Signature Sleep vs Symbol

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Signature Sleep

Signature Sleep provides a direct to consumer mattress through its online and retail partners. You can find their products on popular sites like Amazon, Walmart, Overstock, and more. Their claim to fame is affordability with many larger size mattresses selling for under $500. If you are on a really tight budget and need something temporary, you may be intrigued by this brand, but there have been reports about quality issues and durability problems with some of these mattresses.

Symbol

Symbol mattress company was founded in 1961, focused originally predominantly on commercial mattresses including mattresses for schools and health care facilities. Over the past few years, they have used their commercial backing to release consumer products through retailers in the Midwest, Northeast, and South Eastern U.S. They boast American made fabrics and manufacturing and use certified Certipur-US foam (which is low in volatile organic compounds) on some of their mattresses. Most customers like their mattresses at first, but there are some that experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Signature Sleep in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Signature Sleep


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Signature Sleep: 7.5/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Signature Sleep: 6.5/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

Price Value:
Signature Sleep: 7.5/10
Symbol: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Signature Sleep: 6.8/10
Symbol: 7.2/10

Price:
Signature Sleep: $79-$749
Symbol: $189-$1259

Signature Sleep:
Get Yours Now

Symbol:
Get Yours Now

Signature Sleep's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers felt very comfortable with their new mattress, but others couldn't get comfy. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Read on if you are considering buying for more information on the mattresses.

Signature Sleep's Supportiveness

Having quality support materials is essential to the comfort of a mattress and whether it enhances the natural curvature of the spine. According to most reviewers and customers, these mattresses are good at supporting sleepers. This means you can rest easy that it will help with keeping your back straight while you sleep.

Edge Support
Most sleepers say they are happy with the edge support of these mattresses. This means that you can sit on the edge of the bed or roll to the side and the mattress won't sink under your weight.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is popular for measuring firmness. Customers report that these mattresses offer a good consistent surface, which is ideal for those that are concerned about making the right choice.

Signature Sleep's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable as you would hope after buying. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you are search for longevity in a mattress and would consider yourself to have a larger body type, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but do some added reading of customer reviews before purchasing.

Symbol's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with some companies moderating reviews. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Make sure to read on to figure out if they will work for you.

Symbol's Supportiveness

Folks usually think that mattresses that are good at support are always firm, but when we write about support, we are describing mattresses that support the back independent of firmness. Most folks find this mattress supportive, but rarely, some customers are not always happy.

Edge Support
Most customers find that this mattress has good edge support, which what customers want who sit on the edge of the mattress or like to lie towards the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By using a bowling ball to measure firmness, you can find out if a mattress will be evenly supportive of the spine. These mattresses are above average in providing support, but if you have wide hips or shoulders, double check the firmness.

Symbol's Durability

In addition to having good support, having a mattress that really lasts is key for shoppers. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are considering buying for your main mattress, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Signature Sleep Customer Reviews

You Get What You Pay...Cheap is Cheap.

BUYER BEWARE! The reviews on this are highly inaccurate. I bought mine in the middle of April and am going to be very honest...this mattress does NOT live up to the hype. For the money, it's worth the buy but for the quality it's worth the wait if using all the time.

Good:
Mattress was delivered timely in a box and easily set itself up after we "opened" it.
Mattress was good to sleep on nightly for about 3 months.
Mattress is durable and handles dogs.

Bad:
Mattress had a funny smell(to be expected) for about 72 hours.
Mattress started to "lose" it's firmness and had a sinking feeling upon laying on it after 3 months.
Mattress is now the cause of many aches and pains.

Do buy this if you need a quest room mattress. Do NOT buy this if you plan on sleeping on it every night and need something semi-firm. If you like the soft sinking feeling, this could be a great buy. However, if you're like me and have lower back issues, do not buy this. As with anything, you pay for what you get. I didn't expect much out of a $300 mattress and I didn't get much. I gave it three stars because it's only worth three stars. This is NOT a 5 star buy unless you just need a guest room mattress.

The photo that I've attached is me pressing down with an outstretched hand and I am crouching so that none of my body weight is on top of it. The compression resulting is deep and shows the mattress is cheap.

View More Reviews

Browse Symbol Customer Reviews

Symbol Mattress

We purchased our queen matress about a year ago. Loved it at first but now its broke down in the center. The place where u bought it tells me its not in warranty since i didnt buy the box springs with it. WELL I WASNT INFORMED OF THAT WHEN U PURCHASED IT or i would have got the box springs. Now im out 600 dollors on a 5 year warranty mattress. I will tell everyome i know about this. My company i work for purchases all its matresses from these people for campers. NOT ANYMORE

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.