.

Firm Mattress...

WAY too firm. Ended up with neck and back pain.

Firm

I've waited 6 months to write a review because I really wanted to have some good perspective. I tend to like a soft mattress and fall asleep best on my side. The first few months were rough; this is a firm mattress and I woke up in pain when I slept on my side, still do. This thing gets even firmer when the temp drops and living in an attic in VT the temp gets into the low 60s at night. With all that said, this is the best mattress I've ever had and look forward to every night's sleep. My wife likes a firmer mattress and had lots of hip pain from our old bed and now she has none. This mattress is best for back sleepers and I have learned to appreciate that and a firmer mattress. I love how it conforms to my body and I'm not disturbed when my night owl wife or restless dog move around. Well worth the money and it should soften up a little over the years. Is not hot at all like some reviews say, but if you need a soft bed look elsewhere or go to a store where you can try it out first.

A good deal and product

I've had this mattress for about 10 months now and am fairly pleased with it. It was easy to deploy (impressive to watch once you open the bag). Make sure you have it arranged properly before cutting the bag open. Though a little heavy I was able to deploy my king size mattress alone. It did smell a little for a couple of days but was not intolerable. The price is pretty good and I'm pleased I bought it. I've recommended it to family and friends. I'd actually like it a little firmer but some seem to think it is pretty firm. My only complaint, common to all memory foam mattresses, is that I can't move very well on it. I'm used to my old mattress having a grippable edge to help me adjust but this one has a soft edge with nothing to easily grip. Still pretty pleased with it though. Recommended.

FINALLY - no more tossing and turning for this side sleeper!

I cannot say enough about this mattress. I had a crappy innerspring that made my neck and back hurt, and I was constantly tossing and turning. I had looked at memory foam mattresses in person and decided that was the way I wanted to go, but thousands of dollars, really? Surely there must be a more economical alternative. My budget was $1000 for a queen mattress. I wanted something less firm, but not too soft. I came across this line and this 14-inch memory foam mattress was the softest of the bunch. And for $600? Ordered! 2 days later I was sleeping like a baby. No more back pain, no more neck pain, no more waking up 10 times every night.
The mattress had no smell right out of the box. The only cons I can think of are that it's extremely heavy and it might be too warm for some people. But I'd buy this mattress over and over again anyway.

As others have said, this mattress is very firm ...

As others have said, this mattress is very firm. It will get softer after 24-48 hours, but having tried many memory foam mattresses of this type, it is quite firm. I agree with the description that this mattress is ideal for side sleepers and provides ample support.

Not exactly "soft-medium", but appears to be of good quality.

Quite a bit stiffer than one would expect from a mattress categorized as "soft-medium", but we shall see if it softens up as time goes on. We had to buy an additional pillow-top cover in order to make this mattress tolerable. It does not get too hot or cold and offers excellent support, but it is stiff unless you are a heavier person. Still seems to be of good quality construction and time will tell how it holds up - will try to return in a year to update.

Very comfortable for older person with hip arthritis.

I add my opinion to the thousands. With a bad neck from a 1982 motorcycle accident, I slept on a bed made from a plywood deck with 4 inches of ordinary upholstery foam for the last 34 years. Extra firm, like the floor. I am a side sleeper, and after passing 55 some time ago, I developed arthritis in my hips, among other places. I had the ultimate surgical repair of my neck in 2010, so my neck no longer required a hard bed with precise pillows. My wife and I slept on the Alden last night, fell asleep immediately, and were reluctant to get out of it in the morning. It was blissful. I got a name brand mattress cover that supposedly provides cool comfort. The mattress seems warmer than 4 inches of foam, but not unpleasantly warm. Use a lighter blanket, or during the winter, set thermostat to 60. I read many of the reviews, including the negatives saying this is too firm. A carpeted floor should be used as a measure of hardness (1) and a sack of goose feathers as soft (10). This mattress would be a 4. Most importantly, it relieved the pressure on my hips for a pain free night. If I did not have a few more years of work, I would spend 12 hours/day in this bed.

Excellent purchase

This mattress replaced a memory foam mattress that we had purchased 7 years ago from a different online vendor. I researched the highest rated mattresses. (Consumer reviews do help, so please share yours, regardless of your experience.) I learned who the best manufacturers are and how long one can reasonably expect these to last (about half their stated warranty, sometimes less). This was one of two brands that we considered, the other was not in stock and we needed a new mattress, STAT.
Shipping was fast, cost was reasonable, and my back is much improved. If you haven't slept on a memory foam mattress, it's difficult to describe "firm but forgiving." Lots of support, but support that feels like it's made just for you.

I absolutely love them. I would recommend the med-firm for people ...

This is my 2nd Sleep Innovation mattress from Amazon, the first one was a 12 inch firm. this is a 14 inch med-firm. I absolutely love them. I would recommend the med-firm for people weight under 170lbs.

Great mattress for the price!

I purchased this mattress after having been really unhappy with the rock hard firmness of the Sleep Innovations Taylor mattress.

This Alden mattress is described as being medium/soft. There is really nothing soft about this mattress. It is medium/firm, at best. But, I like a firm mattress and this mattress is firm but VERY comfortable. This is a very good deal for a mattress, there's no need to spend thousands on a highly marketed brand.

really great mattress.

I will update this as necessary as time goes on.

The box is a bit of a pain to move (roughly 20"x20"x40" and 100 pounds). Once I got it in place, there have been absolutely no issues. Cutting off the shrink wrapping was no problem at all, and it was actually kind of neat to see the item return to its intended shape once out of the shrink wrap. When I cut the first layer of shrink wrap off, it almost sounded like the mattress took a breath.

I had read reviews that mentioned an odor issue at first, but there was no odor on mine even immediately out of the box.

The mattress looked like it was back to its usual shape within an hour, but the material that comes with it says it might take a few days.

