Saatva vs Serta

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Saatva

Saatva has innovated over time with their mattresses. Their original Saatva mattress is one of the best mattresses in a box for those looking for a traditional innerspring mattress feel. With an edge on quality, Saatva decided to invest in better coil technology to provide sleepers with a more comfy traditional mattress, but one shipped in a box to pass on more savings to customers. Over the years, they have innovated further, with a competitive number bed, called Solaire and a mattress for larger sleepers, called the Saatva HD.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers innerspring and hybrid mattresses and are common at many mattress big box and retail outlets. You have likely heard the brand name on the radio. Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time and offers both classic innerspring designs and innovative all-foam and hybrid mattresses. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Saatva in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Saatva

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Saatva: 9.4/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Saatva: 9.4/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Saatva: 9.3/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Saatva: 9.3/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10

Price:
Saatva: $599-$1499
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $299-$3499

Saatva:
Get Yours Now

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Saatva's Owner Satisfaction

Customers are highly satisfied with these mattresses over others, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. This is a solid starting point to discovering if this mattress will work for you -- read on for more information on specifics.

Saatva's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the most important thing to maintain a healthy back while you sleep. You don't want something that is going to sink and cause your back to curve rather than straighten. Reviewers describe these mattresses as well supportive.

Edge Support
For those folks that like to sit or lie close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses are good at edge support and don't feel much different than in the center of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among reviewers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing if a mattress is firm and its evenness of support. If a mattress isn't even in its support, some may experience some issues with the mattress. However, these mattresses do a good job providing even support for sleepers.

Saatva's Durability

It isn't simple to find a great product that will last a decade or more under constant use. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts forever if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still great products to be found. These mattresses, for example, get high marks from customers on quality and durability. Most folks will have them last between 7 - 12 years, though those who are of heavier builds may experience them faltering sooner.

Check the Prices For Saatva:   Get Today's Prices

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

Discovering how folks really feel about a certain mattress is sometimes a hard thing -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers versus competitors. There are still folks that love their mattresses, but there are many others with complaints. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

Some of the customers don't feel that the mattresses support them well enough. Though there are some that find these mattresses good for them, if you are larger or have wide hips or shoulders, make sure that your choice fits with your body before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are looking for quality and long-life edge support, some customers report that these mattresses don't work for them on edge support.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

In addition to being well supported, having a long lasting mattress is what shoppers are looking for. We are all hopeful to find a mattress that would be just as comfortable day one as it is 10 years from now. Unfortunately, not all folks have had good things to say about these mattresses in regards to durability. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Saatva Customer Reviews

Superb Luxury Mattress And Excellent Service Make The Saatva a Best Bet!

When I left a 35 year career as Creative Director for a major Advertising Agency my timing was perfect - the economy collapsed. I took a job with a major mattress chain creating campaigns to promote certain models.

During this period I visited a number of mattress manufacturers and was amazed that the same mattress meant to sell at a retail point of let's say $2,000 would by a simple change of the name and damask become a mattress set for an optimum price point of $800. This is why it's impossible for the consumer to comparison shop. If you find a mattress you like called "The Cloud" the store you're in is the only store that carries that mattress with that name.

Right down the street that very same mattress may be selling for as much as 50% more or less - the selling of mattresses is unfortunately a shady business and the consumer suffers from it.

I'll caveat the following by saying I am a research fanatic. It's in my blood and it drives most friends and family crazy - I am unrelenting and I go over board. That said when my better half and I realized that neither of us were getting a decent nights sleep, with the exception for our two Old English Bulldogs who could doze off on a bed of nails. I was handed my orders to find a mattress and the search began.

During a web search I found the Saatva site and book marked it along with the dozen others I had saved. When I finally read through the web site I was struck by two thing:.

1) The site is brimming with valuable information. There is virtually no what we call in advertising "fluff" or "weasel words" it's the best education about mattresses you'll find.

2) Claims by Saatva are backed up with facts. spec by spec, apples to apples. In fact there is a comparison chart between the Saatva mattress and other high end mattresses. As an example one comparison of the Saatva at $899 shows that the Saatva actually surpasses an equivalent Kings Down Mattress which has an MSRP of over three grand.

I drove them crazy with endless telephone calls and I'm surprised the company didn't take out a restraining order against me. What I found time and time again is that each person I spoke with knew the product inside and out. If I had questions about the coil system, the foam densities, the gauge of the springs they were answered. The few times there was a question that couldn't be answered ( because no normal person would ask these questions) but that's not me. I would be transferred to someone who could.

Never once was I pressured to buy. There is no "one time deal if you buy today" Pressure what so ever. Saatva means "Truth" and that's exactly what you get.

Now about the mattress!

We purchased the King Size Luxury Firm it was delivered with lightning speed and the plastic wrapping is beyond protective - it's closer to a Hazmat suit. When the mattress was placed in our bed frame - my spouse and I were both struck by how absolutely gorgeous it is. Quality touches abound. From the iron clad strong handles, to the intricate braiding on the sides. The deep tufted upholstered buttons make for an elegant and incredibly comfortable surface.

The Damask is pure 100% natural cotton both gorgeous in look and feel and the Damask ensures the mattress breathes. As far as support and comfort the Saatva mattress is brilliant. We haven't slept this well, this deeply and woken feeling this good in years, and that's a fact.
If you're still reading this novel and aren't comatose by this time, I applaud you. I promise to wrap this up in a minimum of 300 more pages.

The common thread between everyone at Saatva is passion.

Saatva promises silver but delivers gold and few mattress sellers, if any can make that claim. There is no single piece of furniture in the world that has such a profound effect on our health and well being. Our Saatva is the best investment we have made in years - and it's Bulldog Approved!

Highest Recommendation

View More Reviews

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.