Purple vs Wolf

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Purple

Purple® mattresses are taking the industry by storm with their super lightweight polymer that is purple. It uses 'smart grid' technology to keep things cool and relieve joint and pressure point pain. Overall, they run a bit less firm than other memory foam mattresses and are rated in the medium firmness range, which is great for side sleepers. Some folks love the feel of this mattress, though there are others that prefer a more traditional feel.

Wolf

Wolf is the oldest mattress manufacturer under continuous family ownership in the United States. They are also famous for being the original licensee of the 'Serta' brand for their Serta fouton. They have kept up with the times though with relationships with major discount retailers like JCPenney and Sears. Additionally, they have made in roads to the online space and ship their mattresses in boxes with companies like Amazon and Overstock. They are generally comfortable, but some had issues with customer service and the warranty.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Purple in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Purple

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Purple: 9.1/10
Wolf: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Purple: 9/10
Wolf: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Purple: 9.1/10
Wolf: 7.9/10

No Back Pain:
Purple: 9/10
Wolf: 7.6/10

Price:
Purple: $699-$1299
Wolf: $359-$1460

Purple:
Get Yours Now

Wolf:
Get Yours Now

Purple's Owner Satisfaction

With brands investing in managing online reputation, it's difficult for the average shopper to get to the truth of customer satisfaction. That said, customers report feeling comfortable with these mattresses overall. However, there were some who didn't appreciate the feel. so keep reading below to check your body type with the specifications of this mattress!

Purple's Supportiveness

Reviewers describe these mattresses as being supportive overall. Though some folks doen't like the firmness of these mattresses, the majority of folks feel like there is the right amount of support for their bodies.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that like sitting on the side of the mattress or like to use the side of their mattress. Customers report that these mattresses have decent edge support overall and they should be able to support most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many mattress reviewers and bloggers use bowling balls to measure firmness and support. These mattresses provide above average evenness in support across the surface, which means they should do well elevating your body comfortably.

Purple's Durability

In terms of durability, these mattresses are quite competitive versus the competition. Finding a durable mattress can mean years of comfy nights. while one that quickly falters can mean immediate discomfort. For most sleepers, these mattresses will last between 7 - 12 years on average, which is good for contemporary mattresses. Those that are heavier in body type may experience a slighy decrease in longevity.

Wolf's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers are happy with their mattresses, but others are not as happy and have had complaints about comfort. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information.

Wolf's Supportiveness

In terms of lasting support, these mattresses have mixed reviews. Some folks have described them as supportive and report sleeping soundly throughout the night, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you are heavier than average, these mattresses may not work 100% for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress without discomfort. Some may not find these mattresses to be evenly supportive along the sides and may dip more than usual.

Wolf's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. Over a shorter than average time period, some sleepers have had issues with durability and feel. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Browse Purple Customer Reviews

Excellent - Jonah

I read and watched multiple reviews and was a little skeptical about if this mattress would be a good fit for me. I decided to give it a try, and am so happy with my decision. I have only been able to sleep on it a few nights, so I can't speak to long term satisfaction, but just the feel of the mattress is so unique and comfortable. Every time I pass by my bed now, I can't help but flop on it and lay there for a few minutes. If you are on the fence about trying the mattress, I would say go for it for sure. The only disadvantage that I've noticed so far is that it is near impossible to get out of bed in the morning. I was a few minutes late to work the last few mornings because I did not want to leave my bed. When I was reading all the reviews, I heard that purple fluffs up their review page to make their mattress look better. After trying this mattress, I do not believe that is true. I believe that people genuinely love the product and want to share it with other people. I am not typically one to go out of my way to write a review, but this product is incredible so I felt compelled to do so. Obviously everyone is different so you may not have the same experience I have had, but if you are on the fence and looking for a great mattress, give Purple a try.

View More Reviews

Browse Wolf Customer Reviews

Fantastic nights sleep on my new mattress!

What a bargain! Wish I could have found such a great mattress and fantastic price a year ago. I would have bought it immediately. I aired out the mattress for 48 hours, set it up on my bed and what a wonderful restful nights sleep I had. If you want a great nights sleep check out the mattress I just bought!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.