Get The Best October 2022 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Sealy vs. Serta

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy is one of the most recognizable mattress brands in North America and globally. As a mid-grade brand of the Tempur-Sealy conglomerate, they are well-known for selling competitively priced options in a variety of designs, like all foam and spring. Sealy is intriguing, having adapted its brand from in-store only to also offering online choices. With many firmness options, most like their Sealy mattresses, but there are some durability complaints reported.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers foam and coil mattresses and are common at many mattress mattress stores and big box retail locations. As a household name in the mattress industry, Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time. Their mattresses range from budget-friendly to higher in price and offer a variety of firmness options and cooling designs. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sealy Posturepedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sealy Posturepedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10

Price:
Sealy Posturepedic: $599-$1399
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $349-$4699

Sealy Posturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Sealy Posturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Sealy offers a wide range of mattress options, including all foam, innerspring, and pocketed coil type mattresses. Over the years, they have been most famous for their Posturepedic brand that focused on zoned support. However, over recent years, they have focused on budget-friendly options. In spite of them being a household name and having a wide selection of mattresses in different firmness types, there are many sleepers that have complaints about these mattresses. Some of the complaints have to do with sagging and initial comfort. If you are heart set on a name-brand mattress, consider Sealy's Cocoon mattress, which has transparent reviews and is better rated by customers than other Sealy mattresses.

Sealy Posturepedic's Supportiveness

Finding a supportive mattress can be a struggle. While Sealy has a selection of firmness options, even firm mattresses may degrade in support or not support the spine ergonomically. Sadly, Sealy's selection has some mixed reviews when it comes to support. Most find that they provide a good amount of support at the beginning, but some folks felt like support was lacking over the long term.

Edge Support
For those with mobility concerns or like to lay close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. Sealy has paid attention to edge support over time, but softer mattresses (especially foam options) may not be supportive enough along the edges for all sleepers.

Sealy Posturepedic's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts 10 years or more, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible. However, finding lasting comfort nowadays is a real challenge. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. When it comes to these mattresses, some sleepers had issues with durability on some mattresses -- generally the more affordable and softer varieties. Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but if your focus is long term comfort, consider taking a look at our list of top rated mattresses for competitive alternatives.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

Alike to Sealy, Serta offers a wide selection of mattress types. Their iComfort brand is one of the most popular, with layers of gel and memory foam layers. While many folks were very pleased with their mattresses at first, others had issues with getting comfortable. Disagreements ranged from those that had heat retention and firmness issues to durability problems. Against Sealy, both have significant complaints.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

In terms of providing comfortable support for everyone, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some feel like the mattresses provide good comfort, but others didn't feel comfortable while they slept. If you have a wider or heavier frame than average, support may be an issue over time. Though, Serta does a good job providing a range of firmness options, some found that supoort degraded over time.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important item for anyone that likes to lounge on the side of their mattress or has mobility concerns. Serta has focused on edge support in their mattresses and many find them to be comfortable, but some customers have found these mattresses to not be entirely supportive. This is more widely reported on their all-foam varieties.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

Though many feel comfortable at first, some sleepers found these mattresses not to be as durable over the long term. Some sleepers have had problems with feel and durability over a shorter than average time. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing. If long term comfort is an essential, consider taking a look at our list of top rated mattress for competitive alternatives.

Browse Sealy Posturepedic Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!

I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

View More Reviews

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.