Sealy vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy is a common brand that you would see in a big box mattress store or warehouse outlet. Sealy is part of a publicly traded conglomerate, Tempursealy, who owns brands such as Tempur-Pedic and Stearns and Foster. With some competitively priced options, Sealy is an intriguing brand with many firmness and material options, but there are some durability complaints reported by some sleepers.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Sealy Posturepedic and Stearns And Foster in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Sealy Posturepedic: $599-$1399
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Sealy Posturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Sealy Posturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Sealy and Stearns & Foster are both owned by the Tempur-Sealy corporation. While Sealy focuses more on affordable mattresses, Stearns & Foster focuses on the luxury audience. When it comes to overall customer ratings, both brands get mixed reviews when it comes to lasting comfort. Due to this, Sealy's offerings may provide a better value due to their lower prices. If you are looking for long lasting comfort, take a look at our list of the best rated mattresses.

Sealy Posturepedic's Supportiveness

Sealy's Posturepedic technology focuses on zoned support for the spine, which provides support where you need it most -- the middle spine. However, customers report that the support is not always long lasting, which lead some to complain about sagging mattresses over a shorter than average duration.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportive resistance you get on the edge of the mattress and is important for anyone that likes to sit on the side of their bed. Although, many may find the edge support of Sealy mattresses to work for them, there are some mattresses that may provide less support along the edges -- especially in the memory foam line. Others may experience some issues with long lasting edge support.

Sealy Posturepedic's Durability

When it comes to Sealy's lines, they offer innerspring, memory foam, and pocketed coil hybrids. When it comes to durability, there are some complaints from customers. These generally surround degrading firmness in the support layers for some sleepers. Versus Stearns and Foster, these negative reviews are comparable.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Versus Sealy, Stearns and Foster mattresses provide a more pillowy feel to the top layer with the inclusion of pillow tops in many mattress options. Most customers like the feel of these mattresses at first, but there are many that had issues with durability and sagging issues. If you are looking for lasting comfort, take a look at our list of the best rated mattresses.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Versus Sealy, Stearns & Foster focuses more on softer comfort than more supportive options. Although their support systems will provide adequate cradling for the spine, the top comfort layers tend to be thicker. The Sealy brand, on the other hand, has more options for firmer support overall with their focus on their Posturepedic technology.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Unfortunately, customers don't always love the durability of these mattresses. Some of the reasons for this includes customers reporting sagging issues in the pillow top layers. For some, this can be difficult to adapt to and resolve.

Browse Sealy Posturepedic Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!

I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.