Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Tempurpedic
Get Up To 40% Off

Simmons vs. Tempurpedic

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Simmons Beautyrest

Simmons Beautyrest® is a very well known brand that has invested in big advertising over the past several years. They have worked closely with major mattress retailers for generations and offer popular in-store options. With a variety of designs like the Beautyrest Black and Silver lines, Beautyrest is a brand to consider for many. However, not all Beautyrest models are equal, with some of their models having reports of durability issues and their newer online-direct models potentially offering more value.

Tempurpedic

Tempur-Pedic is the memory foam mattress pioneer with a reputation for starting the memory foam mattress movement. It is a popular name brand mattress and part of the mattress powerhouse, Tempur-Sealy along with other name brands like Stearns and Foster. With a suite of offerings to fit nearly every sleeper (including a new mattress in a box) and exclusive online deals, there is a lot to be said for this popular brand.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tempurpedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tempurpedic

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.6/10
Tempurpedic: 9.0/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.5/10
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.5/10
Tempurpedic: 8.5/10

No Back Pain:
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.6/10
Tempurpedic: 9/10

Price:
Simmons Beautyrest: $599-$5799
Tempurpedic: $1699-$10198

Simmons Beautyrest:
Get Up To $1200 Off

Tempurpedic:
Get Up To 40% Off


Simmons Beautyrest's Owner Satisfaction

Simmons Beautyrest offers a wide array of mattress firmness options in multiple firmness options. Most customers like how their mattresses feel, but there are some disagreements when it comes to durability. This is especially true for their softer mattresses. If you are looking for longer term comfort, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses, which includes similar mattress builds that offer more value.


Simmons Beautyrest's Supportiveness

Support isn't the same as firmness. Excellent support means having a mattress that cradles your hips and shoulders to align you back. Overall, these mattresses get good reviews on support overall -- especially at first. These mattresses have a wide range of firmness options, so most customers can find something satisfying for them. However, having this support last is a problem for some sleepers.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of their beds, edge support is key. For most, these mattresses do a good job with edge support (especially the firmer options), but there were some disagreements for some softer and more affordable models.


Simmons Beautyrest's Durability

Unfortunately, not everyone rates thair mattresses well in terms of longevity. For those that are larger in body size, some customers reports that there is some sagging that can be experienced in the top comfort layers. Though some folks find this to be less of a problem, this could lead to long term discomfort for some.

Tempurpedic's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers like the feel of their Tempur-Pedic mattresses, which come in a many firmness and construction options. The biggest common disagreement is that some folks find Tempur-Pedic's pricepoints to be quite high compared to alternatives, and some reported feeling buyers remorse. If you are looking for more value for the price, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses, which includes similar mattress builds that offer more value.


Tempurpedic's Supportiveness

Having mattress support means having a healthy spine and comfort for the long term. Most sleepers report that these mattresses offer good support, but rarely some reviewers have complained about firmness and support.

Edge Support
Edge support is a very important factor for those looking for a great mattress and most experience these mattresses as having desirable edge support, especially the firmer mattresses. Most customers report that these mattresses do well on edge support, but some heavier folks may find the edge support less than ideal for them.


Tempurpedic's Durability

Finding a mattress that is long-living is key to shoppers. However, in an industry that sometimes focuses more on profits, it isn't always an easy thing to find. That said, based on the data from customers, materials, and craftsmanship, these mattresses are rated well for durability and should give sleepers over 5 years of comfort for most. But, some folks who are heavier may experience some loss of longevity.

Browse Simmons Beautyrest Customer Reviews

Five Stars
Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

This mattress felt great at first but after only 1 year started to ...
This mattress felt great at first but after only 1 year started to sag on both sides, leaving a "hill" in the middle.
Now we are having back problems and so are replacing it after only a little more than a year. This is a horrible investment,
don't make this mistake.

One Star
Way too soft!!

Mattress is ok for few years but when it does ...
Mattress is ok for few years but when it does go back, forget about the 10yrs warranty. Simmons will no honor it.. they will try to charge you as much or more for "upgrading the mattress" with no warranty on the replacement! I have filed complaints with BBB but they don't care.
Please file complaints if you have had any warranty issues so they are force to take of the customers!