Also, this is a fabulously comfortable mattress. For me, it is firm but not so firm that it feels like you are sleeping on a board.

I would highly recommend this product, and I might be purchasing another for my guest bedroom.

Great for the price.

As we cut open the bag we smelled NO chemical smell at ALL. The mattress took its full shape in an hour. If you read up on the company you can find that they DO NOT USE the worst of the memory foam chemicals, and make the mattresses sold at costco. We are both inner spring sleepers our whole life. I like a firm bed my spouse a medium. This mattress is not "plush" like they say but its not a rock neither. It is forgiving at first then firm. It is much more firm than the original temper from back in 03. I would like a bit more sink in but this works for both of us. Intimacy is not a problem on this mattress. I am a sleep sweater, after 4 hrs I wake up warm but I would say this mattress is only a bit warmer than an inner spring. If you like the cold sink of a water bed or like a deep soft pillow top you probably wont like this mattress. For everyone else I think you will be ok. If you and your spouse are a different firmness I think this is a middle ground both can use. On my reading though I would have probably liked the 12" surtemp as it is said to be softer. For the price I dont think I could find anything better

mattress for the money.

This is an excellent mattress for the money. Price will fluctuate a lot so keep an eye on it and catch it when it drops down. I have some back issues and find this to be very comfortable for me. It does have a firm feel to it, but that's what I'm looking for. I guess since its foam, that it might feel a bit warmer but I have a ceiling fan so I have never noticed it to be too hot for me. I keep a thick mattress pad on top to protect and ensure a long life. I had used an old box springs for a while but found it becoming more uncomfortable over time. I use a steel frame for the foundation now which does add to the firmness, but again, that's what I'm looking for.

uuugh, stinky

So I do not usually complain. I do my homework and learn from the reviewers like any good internet shopper. However this mattress got mixed reviews about the odor, so I went for it because of the price.

It smells BAD.

I have the mattress open, with 2 windows open for 3 months now, and 5 minutes after you close the windows - it is like a 'brand new car' smell on steroids. My mother gets an instant headache when she walks in the guest room.

For those of you who say, "you get used to it" after a few days - open a window, go on vacation and return to your house. I bet you can still smell it. Because you 'get used to it' or 'it goes away' is not good. You are still smelling the fumes!

Aside from the odor. People say that it is very comfortable to sleep on - but if you are heavy, and want to roll - you have to heave yourself out of the crater you created.

Lesson learned. We are going back to pillow-top spring mattresses that don't require fumigation. Thankfully this mattress is in the guest room where we can close the door.

Excellent memory foam mattress at a GREAT price!

This mattress is both FABULOUS (reduces back pain) and GREAT for your money! What other great memory foam mattress can you get that actually works well and is far less than the often $1K+ price points?

You do have to give it about 2 weeks to "settle" once you open it. At first it feels rather hard, but that is because you have to give it 2 weeks (which the instructions in the box even say). In fact, at first it was so hard that we were about to replace it (return) and get a tempurpedic about 3x as expensive instead (that we laid on in Costco). However, now my husband and I find that with our mattress is great - and probably nearly as good as the Tempurpedic (even though the latter is likely better, it is not 3x better, in our opinion, and therefore not worth the large price tag).

We did get a highly rated mattress topper that we put on top from the outset. That is part of what makes it extra soft up top. It's the Bamboo topper they sell here on Amazon. When we researched toppers, it had far and away the most reviews (over 3K) with high marks from everyone. It's totally refundable, too, if you hate it (which you probably won't).

Combine this mattress and that topper for an "almost as good as a TempurPedic Cloud Mattress" feel at a fraction of the price.

One of the best purchases my husband and I have made for our house.

Very Satisfied with purchase!

Great bed! Plush yet firm. It is hot to sleep on but I knew that before purchasing. If you are a hot sleeper, I do not recommend this bed. Can't beat the price. I will leave another review after a year's use or so. No chemical smell at all when opened. Some others have complained about this, but we had no problem. Also, you will need to use king size sheets because queen sizes generally are too small unless you get stretchy jersey material or something.

Best Bed I've ever had!!!

This is the best bed I have ever purchased!! I did some research on sleeplikethedead.com and this got an 81% rating. The best was bedinabag.com at 86% but that is also twice the price as this one. Ill take the 5% at half the price!

Best part is there is no more back aches for me! You can't beat this price 14 in foam?? I looked and I kept coming back to this and I am so glad I got this one! Wife is happy too!

very disappointed. The memory foam is too firm

I waited a few months to see if this memory foam would provide the comfort I read from the reviews. I am very, very disappointed. The memory foam is too firm, in fact, its too hard. I often, often wake up with sore joints because the foam is so hard. I wanted to send it back, but I found that repacking was very cumbersome because I could not roll the foam into a coil to fit in the box. I desperately needed something to sleep on. My next effort to bring comfort to this memory foam was of course another expense. I purchased two three inch bed toppers. There is a fraction of relief, but I miss having a restful, comfortable night's rest, and I do not have the money to purchase another bed at this time. I am grateful that I don't have to sleep on the floor, but it feels like I am. I also wanted to mention that I noticed my bed had a slight stain on it. I am speculating, but maybe someone else had returned this memory foam prior to my purchase. Lesson learned: You cannot purchase a mattress/memory foam from a web site unless you have gone into the store and can feel the comfort it will bring. Good sleep, great sleep is sooo important.

Be patient, it's worth it.

