Restonic vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Restonic

Restonic is a classic mattress brand, founded in the 1930s. Over the past eighty years, they have been focused on offering a competitive product in the retail mattress space for a solid price. They offer hybrid, innerspring, memory foam, and latex mattresses and boast rewards from multiple independent associations including Consumers Digest Award and Women's Choice award. They also take a different tactic than many with reviews and showcase uncurated independent reviews on their Facebook account and website.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Restonic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Restonic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Restonic: 8.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Restonic: 8.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Restonic: 8.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Restonic: 8.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Restonic: $575-$2099
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Restonic:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Restonic's Owner Satisfaction

Reading online reviews and getting a sense of how people feel is a great way to figure out if a company is going to be a good fit for you. Reviewers overall have positive things to say about these mattresses, but there were a few that didn't vote as highly. Do some looking below into the mattress specifications to see if it will work for you.

Restonic's Supportiveness

Mattress support is very important for keeping things comfortable at night. These mattresses are above average in supportiveness across all sleepers. It is important for those that have restless night sleeps from achy backs. Most reviewers report that these mattresses are supportive overall.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of how much support there is along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses are well rated on their edge support, but some folks may notice more sinking along the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test provides a good measurements of mattress firmness. It is also great for figuring out if there is supportive evenness or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses will give a good amount of evenness of support.

Restonic's Durability

Getting a durable mattress is essential to shoppers, but some brands are not as focused on it as they should be. That said, these mattresses are better than average when it comes to durability. Most customers are happy with their mattress after 5 years, but some who use their mattress more than average will find that it doesn't last as long.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers report feeling comfy, but others reported discomfort with their mattresses. Despite those that are cozy, this means that these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Read on below for more information from customers if you are interested in buying.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Support in mattresses is deeply important to spine health and deep sleep. If your matttress isn't as supportive as it should be, a mattress that properly supports you could mean deepers sleep and a happier you. These mattresses offered good support at first, but some had issues with comfort over the long term.

Edge Support
These mattresses offer good edge support, which is good for those that enjoy sitting on the side of the mattress. There still may be some dipping for those that have larger body types.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Finding a mattress with long lasting comfort is awesome, but difficult. Sadly, customers are not always pleased with the durability of these mattresses. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you are a heavier person, make sure to do some extra research before buying.

Browse Restonic Customer Reviews

Going for (and achieving) 'best of both worlds' between latex and memory foam. A revolution over conventional innersprings.

Man - half a year or so ago, I made the switch from my old innerspring Queen mattress to a new King memory foam mattress. The differences were staggering -- vastly superior comfort, quietness, no back pain, and I could enter / exit the bed without awakening my girlfriend when she was sleeping over.

I recently got the opportunity to review this, which I consider to be a 'hybrid' memory / latex foam mattress, and find it has a number of benefits over a conventional all-memory foam mattress, but a couple small drawbacks as well. Bottom line, I'm immensely happy with this mattress and consider it an upgrade over my older memory foam.

ADVANTAGES:
+ this mattress has superior comfort to an innerspring mattress. While it's a slightly firmer overall to my softer memory foam, I find this a plus. A pure memory foam mattress can allow you to sink so low that it's almost a challenge at times to change positions
+ to put it bluntly , the extra support and added bounciness make this mattress WAY better for sex. A pure memory foam is comfortable sleeping but can be too soft and allow sinking when you're on your knees / elbows, etc. The latex / memory foam hybrid design means you don't sink way down when you're on your knees during sex. This is a nice design upgrade
+ I find this mattress to be nice a cool sleeping, though my memory foam was as well
+ less unpleasant smell during the initial expansion phase vs. memory foam
+ the packing on this was superb. The box was well-sealed and the mattress itself was securely rolled in heavy duty vaccum-sealed plastic. This made it a lot easier to wrestle around vs. my memory foam, which was vacuum-sealed as well, but in weaker plastic. The tarp it was in had busted and so had the box -- so I appreciate the secure packing of my Brio mattress

DISADVANTAGES:
- this mattress is more expensive than generic brand memory foam mattresses
- it feels a bit heavier as well, making it heavier to move
- being just a bit firmer than an all-memory foam mattress, there's just a touch more motion transference. While it is worlds better than a conventional innerspring, you don't get that total motion isolation afforded by an all-memory foam mattress

CONCLUSION:
If you're looking to upgrade from a conventional innerspring mattress, I think the Restonic Brio is a good choice for you. You get the coolness, support, and slight springiness of latex with the 'sleeping on a cloud' feeling of memory foam. The Restonic's added support makes it superior for sex - which, while not the primary purpose for a mattress, is still worth considering. It's heavier and more awkward to move than memory foam (and both are more awkward than a conventional mattress) but I honestly find the comfort benefits to be well worth the tradeoff. This is a solidly constructed mattress, MADE IN THE USA, that combines a number of modern technologies to provide a superior sleeping experience. If you've never tried a modern foam mattress -- go test one (find a friend or a store). If you like the experience, then consider buying the Brio Restonic. As an owner of conventional, memory foam, and now the Restonic mattress, I can safely say that they've really got a 'best of all worlds' design with this mattress. 5 stars!

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.