Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get The Best June 2024 Mattress Deals!
Unlock Today's Coupons

Sealy vs. Tuft And Needle

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sealy

Sealy is one of the most recognizable mattress brands in North America and globally. As a mid-grade brand of the Tempur-Sealy conglomerate, they are well-known for selling competitively priced options in a variety of designs, like all foam and spring. Sealy is intriguing, having adapted its brand from in-store only to also offering online choices. With many firmness options, most customers like their Sealy mattresses, but there are some durability complaints reported.

Tuft And Needle

Tuft & Needle made a big splash in the mattress industry when it offered one of the lowest cost all-foam mattresses in a box directly to customers, their T&N Original Mattress. Since then, they've elaborated on their initial concept with two more innovative designs: The Mint and The Hybrid, which provide high quality, superbly pressure-relieving offerings. On top of that, the Mint Mattress was recently upgraded to include antimicrobial protection embedded in its cover layer. With their three mattresses and 100,000s of positive reviews, customers have spoken in approval of T&N.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Tuft And Needle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Tuft And Needle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Price Value:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10
Tuft And Needle: 9.2/10

Price:
Sealy Posturepedic: $619-$5798
Tuft And Needle: $645-$1895

Sealy Posturepedic:
Buy Online: Get Best Deals

Tuft And Needle:
Get Yours Now


Sealy's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are happy with their mattresses, but others are not as happy and have had complaints about comfort. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.


Sealy's Supportiveness

There are mixed feelings from customers about the longevity of support of these mattresses. Though some folks agree with the comfort of these mattresses, if your body type is different than average, do some added dilligence before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that need longevity in their edge support., you may want to read more reviews as some are unsatisfied with the edge support.


Sealy's Durability

These mattresses may not last as long as you'd hope. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you are search for longevity in a mattress and would consider yourself to have a larger body type, these mattresses may feel good initially, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Tuft And Needle's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer reviews can be a powerful tool for shoppers. Customers, unfortunately, don't always enjoy these mattresses. Some are happy with the feel and comfort of their mattress, but others complain about how it feels for them. If you are considering purchasing, make sure to get more information below.


Tuft And Needle's Supportiveness

These mattresses aren't ideal for everyone in terms of their support. Though there are some that prefer the feel of these mattresses, others have had issues with alignment long term. If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, take a look at the specs to make sure it will work for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is essential to those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. Some folks, however, don't report it being as large of an issue for them. These mattresses are not as supportive overall, so if edge support is very important to you make sure to do some additional research.


Tuft And Needle's Durability

Longevity in comfort is essential for mattress shoppers. However, in an industry that sometimes focuses more on profits, it isn't always an easy thing to find. That said, based on the data from customers, materials, and craftsmanship, these mattresses are better than average when it comes to durability and will remain comfortable for over 5 years for most. But, some heavier in body type sleepers may find them to be slightly less durable.

Browse Sealy Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!
I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Good matress
Excelent matress, I wasn't sure to get it for my daughter since it didn't have any reviews but after a month of using it, she loves it, firm but comfortable; stays cool and no more joint pain.

Do not buy this !
We bought this mattress 2 3/4 years ago and I've been having chronic severe back pain for over a year. I had noticed that the bed definitely sinks in the middle when I lay on it and I'm a hundred and fifty pounds. We've only had this mattress for going on 2 years & 9 months. We loved it at first, until the past year. I didn't attribute my back pain to the mattress until I slept somewhere else and my back pain was considerably better. Everyday when I wake up after sleeping on this mattress my back hurts more than it does all day. My boyfriend has been sleeping in the basement on the couch because of his work shift for the past 4 months. When he sleeps on his mattress on the weekend he says his back hurts too. I just submitted a warranty claim, but have a bad feeling that I'm going to get the runaround from the reviews that I've read.

... of metal coil and 4 inches of foundation nothing like I was expecting a
This matress is inches of metal coil and 4 inches of foundation nothing like I was expecting at all

Sleeping Great
My old mattress was very soft, in comparison this one is a rock, but I don't wake with the same sore spots. I have arthritis through out my back, shoulders, hips, etc but I'm sleeping better with this Sealy.