For those of you expecting to "sink" into luxury when you buy this bed....don't. Don't get me wrong, this is a GREAT mattress....for me. But I like a firmer mattress. I believe the seller markets this as "medium" in firmness. That's true once you've had the bed for a while and it's had a chance to absorb some of your body heat. Initially, this bed FEELS like you're laying on a slab of concrete. Give it a chance. You won't be disappointed. For those buyers out there that complained of a chemical "smell". Yes, it gives off a bit of an odor at first but it goes away after the first day. If you time the delivery right, you can even sleep on it the very first night. As a matter of fact, the manufacturer recommends it. Your body heat helps the expansion process. We used to have a Sleep Number bed. For us, it was the WORST. For those of you that are worried about some of the negative reviews for this memory foam mattress, all I can say is give it a chance. This product isn't for everyone but IS a good quality mattress at an affordable price that will last for a long time. Compared to the name brand memory foam mattress, this really is a good deal.

Best thing i could have done for my marriage

I was looking for a mattress when i stumbled upon this. At first i was skeptical, but considering a smaller spring mattress was two to four times the cost i decided to give this mattress a try. Two days later i was watching a mattress expand after cutting it out of its relativity small shipping container. The mattress is nice and soft and has led to fantastic nights sleep. The only thing i would warn others about is that due to the mattress being made out of foam it hold heat. During the winter this is great, but without air conditioning(or a fan) it can be a bit much during the summer.

Amazing comfort

This is the perfect amount of support for me and my wife. We opened it on the bed frame (platform frame) and slept on it the same evening. First two days were rough as I'm assuming air was still filling all of the cells and empty voids. We both had sore backs for the first 2-3 days. After that, it just got more and more "fluffy," eventually settling to the most comfortable matress we've ever had. Love it. We look forward to going to bed now whereas our old spring and less older replacement memory foam mattress were NEVER that good. They were adequate at best.

There was a slight odor but nothing I would consider worse than a freshly painted room. Even from day-one it was completely tolerable. A month down the road and the room still has that "new" scent to it, much like a room painted with low-voc latex paint will smell after the first few weeks.

Package was heavy, of course. I'm a middle-aged man of average build and I didn't have too much trouble wrestling this into place. Factory box was beat up a little in shipping but it did not affect the product inside.

Bottom line: I would highly recommend this matress to anyone.

A Whole New Life In A Mattress

I am more than pleased with my memory foam mattress. For many years I have suffered from fibromyalgia which has grown into an almost insufferable chronic painful condition. I was unable to get more than three or four hours of sleep and still arose to all over searing body pain. As I've grown older, arthritis has added to my discomfort. I've been treated with nearly every pain reliever and supplements to not much avail. Well, guess what? My son had gotten a Sleep Innovations memory foam mattress and he recommended one for me. I ordered one about a month ago and cannot believe the "miraculous" difference sleeping on it has made in my life. I no longer suffer the incessant body pains I had, I am sleeping 7 to 8 hrs a night which is beneficial in easing fibromyalgia pains. I also had surgery to repair a torn rotator cuff three weeks ago and am healing nicely. I could go on and on about how great I feel since getting the new mattress, but I think I'll just say "Thanks to those responsible for developing the Memory Foam Mattress and those at Sleep Innovations!"

Bed is too firm!

The bed is overall awesome! No issues with odor whatsoever, and no issues with it forming to its full size. I was able to sleep on the bed the same night I received it. The only reason I did not give five star is because the bed is on the more firm side. I like firm and don't mind, however, my other half woke up in the middle of the night and needed to go sleep on couch. I on the other hand slept just fine.

Don't expect that soft plushy sink in feeling with this mattress. I ended up purchasing a 3" $160 foam mattress topper from WalMart to test if it will improve sleep conditions.

Updated 5/5/16: After a couple weeks we decided to send back to Amazon. My other half cannot sleep on the bed and when she does she wakes up with severe back pain in the middle of her back and lower back. We really wanted to like this mattress and we gave it a fair trial with trying a few different options of sleeping with topper, no topper (paid extra for), no mattress cover, with mattress cover... Nothing seems to work in the end. Sorry Sleep Innovations, you should not market this as 'plush' and or medium-firm; It's Firm-Extra Firm.

High Quality and Great Performance

My husband and I have been sleeping on this mattress now for about 2 months. It started off relatively firm but has softened up considerably (which is also due to the weather becoming warmer). My husband likes a firmer mattress, I like a softer one, and this mattress meets us in the middle. I was a little nervous when we first slept on it being too firm for me, but it has softened and I am sleeping more soundly than ever before. That being said, if you have never laid on a memory foam mattress and are coming from a traditional spring mattresses, I suggest laying on a few memory foam mattresses in a store before purchasing. It is a different sleeping experience and does take some getting used to. For those of you also looking at Novaform mattresses from Costco, I hope this information will be useful: Sleep Innovations is the parent company of Novaform which is branded specifically for Costco. Novaform mattresses, and therefore Sleep Innovations, rank very high with consumer reports. We chose this specific mattress rather than a Novaform due to its lower price point. The one benefit to Novaform is that you can go to Costco and feel the texture of the mattresses before purchasing. That being said, if you want a mattress at a lower price point that is of medium softness and still of good quality, the Alden mattress is a great choice. I was very nervous to purchase a mattress online sight unseen, but have been very pleased with the quality and performance of this bed. So far we have not been too hot (my husband is a very warm sleeper and we have both been comfortable on this mattress). Lastly, this is a tall mattress and although regular sheets do fit, they are very, very snug. Unless you want a very high bed you may want to avoid putting this mattress on a boxspring and a bed frame.

Great mattress!

Ok, I saw the reviews for this and questioned if I would like the mattress. I like a softer mattress had a sleep number mattress for 13 years.
I bought the 14 inch Cal King mattress and it arrived in a shrink wrap box.
The Mattress was very firm 1st night and did have a bit of an odor so that information was correct.
I left the mattress out without sheets and set a fan blowing on it for a couple of hours and it took care of the odor.
The firmness was not an issue either after about 48 hours of sleeping on it, it is very comfortable.
It was a warm sleep to be honest until I put good sheets on the bed, I had older cotton sheets on it and it made it sleep a little hotter.