Three Stars
Wished it was thicker

Steer clear of this mattress!
We just received this mattress today, and it is TERRIBLE! I am writing this review at 1:30am because I can't sleep on it. I have given up and am now lying on a foam topper placed on the bedroom floor, and I am much more comfortable here on the floor than I was in the bed.
The fabric on the mattress is stiff and of very low quality. This shouldn't be a problem because it's covered with a mattress pad and sheets anyway, but it still doesn't "give" for that plush feel. You sink into the mattress, which could be good, except you are met with hard springs and awful pressure points. My husband, a back sleeper, is already having terrible back pains after just a few hours. I'm a side-sleeper, and my shoulder and hip are killing me. I know they say a mattress needs time to settle, but I can't tolerate this bed for a few hours, much less a whole night. I will be returning this mattress.

On my 3rd replacement!
The cheapest made mattress we have ever purchased. I have now had 2 of these mattresses, the first was ripped and sagged in the middle right out of the package. They (nationwide retailer) replaced it with another and it is as bad, if not worse. It squeaks so bad and is so cheap. I paid over $1,300 for a king set and it is completely useless to us. It makes so much noise and racket every time you move. I will never buy anything with the Beautyrest name.

Four Stars
Met expectations

This is the Worst worst worst bed ever
This is the Worst worst worst bed ever!!!!!
The worst purchase we ever made. If you have back or hip issue potential, this bed will bring it out! I hate this miserable, awful bed!
If Stephen King were to write about a pain inflicting bed, this bed would be it!!!

Big item no problems !
Beautiful comfortable bed delivered thru Amazon just as easily as ordering a small item
Delivered fast and easily. We are quite happy. Excellent quality !

Five Stars
Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

Hills and valleys
Had this restored spirits five years.the last three years were hell. My husband wouldn’ Sleep on it. Contacted Simmons for inspection and replacement. No go. I have spent weeks reading reviews. I am sleeping on this any longer. Moved to guest room until I find new mattress. I will never buy another beauty rest.

A little too firm for me
Thought I ordered the plush mattress, but received the firm. Trying to adjust to this mattress. Good price and good quality.

Comfortable mattress that does not sag.
I could not be happier with the pillow top mattress that I recently purchased. The pillow top seems to help me sleep better and is better for me to sleep on since I have arthritis. The mattress fabric is of excellent quality.

Good mattress.
This mattress is nice and comfortable. Good deal. I picked this mattress out online. I've never bought a mattress online before. Fortunately, it worked out. Good choice.

This is a fabulous mattress
The mattress is nice and firm, pillow top just as I ordered. I was very surprised at the excellent quality of the mattress. Have got no response to the advertised gift card. It was supposedly mailed separately 2 weeks ago

Love, Love, Love this mattress.
I tried many mattresses in 4 different stores one Saturday and most were fine but as soon as I lay on this Simmons Beautyrest, something felt different. I walked around and tried a few more then came back to the Beautyrest. I knew it was the one - perfect pillow top yet firm as I like it. No more sleepless, tossing and turning nights!

Not for a person with a bad back
Purchased the Silver but only kept it 3 weeks. Was good the first week but by the second week started to break down. By the third week it was squishy and made my back worse. If you have a bad back don't buy a pillow top. They tell me now that I am returning the mattress. Penney's does not refund your money so am having to buy a different mattress. Originally told I had up to 100 days but that is no longer true, it is now 48 hours. Who can tell if a mattress is right for you in 48 hours. Wish I had not purchased my mattress from Penney's. Buyer beware.

Not what I expected
VERY DISAPPOINTED. NOT WHAT I EXPECTED. THIS QUEEN SIZE MATTRESS COULD NOT POSSIBLY BE WORTH APPROXIMATELY 1800.00(I DID NOT PAY THIS PRICE) BUT IT'S NOT WORTH THAT PRICE! JUST NOT SATISFIED. SEEMS CHEAP, NOT TOO COMFORTABLE. DOES NOT FEEL LIKE YOU'RE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD, NO WAY! I PURCHASED ONLINE, BIG MISTAKE! GO TO STORE PERSONALLY TO CHOOSE YOUR MATTRESS.