1 year later and I would certainly buy this mattress again.

sweat factory!
Mattress is about 1yr 4m old and is terrible! It's well worn and sagging where I sleep and the amount of heat the 'cooling gel' holds in is ridiculous! I sweat all night long and wake up drenched. I wash the sheets almost every day now. I don't know what we were thinking when buying a foam mattress. When you squish foam it seals up all the holes in the foam eliminating it's availability to breathe! No brainier if we would have thought about it. Skip the foam it's not worth it!

Was worried that it was to good to be true
Was worried that it was to good to be true.not a single thing wrong with it and it's absolutely wonderful to sleep on.saved us over a thousand dollars.

Soft bed, very comfortable but not for me
I bought this bed from another place and thought I would give it another review to help others out. First off I'm a bigger guy who is a furnace in bed with lower back probIems. I spent a month in the bed to give it a chance but ultimately had to take it back. It was soft enough to be comfortable and fall asleep in easily. Around 3-4hrs in I would feel my back slowly be unsupported and I would bottom out to the foam base layer due to my weight and the heat I put off would cause it to soften. I noticed though before my back would be unsupported I would sleep deeper and easier. My fiance is a belly sleeper and the softening would cause her minor back aches but she had liked the softness and comfort too. The bed felt as warm or a bit warmer as a spring mattress with a topper on it but a lot less hotter than a memory foam without gel. There wasn't too much off gassing. Overall construction was good but felt like this was for a lighter, cooler person.

Pretty nice mattress
Love it so far.I've had it for a few days and wish i would have done it a bit sooner.maybe is just me coming off an old futon 😝 but it's definatly plush but still firm

TRASH!
If I could give this matress 0 stars I would. After one month I noticed a moldy smell around my bed, I pulled my matress cover to find the smell coming from all over the matress. It's not chemical, think mold dish sponge. It's also sinking by bout 1/2 an inch, I weigh 160 lbs, that's after 1 month.

You can assume that any good sealy review is a plant/fake review. sealy is a trash company that makes trash products. I'm out $550, have no bed to sleep on, and couldn't be more furious. BUYER BEWARE!

Wasn't intending to get a foam matress, but...
I am 6'3'' and weigh 220 pounds. I prefer a firm mattress and have only slept on box springs my whole life. I am a side sleeper exclusively. I went to 2 separate mattress retailers and laid on every mattress on their showroom floor. Both times I gravitated to this mattress. It is the most firm of the 3 Optimum model mattresses. I laid on all 4 of them as they were side-by-side. They got softer and more expensive as I went up the line. I've only had this mattress for a week, so my review is an early one. I had no intentions of getting a foam mattress when I went shopping. I was concerned about comments about them sleeping hot. This mattress does not sleep hot in any way shape or form. The salesmen explained to me that the initial Optimum mattresses didn't have enough cooling gel and they have added more and it has resolved that complaint. I concur. I haven't noticed any problem with sleeping hot. The biggest thing you will notice with a foam mattress is you won't feel any pressure points like a box spring. When I laid on any box spring, I would immediately notice a pressure point on my hip and my shoulder. I don't feel anything on the foam. I have slept just fine for the past week and no complaints of back pain or any pain in the AM. I am impressed so far. Will have to come back on in a few months or a year and comment on how well the mattress is wearing. I have also read comments about this mattress having a odor when delivered. The mattress and the box spring were both in plastic when the delivery people unpacked them and installed them in my bed frame. I didn't have any odor at all, so I'm not sure where that is coming from? I bought 2 of the Optimum pillows which I slept on before my mattress was delivered. They smelled a bit for a few days, but it gradually went away. I did not buy this mattress from Amazon, but decided I would comment on it here after I did buy it. These reviews of all kinds of mattresses are so frustrating. Who is commenting? The company that makes the mattress? The competing company? Disgruntled employees? I am just an ordinary consumer that needed to replace his 25 year old box spring mattress. I've owned 3 Sertas and a Beautyrest. This is my first Sealy. The salesman was telling me that several of these companies have bought out each other, so they are all about the same manufacturer now. I am pleased with my choice so far and recommend you go lay on this mattress if you prefer a firm one. This was the most firm of all the foam mattresses I laid on.