This is a quality mattress. It is not a pillow soft mattress so take that to heart. I have had it a week and I would call it Medium firm.

Hope that helps and good luck.

Firm mattress that takes some getting used to....

I've had this mattress for about a month. I regretted buying it the first few nights because I thought it was too firm. I added a 2 inch soft mattress pad and now it's perfect. I also think it has softened up a little. Warning! Do not try and open the box by yourself! I'm a 5'3 female, and didn't know this mattress would be so heavy. I dragged the box to the end of my bed frame (there wasn't much room left between the box and my wall). I opened the box and cut the plastic and it practically exploded out! I was trapped between the mattress and my wall. I thought about yelling for help, but I didn't think anyone would hear me! Argh! Somehow, I was able to crouch down and get my fingers underneath the mattress and lift it up over the end of my bed frame. I think this thing must weigh 100 lbs or just fealt like it! Don't open the box by yourself unless you have a ton of open space for it to expand in!

I waited 6 months to write this review... and I'm loving it.

I give this 5 stars because it is the best mattress I've personally ever slept on. I'm getting the best night's sleep I've ever gotten. That's not to say it is perfect... just that it is the best.

Some notes about our setup experience:
- You need help. This monster comes rolled up in a box that is very heavy and difficult to move.
- Clear the appropriate amount of space before you open the box. Once you cut the plastic, there is no putting the genie back in the bottle.
- You need to let this sit out for 24-48 hours before putting sheets on or trying to sleep on it.

Some notes on using it:
- This mattress contours to you with incredible support that on first touch felt like it might be too firm. In actuality is the best of both worlds. It molds to your form and holds you there. It is not super firm as some have described, it is supportive. If you're looking for a soft, fluffy pillow-top you shouldn't be buying this.
- No transfer of movement at all. We have this mattress on a solid wood, platform bed. I'm a big guy and I can literally jump onto this bed without disturbing my wife (she doesn't know how many times I've tried this experiment while she was sleeping!)
- It does hold some heat. It is not as bad as many others, but it will feel warmer than a traditional spring mattress. Adding a cooling gel mattress pad will help.

BEST mattress you can buy and no running around to expensive stores!

This mattress beats them all hands down including those high price store mattresses. It arrived very well packed and sprung to life very quickly after opening. Got this to replace our high priced Sterns and Foster King which went south after just 4 years. There were no odors at all as others have said, maybe due to a new process? Its very easy to move around on the box springs compared to others, and easy to put fitted sheets on. Yes it is firm but the added top on this model gives some softness to it and is extremely comfortable. You will not toss as much either at night. If this mattress was sold in stores Im sure the price would be at least double with their overhead, commission sales people, etc. plus this arrives in a couple of days with free shipping. The box weighs about 123 lbs. for the King. To make it easy on yourself just drag or dolly the box near your bed, remove the cardboard shipping box, lift the mattress onto your box springs, cut the factory wrapper off, and the mattress will unfold by itself! It lays nicely within a couple of hours and you can sleep on it that night.

Not as described: a year & a half later and it's still too firm

I purchased the Sleep Innovations Alden 14" memory foam mattress on 5/30/15. I was not happy with it; this bed is very firm with almost no give, which is not how it is described. I have been wresting with it since. I was hoping over time it would get better. After a year of sleeping on it I tried turning the mattress in hopes that my husband's side might have become softer than mine, but no such luck. I tried a $175 pillow top mattress cover, and every type of pillow you can imagine. In the end I have been dealing with hip pain and frequent headaches since I bought it a year and 5 months ago. The chiropractor is able to alleviate some of this, but never enough so the pain and discomfort is always there. I missed the return window as we were moving at the time and Amazon customer service was not able to get me an answer on how to return it before the deadline expired. Now I am stuck with this bed and still paying for it. :( The only good thing I can say is that it's exactly as firm as it was when we bought it, unfortunately we did not want a firm mattress and it is not described as being a firm mattress.

good back support and good holding power

Did lots of research before I hit the purchase button. What caught our eyes are the three layers structure with the air channel in between. Package arrived on time, and it is BIG box. Open that up and, base on other viewers' review, we let that do its own relaxation works for whole day with open windows. There is odor when you open the box, after a day, it is gone. Compare to my Extra Firm mattress, this is a Firm one with a "sinking feel"; good back support and good holding power. Three months in service and still doing good for us.

Great mattress!

This is a great mattress for someone with back issues. My boyfriend was suffering from sciatic nerve and hip issues - the pain stopped when he started sleeping on this mattress.This is the third Sleep Innovations memory foam mattress I've purchased. I love that when one person is moving on their side of the mattress, the other person doesn't get jostled. We even bought a twin mattress for my boyfriend's son and he sleeps great on it. Highly recommend this mattress!

DON'T BE AFRAID!!!!

Okay. I am a proud owner of a Tempurpedic Grand Bed for over 12 years. I LOVE my bed. When the time came that my daughter moved out and took her bed with her, I decided the space would become a guest room. After a lot of research and reading of reviews, I went against my gut and purchased this mattress online. It was delivered shrink-wrapped inside of a large 2-man box, which I wrestled up to the second floor by myself. After pulling it out of the box and releasing the shrink packaging, it was in a decidedly "C" shape, and I had some misgivings. However, the instructions stated that the mattress would "settle" within 72 hours. Put it on the bed, and left the room. Lo and behold!! 24 hours later, I had the most comfortable, FLAT 14" mattress. Laying on it is akin to my Grand Bed when it was brand new!! This was definitely a spectacular purchase! Considering the full size is a tad over $500 and I paid over $6000 for my Grand Bed, even if it lasts 5 years, it is well worth the money. When the time comes to replace my Grand Bed, I will not hesitate to purchase another of Sleep Innovations 14-Inch Memory Foam mattress for my own bed!