Excellent product, I just love the firmness!
I think this is an excellent mattress. The only thing was the delay in getting the mattress whic paritally was my fault since I ordered the wrong one at first. Oerall I am very pleased with it!

Great mattress
I thought it would be a little softer on the top but I still sleep great.

This product is not as firm as I expected.
This product is not as firm as I expected. I was hoping it would get better as i get used to with it but have not seen the result as of yet.

NOT AS FIRM AS I WOULD LIKE
It seems to be very well made; movement dampening is good. If you want something firm, this probably isn't what you want. I am a stomach sleeper and the plush doesn't really support the arch of your back.

Best Bed
This bed is very comfortable. It's like sleeping on a cloud. Great buy.

Not a good value
Mattress feels like its years old already with height changes that make it uncomfortable

the first 2 weeks has been great !
Most mattress start out great, the real test is over time. We hope it last years as it should with out sagging or breaking down

Great product, great value!
I love this mattress! Quality is great and the opportunity to use coupons and earn rewards is awesome! The company that delivered the mattress was great also.

This Mattress Is Better Than Advertised, It's So Comfortable!
I was looking for a firm mattress, and found it in this Simmons Beautyrest Silver Snowhaven Luxury Firm Mattress! It's A Five Star Rated Bed, That I Guarantee Will Give You A Five Star Night's Sleep!!

Not as hoped for
Problems with delivery, didn't get it until over a month after ordering even though we're home 4 days out of the week. After only a couple of months with the new mattress, it already has 2 slightly sunken spots where we lay, and we are not overweight people. I've heard that Simmons makes a better mattress if you are willing to pay a lot more, but this apparently isn't one of those.

Best sale price available at the time.
previous mattress was a Beautyrest plush king. Wanted a little more firmness but full firm was too much. The luxury firm was just right. Took a week or so to get used to the extra firmness but now we love it. Also, this mattress is nice and thick so it works well on a platform style frame without the need for box springs.

Wonderful Mattress!!!
For the first time in months I slept like a baby the very first night I got this mattress. Firm yet extremely comfortable. I just love it. I tried a Saatva brand luxury firm mattress and it was terrible. I had to come back to Beautyrest and I'm glad I did.

Very comfortable
The salesman was so easy to work with. And the delivery men were great.

Very comfortable bed
This is my first bed purchase without actually trying the specific bed first, I tried a few out at the local store and then saw this described online. I was nervous but the product is actually good. Only complaint is it took over two weeks for delivery

This mattress is great buy.
This mattress is great buy. I originally planned to get a tempur pedic. I then switched to a Stearns and Foster. In the end this was the best mattress at a great a price. It was more in my budget.

Nicely made mattress..perfect for a good nights sleep!
We finally chose this new mattress after much research. We were scared of so many choices available, but not a lot of positive reviews on most of them. With backaches every morning for my husband for awhile now, & now mine starting to hurt, we knew it was time to take the leap & buy a new one. I was shopping at Penney's for towels while my husband waited in car, when I seen the mattress sale. So I went & got him & made him lay on a few. He chose this one & the very first night he slept like a baby, & has ever since. We both wake up with no soreness already. It is a tall mattress & we bought a new box spring as well, so we have to slide down out of bed. But we love the height of it right now. And maybe as we get older we'll have to get a step on each side, or go with the standard bed frame. We have a lovely vintage oak bed with side rails, so both pieces had to sit on that. So it is tall now! So if you need lower, suggest buying just the mattress & sitting it on the plywood (as suggested for warranty)..I would still like both pieces even if I had the lower frame. So we love it & would recommend it. Pretty too! Love the navy blue sides.

Great Decision
It is so difficult to choose a mattress that you have confidence in, but this mattress is great! It is firm but well cushioned. It is also beautiful. The excellent delivery and set-up service is also appreciated. Virginia Jones

My daughter loved it!
My daughter loves her new mattress. She actually took her thousand stuffed animals off the bed so she could really enjoy it.

Great
This bed is very comfortable, I would recommend to anyone.

this product has simple and easy features
simple only need 1 no need for box spring and comfort is amazing .. fits to you.. feeling someone else kicking is very mim.

Delivered when quoted.
Price was great, had to wait on delivery, but received when quoted by very nice employees an they removed old one. Mattress is firm but must be covered by mattress cover for warranty i believe.

