Shifman vs Southerland

Get The Best May 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Shifman in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Shifman


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Shifman: 7.6/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Shifman: 7.6/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Shifman: 7.1/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Shifman: 7.4/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783
Southerland: $399-2399

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Read on below for more information from customers if you are interested in buying.

Shifman's Supportiveness

Support isn't one and the same as firmness. Deep support means the mattress aligns the back and spine. Sadly, these mattresses have some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most find the mattress to be comfortable at the beginning, but some customers didn't feel supported well over time.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. For most, these mattresses do a fine job with edge support at the beginning, but some may find that it changes over time.

Shifman's Durability

Unfortunately, not everyone rates thair mattresses well in terms of longevity. While some customers found them to be comfortable, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. Take a look at the specifications of the mattress, warranty, and return policies before buying if you are considering.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this one, do more research below to learn if this mattress will work for you. They, sadly, get some low reviews from customers. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Southerland's Supportiveness

There are some customers that don't feel that these mattresses do well supporting them. Though some folks agree with the comfort of these mattresses, if you have wide hips and shoulders, do some added research before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are hoping for impressive edge support, you may want to take a look at the reviews as these mattresses have mixed reviews about edge support.

Southerland's Durability

Mattresses that are very durable are great, but difficult to find. Sadly, sleepers don't rate these mattresses well when it comes to durability. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other mattresses may only last a couple years. If you are heavier in body type, you may want to do extra looking before buying.

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.