6+ month review

At first I was pretty excited about this mattress. It replaced an old spring that long ago should have been tossed.

Unfortunately, this thing sleeps REALLY HOT and REAL SOFT. My girlfriend and I wake up in the middle of the night constantly, tossing and turning because we're sweating. I bought this model because supposedly it keeps you cool - but it does NOT. Thinking of getting rid of this now, and looking for something that sleeps cooler. Waking up 2-3 times a night tossing and turning can't be good for us.

--- UPDATE ---

After a few months I wasn't pleased with the firmness of the mattress & flipped it "upside down". I'm sleeping better now, and don't wake up with a painful back. Should have just purchased the 10" they have and saved some money.

--- UPDATE ---

Got rid of it and purchased a Tempurpedic Contour Supreme HD (firm) mattress. NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE.

We bought this mattress after our friend bought the same one and loved it. We still bought it with hesitation as ...

I have waited about a month to post a review. We bought this mattress after our friend bought the same one and loved it. We still bought it with hesitation as we have never made such a large purchase on Amazon. I almost regretted buying it right away as it failed to be delivered and when we called Amazon it turned out it was lost and they had to reship one. However, Amazon dealt with the problem so quickly and smoothly! They did overnight shipping and we received the bed the next day. It was heavy!! It took a bit of manpower to wrestle this into the house and onto the bed frame. I was pleasantly surprised by how fast it expanded and that there was really no smell. I am very sensitive to smells so after reading several reviews, I had been prepared to sleep on the guest bed to let this air out for a while. However, it was ready by that night!

Onto the comfort, my fiance and I love it! It is FIRM. But once you are in it for a few minutes, you sink into that memory foam like a dream. It stays cool which really helps me sleep better at night. We are sleeping through the night now. We had been looking at beds that cost $5000; I'm so glad we made the choice to purchase this one!

Love It!

I never had or slept on a foam mattress before. I weigh between 240 - 250 and was concerned about sinking down into it. I read where foam mattresses generally feel warmer than a regular mattress. I was also unsure about buying a mattress that comes folded up in a box. That just doesn't sound right. When I first put it on my platform bed, it was lumpy, out of shape and had a slight odor. After one day, everything was fine. No lumps, odors, etc. I can't tell a difference as far as feeling warmer than a regular mattress. This is a firm mattress with great support. I have had it for about two months and I am still very pleased with it. It looks nice and sleeps great. I will not go back to a regular box spring/mattress again. This is a good value for the money and I would very highly recommend this if you are in the market for a new mattress.

VERY comfortable for this back-and-side-sleeping couple

We've been sleeping on this for 4 months now, I decided to wait until reviewing.
It arrived tiny and we hauled it onto our bed frame (an IKEA wooden slat frame) and watched it unfold. We let it air out/unfold all day (about 10 hours) then slept on it that night (the instructions say this is ok). It was comfortable immediately, and if anything, it's more comfortable now. You sort of sink in for the first 3-4 inches (so it feels soft and pillowy) but then are firmly supported. It's the best of both worlds for me. Husband likes a firm mattress, I like a medium one, and we both agree this is medium but he also loves it.
It does make me warm when I sleep. This hasn't been a problem yet (we got it in Dec, it's only April) but it may be. I forsee potentially sleeping under only a sheet or turning up the AC for June, July and August - but that's a sacrifice I am perfectly willing to make.
We threw out an only-2-year-old mattress we'd bought for THOUSANDS at a pricey mattress store for this one, and this is infinitely more comfortable, and can bear a bit of kids clambering all over it, too!
This is probably my best purchase of the year, possibly longer.

Two Side Sleepers Who Took A Chance and Love It!

Yes, we are two side-sleepers both in their 50s and we are happy with this mattress. Now for the details:

History:
Our first great mattress was a double-sided pillow top mattress. Rotate - flip - rotate - flip...
The next mattress was also a pillow top but only one side, so no flipping and it did not last quite as long. I call this one the marshmallow mattress because we put a 4 inch memory foam topper on it.

Now, if you are a side sleeper, you know you need enough support to not allow your back to bend too far and you also need a good pillow to hold you head straight and not let it flop or push it up too high. These are the things we were considering as I researched for a year or so to find a replacement mattress.

I HATE a hard bed, and that seems to be the only mattress hotels use these days to try and get their moneys worth before they have to replace them. We had always equated FIRM with HARD. That is not exactly accurate, as we discovered.

The purchase:
The same time we replaced the mattress we also moved up from queen to king size - something about my snoring needed to move farther away. :) The bed we purchased is a platform so no boxsprings are needed for this mattress. We got the 4' x 2' x 2' box on the porch in 2 days (go Prime!) and I hauled it upstairs (ok my 23 year old son helped me) and I opened it up. We have opened memory foam before so we are familiar with the expansion and also the odor. My wife was concerned about how long the odor would take to go away as we needed to sleep on this thing the same day I opened it. In 10 minutes, I had a 14" thick king size mattress fully expanded and ready to put sheets on. The odor was faint at worst and almost undetectable after an hour. I invited her up to check the smell and when she walked into the bedroom she said, "Wow! No odor!" Compared to the old days, the slight scent coming from the mattress could not be truly called "odor".

Results:
We had to change our pillows to add some height since we no longer sink down into the marshmallow. This mattress is definitely what you would call firm BUT it is not hard. Firm does not sink down several inches, it holds you but gives where you need it to. Hard is like a board with no give at all. This is not hard. The first morning after sleeping on it, my wife said she was thinking as she was lying there she was not going to be able to go to sleep and then next thing she knew she was waking up in the morning. Since we bought this more than a month ago now, we have decided this was a good purchase. Plus she said she has only heard me snore twice since we started sleeping on it! Bonus! :) With this enormous mattress sitting on a sturdy platform, we cannot feel when we get in and out of the bed either.

