Serta vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers innerspring and hybrid mattresses and are common at many mattress big box and retail outlets. You have likely heard the brand name on the radio. Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time and offers both classic innerspring designs and innovative all-foam and hybrid mattresses. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $299-$3499
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a firm understanding of sleeper reviews can be a relief. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some report being comfy, but there are some who have had bad experiences. If you are considering buying, there are more details about mattress specifics below.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses are well supported, but some others have been dissatisfied. For those that are heavier or require more support because of achy backs, do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
There are mixed signals about edge support on these mattresses. Some have been happy with even support throughout the mattress, but others had issues with lumpiness.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

These mattresses may not perform as well long term. Some customers have had issues with feel and longevity issues after a short time. If you are looking for something with lasting support and would consider yourself plus-sized, you may feel good initial comfort, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Customers don't always feel good about these mattresses. Some sleepers were unhappy with the comfort, but others were really pleased. Therefore, it is more difficult to estimate if one of these will work perfectly for you. Continue looking on below to learn more if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A mattress that supports your body is what matters to a healthy spine. If your mattress doesn't support you well, you are not likely getting the kind of sleep that you could be getting from a mattress that aligns the spine. Overall, these mattresses offer good support, but some have issues with lasting comfort.

Edge Support
Most find the edge support that these mattresses provide to be good, which is good for those that enjoy sitting on the side of the mattress. There still may be some dipping for those that have larger body types.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Everyone wants a mattress that will last forever, and when instead our new mattress causes us pain after a year, this is the worst. That said, finding a mattress that is comfortable and durable is really hard these days. With more choices for us than ever, some brands aren't always investing in quality. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity Not every customer experiences durability problems, but do some extra reading to make sure that your choice works for your body.

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.