It is the worst purchase I have ever made in my life
I can't believe how much money I spent on this bed! It is the worst purchase I have ever made in my life! I have never had such severe back and hip pain when I wake up in the morning. Do not waste your money on this or Sealy's adjustable (head up only) frame! You can feel the space in the frame when your head is raised through the mattress…terrible!!! I recently spent two weeks away from home sleeping on a cheap mattress and felt so great in comparison to being back home sleeping on my expensive junk!!!

Has yet to get comfortable.
I've had this mattress for 8 months and it has yet to 'break in'. When we went to mattress store, we laid on all of them and ended up with this model. It felt perfect. For some reason, the one we got is like a brick. Both my partner and I are on the lean side, but still.

very disappointed
I bought this mattress on march 15 and the first 4 nights I loved it no back pain and very good support but then I started noticing that although the memory foam always went back to its original form the inner layers of non memory foam on the where getting softer and I no longer had a firm mattress. Im a stomach sleep and this mattress turned onto a nightmare I hated how soft it was and when I was watching tv my bottom would sink in all the way. I no longer have mid back pain like my inner spring but now my neck and shoulders hurt from the rest of me sinking and putting stress on my shoulders. The box spring on this matress is horrible it does not provide any support and the whole motion transfer thing was as advertised for the first week after that i could feel my husband moving. Not as much as an inner spring but not was it was when i first got it well to top it of on the first week of april I called the store where I got it and told them it was sinking and sure enough a tech came and siad it has sunk 3/4 of an inch in less then a month so they gave me the option of getting another one or one for greater or lesser value. I decided to get the tempurpedic contour select it was $1300 more but my parents had bought one a week before I got my sealy and the tempurpedic is still as great as the first day so I didnt wanna risk it with getting anything else. Now im sleeping like a baby and glad I could change it.

Worst Mattress with 10 year warranty Sales Tactics
reviewed on Dec 05, 2018 Purchased Sealy Posturepaedic from Harvey Norman, Warwick,QLD in March 2016. Within two years of use the mattress has sank in the middle, low enough to make uncomfortable even to just lie down rather sleep and cause body aches. Have rotated the mattress periodically as specified but just not durable even though the warranty is 10 years. The warranty terms and conditions doesnt justify for claims. 30 35mm sag is deemed to be normal in their terms. But given the width of the double mattress not much, that sag is substantial enough to cause issues to the body. They claim to use titanium springs for durability in their mattress. but having used for two years it has to be concluded that it is poorly engineered and the quality of their product is compromised for a rip off.

Sagging again!
Put he’s a queen size Sealy from Macy’s in ChicAgo burbs in late 2017. Paid about $1,200 tax and delivery. Started to sag really badly in the middle after 5 or 6 months. I called Macy’s to complain since it’s under warrenty. They sent a technician out to review and look mattress over. The tech measured the depth of the sagg and it was well over 2 inches in the middle. I’m 5’8” and weigh 175. This is a sealy brand but I don’t have a model number. It was on the softer side with a pillow top. My back and hips were sore every morning. Macy’s made good on the warranty and I chose the firmer model as the replacement. Well, 6 months later I’m laying in a huge gully or canyon again. I’m beginning to wonder if these Macy bought models are more low end then high end. Time to call them back and replace number 2.

Poor Customer Service
I will never buy another product from Sealy. I bought a Thermapedic Mattress made by Sealy from Rooms-To-Go. The adjustable base would not raise the mattress within two weeks of purchase. I was directed to Sealy through RTG customer service. The Sealy agent stated that the base needed resetting. She wanted me to go under the bed to get a box to reset the base. When I informed her that I was unable to go under the bed, she told that Sealy does not send repairmen to reset the box. She told me to call her back when I could find someone who could go under the bed. When I informed RTG of her response, a RTG repairman was sent He went under the bed and retrieved the box. He stated that the adjustable base was broken. Resetting the box would not have fixed the problem.