I plan on rotating this every 3 months just because however I have not noticed any change in give in the short time we have had it. Because it is a king size, we can shift our sleeping position farther in towards the center giving I would estimate at least 3 different sleeping spots for each of us making this last even longer. At the price we paid, I would call this a complete success if we only got 5 years from it!

It's not easy to find what works best for you, but it is worth it when you do finally find a great mattress!

Don't hesitate..... You will LOVE this mattress

I shopped. I went to stores and lay on them. I read reviews. Overand over again... Finally decided on this mattress ... Final decision was between this one and the SI 12 inch Gel Swirl .... Which was a little less expensive .... I chose this 14 inch mattress because it was reviewed as very firm but soft. Actually it is exactly that.... Like a $200. foam topper on a very firm mattress. In the last three weeks, three guests have slept in the new guest room and emerged in the morning RAVING about the great mattress ! Delivered in two days in a giant box. Pretty fun watching it unfold itself..... Amazing really.... I give myself 5 stars for making a great choice

I really loved this mattress for the first few months

I really loved this mattress for the first few months. It was quite firm and provided an excellent sleep. After 6 months it isn't nearly as firm as it was at first. My wife and I have worn down the memory foam in our usual sleep positions. In the very center of the bed and at the edges where no one sleeps it's still firm. This seems to be just the nature of memory foam. I'm affraid how soft the bed will be in a year from now. I will say that since sleeping on memory foam I notice and dislike sleeping on spring mattresses in hotels. My neck has started to hurt recently and I suspect that it's because of how much I'm sinking into the memory foam. I might need to get a thinner pillow so that the difference between my head and body are less, as the memory foam is now less firm.

Very, very, very firm. Kinda similar to the floor.

This mattress is *hard*! Like painfully hard... it hurts to lay on your side for more than five minutes. If you are accustomed to a classic Tempurpedic, you will *not* like this mattress. So disappointed that I wasted my money on this mattress. Should have paid more attention to the negative reviews.

Firm, But Comfortable, Great Sleep - VERY Glad I Got This Mattress

I figured it was about time to post a review of this mattress. I didn't want to be one of the ones who posted a review inside of the first week or so of owning the mattress because I think it can take a lot longer than that to really adjust to a new mattress.

First though, a short back story of why I wanted this mattress in the first place. I had gotten a Simmons Beauty Rest mattress several years back, and I was never personally happy with it, although my wife seemed to really like it when we got it. My chief complaint was that it slept hot - hotter than any mattress I've slept on in my life. The top of this mattress was a memory foam, but it was a foam from 7ish years ago, so it may not have had any of the new cooling technology. That was when it was new - flash forward to recent months and the mattress had sunk several inches where my wife and I slept, and there was a definite hump in the middle. On top of that, I was frustrated by poor sleep, and waking up hurting and aching every morning.

In the research I had done, I was convinced that I wanted a memory foam mattress, but I wasn't thrilled at the prospect of spending the kind of money it takes to get into a Tempurpedic. Not only that, but I was concerned about the reputation memory foam mattresses have for sleeping hot. I was already sleeping hot and I didn't want it to be worse.

After reading around for a month or so, I took the plunge and ordered this one, mostly due to the thickness - the Simmons mattress we were replacing was a big mattress, and as a result we had gotten a reduced thickness box spring (which is still good - the new mattress is on the Simmons box spring) so I wanted it to be as close to what we were replacing as possible. (The Simmons is actually about 15" at the edge.)

I've got nothing new regarding setup - it's going to be the same as everyone else. Yes, it's a big heavy box, but it's manageable. It's vacuum-sealed into the box, which has the foam compressed for space. Unlike what others have said, my instructions for setup did not say to let the mattress expand without sleeping on it for a certain period of time, but rather it said that body heat would help the mattress expand.

First impressions. The mattress was firm, and the first night I was concerned that it was going to be too hard. It wasn't. For me this mattress is firm in a good way - I sink in and am uniformly supported throughout. The very first night I slept well, which surprised me. Regarding gassing/smell - not here. I noticed it during setup, but that was mid afternoon and by bedtime it was barely noticeable, and completely gone the next day. Heat? Nope. In fact, this mattress sleeps considerably cooler than the Simmons it replaced.

I've had this mattress now for a bit over 2 months, and while I can't tell what the future will bring for how long it lasts, I know that at this point, I haven't slept this well in years. On day 2 or 3 my coworkers actually commented on my pep and energy level. As time has gone on, this mattress has improved. It has softened up slightly, but that's really only noticeable in that it doesn't take quite as long to sink in to that supported comfort.

Some of the physical issues I'd been having are dramatically improved. I don't wake up tired and achy anymore. I wake up comfortable, rested, and cozy to the point where I don't want to get out of bed. I'd been having some problems with my lower back. That's never going to go away but the kind of pain and pressure I had been experiencing has been drastically improved. I'd been having a fair amout of pain in my left shoulder, the product of holding a trumpet for 30+ years, drumming and general over-use. That has also improved to the point where I don't really think about it much anymore.

Here's the kicker: I dream.

I didn't realize just how seldom I was dreaming until I started dreaming again. Pretty much every morning I wake up from a dream. That tells me that I'm getting into deeper, more restful sleep than I had been, and I don't think I move much. I wish my wife would give a review because she was skeptical, but she has some real issues with sleep, and even she's getting much more restful sleep than she had been - neither one of us move much once we drift off to sleep, which for me is usually within minutes of my head hitting the pillow - something else that wasn't happening with the old mattress.