Browse Tempurpedic Customer Reviews

Heaven
Because my back is full of rods nuts and bolts, finding the right mattress wasn't looking like it was possible until I tried my Tempur-Pedic breeze. When your in pain, you tend to feel hot. Not only is this bed comfortable, I can always find that cool spot that helps with the pain. I had another adjustable bed, it was great, but after 15 years, it was time to replace it. I used to have to sleep with a pillow under my knees, no more. Whatever Tempur-Pedic has done, they've done it right. I'm grateful, I'm sleeping and wake up rested. Thank you

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Most comfortable and cool of the tempur-pedic
We previous had the Tempur-pedic rhapsody which we loved but. The new temper breeze is firmer and much cooler than the old version. We absolutely love it! No more back pain!

Disappointing
We are very disappointed with the comfort of our new bed. I believe that our old mattress was more comfortable.

Never will own anything else
We were hooked on tempur pedic from the first time!! Worth every penny, no other mattress will be in our home!!❤❤❤

JURY IS STILL OUT
While the bed definitely has helped with significantly reducing pain from my long standing back issues, it sleeps quite hot despite the fact I am using a Tempur Pedic mattress cover and sheets. It has also resulted in some shoulder and neck pain. I will give it a few more weeks.

Best Purchase ever !
I has owned a memory Foam temperpedic for 12 years This new Breeze Firm mattress compares to NONE ! I've ever tried ! It's not too firm it moves with you It's most comfortable mattress I have ever tried , and in almost month since purchase I have Better sleep , cooling affect has been excellent! Never feeling too warm ! The Firm is exactly what I needed and wanted ! Perfect Fit ! I also bought the cooling pillow ! It's remarkable ! I am so happy I splurged on myself and got both of these .. no more dips from the old mattress ! No more hot , mattress or pillow ! I have severe lumbar stenosis and My back has Actually stopped burning &aching ! I couldn't be more comfortable!

Comfortable from day 1
This is by far the best mattress I have ever slept on. No getting used to. It was comfortable from day one. I slept like a baby, something I have not experienced in a long time. The Pro-Breeze medium hybrid was the perfect choice for me. I have degenerative joint disease and recently had TKR surgery. I should have gotten one of these a long time ago. I highly recommend this mattress. I am also very happy with the service I received from mattress specialist Philip at the Carle Place NY store. He was very knowledgeable, patient and professional. Great shopping experience. Thanks Philip!

Wonderful mattress
We have had the queen size tempur-breeze pro hybrid for about 1 month and are very pleased with it. My wife was waking up with back pain and me with hip pain from our 15 year old firm inner spring mattress. The temple-breeze memory foam adjusts perfectly to our bodies. We are both side sleepers. We did not need a break in period and there was no odor, as others have complained about. The cooling aspect of the mattress is very unique from other memory foam mattresses and really does seem to draw the heat away from you body and keep the temperature cool. I do recommend if at all possible to buy from a tempurpedic store. The sales people are very knowledgeable and will recommend the best mattress for your sleeping position. They also have a much bigger selection to try out than other stores. When we purchased there was a President's Day sale and we saved $500 plus got a $300 credit we used against the cost of pillows and a mattress cover. The mattress was still expensive but when you consider how long you use one it is well worth the cost. I now look forward to a good night's sleep.

Awesome mattress and sheets
Love this mattress, we sleep much better and the sheets are a wonderful feet and soft like silk.

better sleep
our first tempur-pedic lasted for 17 yrs, great bed, made a mistake and went with a number bed on the next one. my wife and I hated if for 4 long yrs. now we have went back to a tempur-pedic and we love going to bed everyday now. lesson learned tempur-pedics' from now on.

Get LuxeBreeze not ProBreeze
ProBreeze was too hot aftt ty we about 1 hour. Exchanged it for LuxeBreeze 8•

Very Disappointed - Hot and uncomfortable
Wake up feeling like we slept on the floor. It's cool to the touch when you first lay down, but in the middle of the night it's hot just like all beds. Very disappointed that we spent twice as much for a regular mattress and it is so uncomfortable. Return policy is not customer friendly!