Noooooo
Horrible hard and very thin not even worth what I bought it for

POOR POOR POOR POOR DONT BUY IT
I got the mattress I was highly disappointed. To begin with its a 3 inch mattress. Not happy at all. This was the worse mistake ever. I returned the bed and mattress. Had to take a $125.00 restocking fee and a $50.00 re delivery fee. Plus the only way that I can trade it in was if I bought a new bed so I will take the loss this whole thing leaves a very sour taste in my mouth and I will take the loss the picture above is very misleading. do not buy this product

Uncomfortable mattress. Could never have imagined how terrible it is.
The mattress is so uncomfortable!! Ughhh! Hate it will not keep

Not as thick as it looks but still good
I ordered before the previous review but read said review before my order arrived. So I was not surprised when my order arrived and the mattress was thinner than I originally expected. It looks much thicker in the picture. The box spring is probably double the thickness. With saying that, it is still a good height if not on the ground. The mattress is quite firm but I still go right to sleep as soon as I lay down whereas that was not happening on my old mattress. I would reorder.

Mattress is NOT as pictured.
I ordered this mattress online. Cheap & cheerful... or so I thought. The mattress was delivered today, its smaller (in thickness) than the box springs. The image on this product is completely misleading. The mattress is probably 2-3 inches thick. Completely disappointing & extra frustrating.

Great choice.
Buying a mattress online is risky. However, if you are not physically able to get out and shop, you may have to do what you have to do. I bought this knowing I wanted a mattress with a plush top. I wanted it to be durable and strong enough to hold but when I laid down on it - it was soft for arthritic patients. I love this mattress. I look forward to going to bed and I don't wake up in pain from laying on a hard mattress.

Mattress to soft
The matteress is to soft. I should have ordered a firm

this is a great mattress. it has made my sleeping much better!
Great mattress equals many great nights of sleep! Plus the delivery service was great also.

for what I paid-definitly worth it.
liked how I got a good deal around presidents day.

Nice looking matteress
I had thought I had ordered a firm mattress but a plush pillow top was delivered. I was gone at the time it was delivered at my house, the old mattress & box springs were gone and the new this set was on the bed. So, it couldn't be returned.

To plush
I ordered this bed set on line with out trying it out big mistake. I'm sending it back, its like sleeping on a deflating air mattress. I woke up soar it's just way to soft for me.

Great sleep - Great savings!!
I saved a ton of money of my new Queen Sealy mattress and am now sleeping better than I ever did on one I spent double on!

Great buy
We bought this bed on sale and were not disappointed! This bed is amazing. It is definitely plush and not a firm mattress. The delivery service was outstanding too. They called us often to update us on a time and they were in and out and made sure everything was perfect.

I sleep very well on this Mattress
I sleep very good since I purchased this mattress !

THANK GOD
I have a bad leg and need surgery from a injury 40 some years ago while in the military and this mattress is a GOD sent for my back as well.

Thought this was a great bed
Me and my boyfriend purchased a new bed and we're surprised that after 6 months the quality is horrible the bed is already dented as if the bed was years old. I am very disappointed with the quality of this bed. I will have to do my research more thoroughly next time before I purchase a new bed.

I returned this because I ordered the wrong item
The mattress was as indicated, but I needed the firm pillow top so I returned that mattress and box spring and re-ordered the firm mattress only. It was for my guest room bed that has storage drawers, so when I received both pieces the bed was to high, you need to be 5'6' and up to be able to sit or get in the bed. (:

Excellent Mattress Set
I love this bed. Very comfortable. I would recommend this Bed to friends and family.

I really like this mattress.
My mattress arrived in the time frame that I was told it would come. It is a great mattress.

Amazing Mattress
This was a perfect purchase. Arrived on time, white glove service, and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Highly recommend!!

Too Soft
I would not recommend this set at all it is extremely too soft. It is so squishy that when I sit on the side of the bed to get out, I feel like I am trying to pick up my butt off the floor. It is not comfortable because there is no support.

Well made mattress in firm
I have a tender back and don't wish to sleep on a tender mattress. I found Sealy Essentials Holly Hills Firm Mattress paired with the special box springs saved my tossing and turning to into a great night's sleep. I feel refreshed when I wake up with no back pain or discomfort.

Excellentt value and quality
I purchased this mattress for a redecorated "kid's" room/home office. All of my grandchildren are teens now and the daybed no longer accommodated their growing bodies. I love the quality and value of this product. The mattress is firm, but comfortable, and is an extremely good value for the price.

