Shifman vs Tuck

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons
The Tuck Mattress was Discontinued in April 2018

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Tuck

Tuck is an eco-conscious mattress company that is well-known for using recycled materials in their mattresses. From their coils to their foam, Tuck has taken the route of sourcing its materials in a responsible way. In terms of comfort, Tuck produces one medium firmness hybrid mattress that they customize to you with their sleep quiz -- it is made with both micro-coils and heavier duty pocket coils as well as poly foam on the surface layer. Most customers find their mattress comfortable and a brand to consider.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tuck in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tuck


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Shifman: 7.6/10
Tuck: 8.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Shifman: 7.6/10
Tuck: 8.2/10

Price Value:
Shifman: 7.1/10
Tuck: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Shifman: 7.4/10
Tuck: 8.2/10

Price:
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783
Tuck: $600-$1200

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Tuck:
Get Yours Now

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering this brand, take a look below for more from customers Sadly, they don't get the best reception from all customers. Some were perfectly satisfied with their mattress, but others had complaints about their comfort.

Shifman's Supportiveness

Some are happy with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but others have described support issues. For those that are larger in frame or have tender spines, do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
There are some mixed reports about edge support for these mattresses. Some feel that there is evenness in support across the surface, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Shifman's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts 10 years or more, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible That said, it is much more difficult to find the right durable mattress nowadays. With the crazy amount of choices now, some companies are focused more on capturing mind-share and sacrificing quality. In terms of these mattresses, some sleepers report durability concerns. Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Tuck's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of which mattresses are best rated by sleepers is a difficult task. These mattresses are rated very well by customers based on our analysis. Even though you may not necessarily share the same love after buying, having a good reputation from customers is a great beginning for reading on further!

Tuck's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is the key to waking refreshed. You don't want something that is going to sink and cause your back to curve rather than straighten. Customers report that these mattresses support the spine well.

Edge Support
Edge support is one of the most important attributes for those that like sitting on the edge of the mattress. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular item among readers, the bowling ball test shows if a mattress is firm and how even is its supportiveness. If the mattress doesn't provide even support, some may find the mattress uncomfortable. Luckily, these mattresses offer good support across the mattress surface.

Tuck's Durability

If you have a mattress that remains comfortable for years, you could save thousands. It's one more great reason why durability is top of mind for mattress buyers. However, there are lots of brands that don't value the same thing. Even in spite of that, there are still some great brands that build good products. These mattresses have good durability for most sleepers overall. These mattresses do well for most sleepers for 7 - 12 years, but those with heavier builds may get slightly less time out of theirs.

Check the Prices For Tuck:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Tuck Customer Reviews

Knocked Out

I waited far too long to buy a new mattress, but the Tuck is incredible, my wife and I have never slept better!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.