Serta vs Simmons

Get The Best June 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers innerspring and hybrid mattresses and are common at many mattress big box and retail outlets. You have likely heard the brand name on the radio. Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time and offers both classic innerspring designs and innovative all-foam and hybrid mattresses. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Simmons Beautyrest

Simmons Beautyrest is a very well known brand that has invested in big advertising over the past several years. They have worked closely with major mattress retailers for generations and offer popular in-store options. With a variety of designs like the Beautyrest Black and Recharge lines, Beautyrest is a brand to consider for many. However, with some mixed reviews for some models, we'll go into greater detail on what to know below.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Simmons Beautyrest in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Simmons Beautyrest


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.1/10

No Back Pain:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.2/10

Price:
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $299-$3499
Simmons Beautyrest: $799-$6999

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Simmons Beautyrest:
Get Yours Now

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

Both Serta and Beautyrest are owned by the same parent company, Serta-Simmons. While Beautyrest has gone more higher end over time, Serta's iComfort brand is price-competitive. Serta's iComfort, iSeries, and Perfect Sleeper brands get good reception from most customers, but some sleepers report having issues with durability and comfort over time. Though this is also true about Beautyrest, statistically Beautyrest is the more well-liked. If long term comfort is a priority, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses for strong alternatives.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

Serta has a variety of firmness levels and types of mattresses to choose from. Their iComfort mattresses are more foam focused, which may be less supportive for larger sleepers. Those looking for more support will do well with their models with coils.

Edge Support
For those that like the lay close to the side of their mattress or have mobility issues, even edge support is very important. These mattresses do well with edge support at first, but some found it didn't last as well as they would have hoped as some had issues with durability.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

In addition to being comfortable, having a durable mattress is what shoppers are after. We all wish our mattress will last a decade or more and still provide us with a comfy night sleep. Unfortunately, not all folks have had good things to say about these mattresses in regards to durability. If you are considering buying for nightly use, you may find firmness to degrade over time with some models. This is also a concern with Beautyrest.

Simmons Beautyrest's Owner Satisfaction

Against Serta, Beautyrest gets better scores overall. Their Beautyrest Black, Platinum, and Silver products get good reception from customers initially. However, they are quite expensive than many comparable mattresses and some customers reported having issues with long term comfort. If price value and long term comfort are important, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses for good alternatives.

Simmons Beautyrest's Supportiveness

Beautyrest mattresses come in a variety of firmness options and utilize pocketed coils to support the sleeper above. Depending on the firmness and price range of the Beautyrest you select, you may find the support to degrade over time. Though some customers are pleased with these mattresses, if you are larger or have wide hips or shoulders, take a look at the mattress specs before buying.

Edge Support
Firmer options have better edge support in these mattresses. Those that are looking for long-life edge support, some describe these mattresses having declining edge support.

Simmons Beautyrest's Durability

Although many found a good amount of comfort. Durability for the price is a difficulty for some. Unfortunately, some customers don't rate these mattresses well in terms of durability. That being said, some may provide comfort for years and years, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected.

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Simmons Beautyrest Customer Reviews

Five Stars

Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.