Sealy vs Simmons

Get The Best June 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy is a common brand that you would see in a big box mattress store or warehouse outlet. Sealy is part of a publicly traded conglomerate, Tempursealy, who owns brands such as Tempur-Pedic and Stearns and Foster. With some competitively priced options, Sealy is an intriguing brand with many firmness and material options, but there are some durability complaints reported by some sleepers.

Simmons Beautyrest

Simmons Beautyrest is a very well known brand that has invested in big advertising over the past several years. They have worked closely with major mattress retailers for generations and offer popular in-store options. With a variety of designs like the Beautyrest Black and Recharge lines, Beautyrest is a brand to consider for many. However, with some mixed reviews for some models, we'll go into greater detail on what to know below.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Simmons Beautyrest in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Simmons Beautyrest


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.1/10

No Back Pain:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.2/10

Price:
Sealy Posturepedic: $599-$1399
Simmons Beautyrest: $799-$6999

Sealy Posturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Simmons Beautyrest:
Get Yours Now

Sealy Posturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Sealy is one of the most well-known mattress brands in the world. Though they have a variety of firmness options and most customers find their mattresses comfortable initially, others are not as happy and have had complaints about their comfort -- specifically heat retention and durability in some mattresses. Against, Simmons Beautyrest, they focus more on the more price competitive market, while Beautyrest has more high end selection to choose from. If you are considering a Sealy, consider taking a look at the Cocoon By Sealy mattress, which is one of their best rated models.

Sealy Posturepedic's Supportiveness

Sealy offers a wide range of firmness options to choose from. While firmness is not always synonymous with support, much of Sealy's selection offers initial support for the right sleeper. Their Posturepedic brand has focused on zoned support, which elevates support in the middle spine. Sadly, some mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to the support lasting. Most folks are comfortable with the support right after purchase, but some folks felt like support was lacking over the long term.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses do well with edge support at first, but some may find degrading edge support over time for some models.

Sealy Posturepedic's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. Unfortunately, customers have mixed things to say about these mattresses when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research on the specific model before purchasing. Both Beautyrest and Sealy have issues with durability reported on some models in both their higher priced and cheaper models. If long term comfort is a priority, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses for competitive alternatives.

Simmons Beautyrest's Owner Satisfaction

Against Sealy, Beautyrest focuses more on the higher end market. Their Beautyrest Black products have been heavily advertised over the years and many cost more than $1000 to start. Overall, initial comfort ratings from customers do well, but not all customers give them good ratings when it comes to long term comfort, which is hard for some to stomach for the price. If you are interested in competitive alternatives, take a look at our list of top rated mattresses.

Simmons Beautyrest's Supportiveness

While both Sealy and Beautyrest provide multiple different firmness options, Beautyrest gets better supportiveness scores overall from sleepers. That said, there are still some disagreements for some. The most common is degrading support over time being a problem for some customers. For those that are larger in body size, make sure to do more research on before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, the firmer options will provide a good amount of edge support. Those that are looking for plusher options may find edge support lacking in those models.

Simmons Beautyrest's Durability

While the firmer options will do better at long term durability than the softer models, some wished for more durable mattresses in some circumstances. Firmer, more expensive options had better scores for longevity, but there were still some that disagreed with value in these models.

Browse Sealy Posturepedic Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!

I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

View More Reviews

Browse Simmons Beautyrest Customer Reviews

Five Stars

Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Puffy

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.