Awesome!
Went from a 7 yr old Serta I comfort to a tempur-pedic luxebreeze soft, and Wow what a difference, we absolutely love our bed. It has been so comfortable since day one.

Quality
A little hard getting used to, but am liking it better now and have been sleeping well. Think I'm going to like it.

My mattress is so comfortable
My mattress keeps me cooler just as instructed. The mattress is very comfortable

We love it!!!
We bought the bed when we moved to our new home, love it!!! My husband is able to sleep all night for the first time in months, and I love the feeling of the mattress meeting your body when you move!

Finally a bed that does what it promises!
Absolutely love my new mattress! We can move without pain or disturbing eachother, its completely silent. We sleep longer and awake refreshed. It truly has been a wonderful experience.

Comfort
This has been amazing from the start!!! Better nights rest equals better quality of life!!!

the most uncomfortable mattress Ive ever owned
I have had more back pain, cricks, and chiropractor visits since owning this mattress. Waste of money. You need support and this mattress does not do it. Take it from this doctor, this mattress is all hype.

Best night sleep ever
Simply the best night sleep I have ever had. I have not had such a deep sleep in such a long time. It truly is like sleeping on a cloud. I also got the the cloud pillow and no more stiff neck. The best investment. I got my queen size tempur breeze lux soft with adjustable frame October 2019 and have been sleeping better. Make the investment you will thank yourself many times over!! Do it now!

The cooling is amazing!
The mattress is unbelievably comfortable, but living in hot weather it is the cooling that has been a game changer for us. It has allowed us to get a much better night's sleep!

Hate this mattress
Hurts my shoulders. Nothing like the store sample, which was comfortable. Hate it!!!! Can't say "hate it" enough.

New purchase less than 3 days and It's okay
Bought for the cooling feature. Luxe Breeze soft- After applying the Tempur Mattress cover and a very thin sheet, the cooling is gone. I have slept for 2 days in this bed which is the most expensive mattress for a full king(no split) and I have woke up sweating throughout the night. I also have figured out that if the room is cool then there is no soft conforming of your body. You must have a warm room to make the mattress even barely soft. I purchased this because I am a hot sleeper and to take these night sweats away by at least 50%, so far I can't justify the money I've spent. I called the manufacturer and they advised that I must use a protector cover on the bed to protect my warranty but if I can't feel any cooler after applying the cover and a sheet then why should I keep this bed. I will update before the sleep trial to see if my thought has changed. The adjustable option is awesome, no so much so far on the mattress keeping me 8 degrees cooler.

Highly Satisfied
My wife and I knew that the Tempur-Pedic ProBreeze was the mattress that we were going to purchase from the moment that we laid on it. It's cool to the touch and provides comfortable support.

The best mattress I've ever owned
For the first few nights, I needed to adjust to the firmness, but now, I literally can't wait to get home from work, eat dinner, and get in that bed. The adjustable base makes it so comfortable to watch TV, and I've never slept better. Those little aches and pains that you wake up with are gone with this mattress. You may not even realize that you have these little pains, until you start sleeping on a TempurPedic. Within a week, you'll see a difference in how you feel in the morning. I love my bed. Thank you, TempurPedic!

Best bed ever. Like sleeping on a cloud
Firm, cool, perfect sleep regardless of the position. It's really a good night's rest

Finally found the perfect bed for me.
I'm 5' 11'' and 170lbs. This bed sleeps great on my stomach, back and side. I'm primarily a side sleeper and wake up much less and do not feel the need to toss and turn to relieve pressure points. I previously was trialing a 6k Intellibed that couldn't even come close to the support and pressure relief that this offers. Also, a little tip, I use a really low profile pillow on this because it allows my shoulders to get into the mattress more and align my spine better. My wife has the all foam version but I like the added support that the pocket coil system provides. I've watched and read so many different mattress reviews, and know more about mattresses than any regular person should. I can finally be done with that - this mattress is a keeper.