Am I happy with it? Oh yeah. Would I buy it again. Yep - in a second. I don't know if it's as good as a Tempurpedic, but it's such a drastic improvement over what I had been experiencing with the Simmons mattress, my biggest regret is not getting it sooner.

Color me satisfied.

Comfy Rectangular Thingy

Owned for about 7 months now. I've never slept on anything other than an average spring mattress and really wanted to hate this "weird" new bed. I guess it's the troll in me or my pessimistic personality. I read all the negatives (too hot, off gases, smell likes feet, can break your neck if you run and jump in it, etc..). None of the negatives are noted so far, and I now own five of these, three twin size and two queen size. I love them. My kids love them. My wife loves them. It's weird. The only negative that I can legitimately state is that if you run at near full speed and fling yourself onto this bed hoping to cannon ball your wife and bounce her to the floor, it aint gonna happen, and you will twist your back and make your nose feel like it's broke. The bed doesn't bounce like a standard inner spring bed, and therefore completely ruins all attempts at disrupting your partner's restful periods of reading/knitting/watching t.v. But there wasn't any off gassing, no weird patterns or body impressions, no build up of body heat or strange odors coming from the bed. From the wife, maybe. I've only been sleeping in mine for seven months but so far it's the same as the day I flopped it into my home made frame (read, 'floor'). I've gone through a Spring and a super hot south Georgia summer and I haven't left any wet daddy outlines on the bed yet. I use a protective cover on it which is sort of cushy and supposedly diminishes the top most memory foam's benefits, but I need a protective cover so I'm using one. It still has the memory mojo going for it without preventing me from rolling over and elbowing the wife. I've not noted any body movement restrictions at all, regardless of the bodily activity engaged in. (hint, hint, wink wink) The kids haven't voiced any displeasure or noted any complaints about their near-nightly bouncing routines on the bed so I suppose it's a keeper. I'm sure this review pretty much ruined any chance I had at a warranty, but I'm not a warranty kind of guy. I don't return things. I like this bed and it helps me sleep a lot better than the old inner spring, but it was in pretty bad shape when I finally buried it. I've bought five of these things and have another eight to buy before next Christmas. So, yeah. I like it and it's a good hunk of foam to sleep on. No negatives to mention. Yes, it's big. It's a bed. It's suppose to be. No, it doesn't vibrate or cure irritable bowel syndrome or make the dog stop off gassing. It's not suppose to. It's a bed. It's comfortable and it's not developing any weird body shapes or trying to kill me. It feels good, helps me sleep, was inexpensive and it's easy to clean when you get Guinness and salsa on it (as long as you have a protective cover on it). It's just a shame I can't launch the wife out of bed with a surprise cannon ball from time to time. Minus one star for that. But I added one back because the kids are bouncing on it right now and I can still type this while lying a couple feet away from the bedlam (get it? "bed" lam). Sorry.

I wanted WOW, I got MEH!

We've been sleeping on this mattress for nearly three months now. I expected to like this mattress a lot more than I do--esp after researching mattresses for weeks. (I read review after review!) It is HOT. I may like that once winter gets here, but I hate it right now. And, it is not nearly as firm as I expected it to be based on other reviews. It is also VERY tall. We used our old box-spring and I practically need a ladder to get into bed--LOL! That will be better when I have time to purchase some bunkie-boards. Definitely firmer in the middle than on either side--I'm assuming this is intentional for couples who spoon. If it were easy to bundle up and send back, I would have definitely done so. I'll update if I like it better once the weather turns cold.

... got this bed after lot of research and looks like I've found the best one out there in this ...

I got this bed after lot of research and looks like I've found the best one out there in this price range. It came in a relatively small box and opened up to its normal size within 24 hours. The bed is very comfortable and could give Tempur-Paedic a run for its money.

Wonderfully Comfortable And Firm

This mattress is wonderful. It is more firm than I expected, although I like that (added a padded mattress cover). This is my first memory foam mattress and I would definitely stand by the medium. If you purchase this I would highly recommend than you buy a deep pocketed sheet set, because of the immense depth of the mattress. It really is 14" thick. *Warning: This mattress is extremely heavy and cumbersome, be prepared!

Best investment I made and can't wait to upgrade to the king size

This is the best mattress I have ever had I was a little skeptical to get it off of the Internet not being able to fill it but it's the best investment I've made in a long time my mother and my two little brothers got this mattress after laying in mines also got rid of that back pain that I had

My hips don't lie!

I used to like my beds squishy. After my most recent pregnancy, my hips couldn't lie anymore (literally) and they ached so much every morning. I've had this bed now for several weeks and I am loving it. It softens over time and provides great support. It is not too firm at all!

Give it a week and it softens up and is extremely comfortable. We love this mattress now it has softened

As other reviwers have stated, it does seem extremely firm when first opened. Give it a week and it softens up and is extremely comfortable. We love this mattress now it has softened.

Not as soft as I expected!

I ordered the softest mattress they had and have owned 4 other memory foam mattresses. This is the stiffest 1 yet. Sleeps Good and the quality is what I expected, just wish it were more comfortable. I would hate to see how hard the others are. Keep in mind I have only owned it for a week. Don't recall have a break in period for the others nor did they get much softer ever after years of sleeping on them. I might just have to get a topper for it to achieve the softness I want. Delivery was on time with no complaints to seller.

No Complaints What-So-Ever

Simply put, WE LOVE IT! It's not hot like some people have said as we got the one with the cooling gel. When we got it, it was packaged well. Opened it and snipped the packing off and laid out to open for a couple of days (48 hours) and started using it. Oh, and it didn't have any smell either like others have said. My husband and I can't see any problems with it.

Laughing, we would rate it a 4.5 star only because it doesn't make itself in the morning. Enjoy when you get one!