Browse Tuft And Needle Customer Reviews

The upgrades to the Mint mattress
The upgrades to the Mint mattress addresses the few weaknesses of the standard T and N mattress. We have been extremely satisfied with both of them and have begun giving them to our kids

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

The comfort!
The comfort! I’m obsessed with my queen bed. I no longer have to try to fall asleep-it’s effortless!

ease
The ease of setup.

It's a very comfortable mattress
It's a very comfortable mattress. Soft with nice support.

The original mattress
The original mattress we purchased has exceeded my expectations. I have owned a big name foam matress before for twice the price. This matress meets and or exceeds that. Its nice to be sleeping well again. Easy to unbox, easy to sleep. Thank you!

Quality and comfort
Quality and comfort. They made a mattress that’s for the consumer at an affordable price. Best nights sleep I’ve had in along time!

Great product
Great product, fast delivery, easy purchase process.

The mattress is very comfortable
The mattress is very comfortable. However the mattress protector makes it seem more stiff and the jersey sheet son top of the protector makes that feel just as rough

Offer firmer mattress option
Offer firmer mattress option. Bring down prices of accessories like sheets and pillows.

They are all great quality
They are all great quality- from the mattresses to the sheets. I also love the simplicity of the product offerings. No one needs hundreds of options, just a few really great ones.

Nothing
Nothing!

The 100 day free trial
The 100 day free trial and the comfy but firm support and breathability of the mattress.

I just rarely recommend things
I just rarely recommend things. If it comes up, I will. The mattress is splendid.

Comfort
Comfort, quality and price are exceptional.

Great price
Great price and so comfortable

It’s neat
It’s neat and new!

Easy to order
Easy to order, fast delivery, easy to set up, well-priced, well rated by Consumer Reports (particularly like the top rating for long-term wear); but the best part is both my husband and I find it very comfortable. It feels firm, but is comfortable and there are no body stress points. A winner.

I’ve had back pain
I’ve had back pain ever since I got the OG mattress.

It is just perfect
It is just perfect. A good smooth, comfy but firm sleep. The mattress also stays cool. It is definitely just as good, probably better, than my old tempur pedic set. I am very happy with it. I initially had my reservations and thought I should get another tempur pedic set, even though the cost was so much greater. So glad I took a chance.

Very comfortable
Very comfortable and able to be assembled easily.

Ease of ordering
Ease of ordering, delivery and set up. Quality mattress. Love it.

Comfortable
Comfortable

I have already great products
I have already great products. I personally went from purple to tuft and needles

Unrolled into its seemingly full size
Unrolled into its seemingly full size immediately. All well wrapped to arrive pristine. A good night's sleep was available same day.

The comfort level is amazing
The comfort level is amazing. My sleep has been great. It feels soft and firm all at once. I am a side sleeper and it has made a huge difference for my hips. I have talked a coworker into buying one and my dad and stepmom. Plus I am buying one for my daughter!

Just the right amount of softness
Just the right amount of softness and support.

comfortable
Very comfortable

Excellent quality
Excellent quality with a great price. Free shipping and easy set up.

Quality
Quality

mattress
mattress quality is great.

great
The mattress was great from night 1!

Comfort
Comfort

Everything
Everything. It takes a little to get use to the change but after that it is awesome

Incredibly well packaged and presented
Incredibly well packaged and presented, very easy to assemble frame and support and best of all...the Mint was super comfortable from Day 1!

The mattress is very comfortable
The mattress is very comfortable and the foundation was easy to set up...

Comfortable mattress
Comfortable mattress. Getting in an out of bed with no noise, quiet mattress. Doesn't hurt side sleepers in the hips and shoulders.

The products are wonderful
The products are wonderful, it's the customer service that brings it all together and makes it special. As someone who is autistic and can get very easily overwhelmed the attention to care made such a difference for me.

Excellence quality
Excellence quality, fast delivery, great engineering of the mattress and platform, easy setup, attractive fabric covering, very comfortable.

I am warmer than I thought I would be
I am warmer than I thought I would be sleeping on the mattress. I also have a slight issue with feeling 'stuck' in a position. The height of the bed is also a bit too much, though I suppose it is more like the industry standard than what I had before. It is just that it barely fits in our bed frame, and if we had not bought the support box, it definitely would not have fit in our frame; we would have had to buy a new frame.

Comfort
Comfort and price