Best money we've ever spent!
For years my husband and I have both suffered from back pain and rarely are able to sleep through the night because of that pain. Since we got our new beds (we got two Twin XL's and separate adjustable bases), my husband, for the first time since I've known him, has slept LONGER than I have! He will sleep through my alarm and will sleep until after 7 am! For an army man and 1st shift worker, this is huge. We are both finally able to find comfort and sleep well. Additionally, we are both very warm sleepers and while it hasn't made a huge difference, this mattress is absolutely cooler than any other one we've ever owned. Every night since we've gotten our new beds, I've looked at him and said, "I LOVE THIS BED". I know the price can be intimidating, however, it is 100% worth it! If you are looking for comfort, Temper-Pedic is the way to go. Bite the bullet and spend the money. I promise, you will not regret it.

Best purchase
We were told it would take 120 days until it contoured to our bodies completely. It was a little strange the first few nights but it's been over a month now and I am starting to tell how much more better sleep I am getting, my body feels rested and not as sore, and I really love how much the bed doesn't shake my husband when I jump into bed! The only thing I do not care for is the protective cover for the mattress it came with. It feels like I am lying on paper. I finally took it off and it feels better without it. I also wish it came with king size pillows too.

Love it!!
This is our second Tempur-Pedic. Our first one lasted eight years, and they stood behind their full guarantee. We got another a Tempur-Pedic because we so enjoyed the first one. This one seems even better! Great company, great bed, and a good night of sleep!

Sleep
Love it. Sleep better from day 1.

Quality Sleep With Plush, Cool, Even Support
Purchasing a Tempur-Pedic mattress product was always in mind when a mattress replacement was due after my first experience on a Tempur-Pedic during a business conference hotel stay. We are extremely pleased with the cool, plush, even support of the LuxBreeze Soft mattress provides.

Not transformative for me
Although it is a little more comfortable than my previous mattress, I certainly do not find it a "transformative" or life-changing experience. I am two months into my 90 day trial and I am still considering returning it. I have wanted a Tempur-pedic bed for many years but could not afford it. so when I finally decided to take the plunge and spend the money, I was very excited to own one. However, in the end I am rather disappointed in the product.

Very comfortable
I love the adjustable head and foot sections.

Return Buyer.
We owned our first Tempur- Pedic bed for 15years. When it was time to get a new matters we recycled our old CA. King to a family in need. We then went out and bought a new XL Twin Split with adjustable base. This is a little slice of heaven after a long day. We can relax and unwind. The adjustable base is worth every penny. Some days I use it as a lounger just to relax. I'm not a huge fan of the message feature but the grand kids think it's cool.

A little bit of heaven!
I love this mattress. The comfort is out of this world. Well worth the price.

Great bed
We went from a soft bed to this I was like what did we do. We were like this thing is a brick. But after a few days it began to give for a great nights sleep. I am a big guy with 7 ruptured disc in my back and neck and usually toss and turn every 30 minutes at night and am now just turning 2 times a night and am sleeping great. I love the bed. Just give it a little while to break in.

Soft luxe breeze
First I purchased the firm option but found it way too firm woke up with body aches so I changed it to soft. What a difference ! I like a soft bed i upgraded from a icomfort savant medium . So glad I did

Probreeze bed and pillow
The bed is very comfortable and gives very good support. However, the pro breeze pillow is much too thick and was a total waste of money.

Our 5 year search is over.... Perfect Sleep is here!
For a little background, over the last 5 years, my wife and I have slept on virtually every high profile bed in a box out there. Casper, Purple, Helix, Yogabed, etc. We even bought an Intellibed. But we were unhappy with all of them. It's a bit embarrassing to admit, but we were sleeping on those because our previous Tempurpedic Rhapsody model began to break down after 7.5 years of loyal service. We left it at our old home which become a rental unit that was converted into a furnished rental. We thought we might try to replace it with a less expensive option like the ones listed above. Long story short, that was a terrible idea!!! We have been sleeping on our LUXEbreeze 8F cooler mattress for a month or two at this point and we both wonder what the heck is wrong with us that we didn't do this years ago! The Ergo adjustable base combined with our new mattress is just perfect. This is also the first time we've done the split King so we could each be in a different position and it was the perfect choice. She's 110lbs and I'm 200lbs so we have very different needs but this bed serves us both perfectly. I probably sound like a paid advertiser at this point, haha, but I assure you I am not. I'm simply a thoroughly satisfied customer who spent 7 years in the desert and rediscovered paradise, haha! It's certainly not the least expensive mattress out there, but it's undoubtedly the best.