It was amazing I love it

I purchased this mattress in a king in 2015 after breaking my back. It was amazing I love it! However I purchased the same mattress in a queen three months ago it is the exact same bed that substantially harder and a lot less Comfortable I am pretty disappointed. My daughters king size mattress is soft and comfortable but for some reason this queen size is a lot harder. Regretting my purchase everyday. I wake up with numb spots all over my back.

The item is way to firm; I bought it ...

The item is way to firm; I bought it to help me get some sleep, thinking it was going to be a soft form bed. I am unable to sleep on my new bed; that was supposed to be anything but firm. This bed needs about 2 inches of top foam to make it right!

Heavenly

I can not believe how wonderful this mattress feels. I travel extensively for work and sleep in many different hotels. With my old mattress, I loved sleeping on any hotel mattress. Now with the Sleep Innovations mattress, I look forward to coming home and sleeping in my own bed again.

Can't ask for a better mattress

This is the best sleeping mattress I have ever slept on. The mattress is firm, but it cushion your body. Meaning, where ever you lay, the mattress contours to the body. The first night I slept on it, I could not believe how well rested I felt the next morning. Every night I lie down, I know I'm going have a good night rest. As for shipping, it's tightly rolled and weighs 70 lbs. It's definitely a 2 person lift/carry. I waited 2 days for it to expand and have not stopped talking about it since. Thanks Sleep Innovations!

FIRM MATTRESS!!!

BE AWARE THE MATTRESS IS FIRM!!! It is not by any means medium/soft (plush) as in the websites description. Very nice cheap mattress for a FIRM mattress lover. Would buy from the company again if I was assured it would be soft. Now I need to find a mattress topper because I am sooo uncomfortable on it.

Totally satisfied

I've recommended this mattress to many of my friends and family members, even those that have had mediocre impressions of memory foam mattresses in the past. The top two layers eliminate a lot of the uncomfortable heat that you got from early models and the firmness is just right in the firmness. Be aware that it is VERY firm in cold weather but it softens as your body heats it up.

It didn't seem to be any substantial amount heavier than the coil spring unit that it replaced, but the packaging it comes in makes it seem that way because it's so densely compacted in there. Once unwrapped it took about 30 minutes to unfold itself most of the way and was completely decompressed within 2-3 hours. There was a little smell to it but nothing off-putting or bothersome.

All in all this was WAY worth the price asked. I can't speak to the long term durability of it just yet (hasn't even been quite a month yet) but I'm confident that it will stand up based on other reviews and that 20 year warranty.

Almost Perfect. :)

Actually not too bad. I sleep wonderfully on this mattress. I weigh approximately 205lbs and am very fit. I don't sleep with a pillow on this mattress, as I contour perfectly in any sleeping position. I must mention that I use to have slight aches after a hard workout on my old rig, this is no longer the case. Only con is that my wife is still getting use to it, but she's just about there after 3-weeks. It's a little stiff at first, but it settles wonderfully.

My new favorite mattress!

After a month and a half with this mattress I feel very comfortable recommending it as a great buy. It is very firm, and I know some reviews said it slept hot... perhaps it was my old foam topper or matters or both, but this sleeps much cooler than what I had previously.

It was simple to set up, and had no harsh odor out of the box... I was worried that I would feel ill sleeping on it the first night because of the fumes, but whatever smell it may have had initially had dissipated by the time we went to bed three or four hours later. It took a little over the 72 hour time period for it to fully unfold in the very corners, but that didn't bother me at all.

Absolutely fantastic value and I really can't tell the difference between this mattress and other expensive name brand mattresses I've slept on in the past. I'm extremely pleased with the purchase and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Perfect Mattress

Very comfortable mattress. It isn't soft or hard and would rate it just perfect. The top layer has a soft to medium feel but yet has a firm foundation so it is just right. I would buy it again and for sure. We had no odor with ours.

Great nights sleep as well as great value

Our daughter purchased this mattress . We visited her, and we slept in her bed. It was fantastic. When we moved a few months later, we did not hesitate to purchase it. It did not have any oder, and is an extremely comfy sleep. I can toss and turn, and not disturb my husband. It is a great value and provides excellent support . I highly recommend this mattress.

I never knew I could sleep so deep.

The first thing I would like to address is the smell some complain about. Yes there is a very slight odor when the packaging first comes off. It is not an unpleasent odor, just an odor. Once sheets were put on the bed I didn't smell anything but clean sheets. No issues regarding smell for me.

We came from a double pillow top, firm mattress from Denver Mattress. My wife slept fine on it but I woudl toss and turn most of the night. I have low back issues, so everytime I would turn over on our old bed, it hurt, causing me to toss and turn more. I never got deep sleep and woke up tired. It was a very good quality mattress however.

As far as our new Sleep Innovations mattress goes, I sleep very deeply. Very deeply. I wake up feeling refreshed and alive. I toss a few times just getting situated, but once I'm asleep, I stay asleep. I don't toss and turn at all. The bed cradles and supports me throughout the night. My wife, who weighs about 112 also sleeps very deeply throughout the night with no tossing and turning. She did not have problems with our old mattress like I did, but with this new mattress, she sleeps even better than before.

I never feel my wife get out of bed or return at night.

The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is I still wake up with the same back pain and stiffness as before. I guess I was expecting this mattress to be the magic pill that would get rid of all my back pain. But as I said before, I sleep very deep with no tossing and turning throughout the night.

I would highly recommend this bed to anyone looking to purchase a high quality, American made bed. It has made a huge positive difference in my sleep.

Compare Sleep Innovations With These Brands

Compare With Sapira Sleep

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Purple

Compare With Herobed

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Eight

Compare With Voila

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Lull

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Urban

Compare With Helix

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Layla

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Eve

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Casper

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Endy

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Sleep Science

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Select Comfort

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Spring Air

Compare With Symbol

Compare With Southerland

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Englander

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Denver

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Ikea

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Resort Sleep

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.