Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Puffy
Get $1350 In Savings

Puffy vs. Simmons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Puffy

Puffy is an online mattress brand that makes four mattresses: The Puffy Cloud Mattress, The Puffy Lux Mattress, The Puffy Royal Mattress, and The Puffy Monarch Mattress. Each of these offer a highly rated, pressure-relieving feel that is making a splash in the mattress in a box industry. Folks find Puffy's mattresses more plush than many other options, which is great for those with a lighter body type. With a goal of providing a balanced, fluffy feel for less than in-store and a lineup that includes both all-foam and hybrid designs, Puffy is worth a second look!

Simmons Beautyrest

Simmons Beautyrest® is a very well known brand that has invested in big advertising over the past several years. They have worked closely with major mattress retailers for generations and offer popular in-store options. With a variety of designs like the Beautyrest Black and Silver lines, Beautyrest is a brand to consider for many. However, not all Beautyrest models are equal, with some of their models having reports of durability issues and their newer online-direct models potentially offering more value.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Puffy in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Puffy

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Puffy: 9.4/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Puffy: 9.4/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.5/10

Price Value:
Puffy: 9.4/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.5/10

No Back Pain:
Puffy: 9.4/10
Simmons Beautyrest: 8.6/10

Price:
Puffy: $1949-$6698
Simmons Beautyrest: $599-$5799

Puffy:
Get $1350 In Savings

Simmons Beautyrest:
Get Up To $1200 Off


Puffy's Owner Satisfaction

Everyone wants to get to the bottom of which mattresses are best rated, but it isn't easy from just browsing online. Based on recent and overall customer reviews online, these mattresses rank very well on customer satisfaction. Although you may not experience the same excitement after buying, it is a good starting place to do research into their offering.


Puffy's Supportiveness

Having mattress support is important to having a healthy night sleep. These mattresses perform above average in terms of support. This is important if you are suffering from lack of support currently. Most customers respond that these mattresses provide proper support.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much resistance there is along the sides of the mattress. Customers report that these mattresses have good edge support overall, but some customers may notice more contouring along the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is good at measuring mattress firmness. It also is good for those that want to discover if a mattress has even support or if there are peaks and valleys in a mattress. Overall, these mattresses will offer an evenness across the sleeping surface.


Puffy's Durability

Durability, along with being comfortable, is the most important factor to customers buying a new mattress. Getting 7 to 12 years out of your mattress is good in terms of durability. That said, mattress craftsmanship and sleeper body weight can affect durability as well. Customers rate these highly for durability. There are some customers who are heavier that may find a slight decrease in durability.

Simmons Beautyrest's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some have comfortable experiences, but others have issues. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.


Simmons Beautyrest's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses don't provide the kind of support they expect. Though most find these mattresses comfortable initally, if you have wide hips and shoulders, make sure to read the reviews before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, some reviewers report that these mattresses may not have the kind of edge support over the long term that you may need.


Simmons Beautyrest's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when our mattress is instead something crummy that causes us pain after only a year, this is the worst. However, finding lasting comfort nowadays is a real challenge. With more choices than ever, many companies are sacrificing quality to make a quick dollar. When it comes to these mattresses, some sleepers had issues with durability. It doesn't mean that durability issues will happen to you if you buy one of these, but make sure to read up on the warranty and return policies before buying.

Browse Puffy Customer Reviews

No more back pain
No bounce. Very comfortable. Had some minor back pain with the old mattress and now it's gone!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Soft & Firm
This Puffy is just the perfect amount of soft & firm and we can't stop loving it.

Great price, great support
After 2 weeks of having the Puffy mattress, I can say that is has been nothing but pure pleasure sleeping on it at nights. It took us couple nights to adjust from a spring type to a memory type but now there is no way I will ever sleep on a spring one again. I feel it slightly adjusting to my body and protecting my pressure points. In my opinion is on the firmer side and that's why I like it so much. My last mattress was on the softer side and after 6 months it started to get deformed. We have been very happy with our mattress so far.

I sleep much better because of this mattress.
Wonderful quality mattress! Never expected it to be this nice right out of the box.

5 stars
Arrived at our door quickly. No strong odor out of the box and it expanded within minutes so we even slept on it that very same night even though they say it fully expands in 24-48 hours.

Delivery was on time
Recommend it! I have to give it up to Puffy for having not only a perfect mattress for my wife and kids, but also having a customer service team that will go out of their way to help us out. For some reason FedEx was not updating the tracking information for 2 days, so I called in and the service team member helped us track it down a assured us that we will be getting the mattress.

Way better than my $4k mattress
WOW Great Price. Very nice cover and overall cloud design. We literally saved a few thousand dollars on this mattress, we made the purchase for the King 2 months ago so I had time to check it out before writing something on here. My wife and I both agree that Puffy has very good body support that does allow and sagging into the bed. I used to move around a lot at nights causing my wife to wake up so that problem is solved. I move around a lot less now and when I do she says she doesn't feel anything and sleeps through he night.

Mary
So far so good with our Puffy Mattress

Cooler nights
My old mattress was a heat magnet. My fav thing about this new mattress is that it does not trap heat like my old Temper Pedic did. I would definitely recommend this mattress especially for the price, it is a great one.

Buy One. NOW.
This mattress is the bomb. It's literally the best ever. Highly recommend it to any and everyone. I like soft mattresses and my wife likes firm ones and we're both ecstatic about it. She's also 36+ weeks pregnant and sleeps like a newborn on it. Plus, it was cheaper than our last brand new mattress from Mattress Firm. Go get one!

Wonderful
We were sceptical to purchase a mattress that we had not only never heard of but also never tried out, but this proved to be a great risk to take. The mattress is as described, very supportive without feeling like a very firm mattress. We had been sleeping on a Sleep Number bed for 15+ years so needed to renew the bed. We had only considered another Sleep Number bed (because we had heard that it was the best out there)until my husband did some reseach into what had been voted as the most comfortable bed by consumers and thats when he found out about the Puffy. Now we have changed our opinion and will definitly by the Puffy mattress for the other beds in the house as they need changing. We would highly recommend this mattress.

Like the feel
like the feel of the mattress however, i'm not quite convinced. I am having back issues, not sure if they are due to having a foam mattress, new mattress or just not a right fit for me.

Puffy is awesome
Love it very comfortable easy to put together!!

Good mattress. Pleased so far
Good mattress. Pleased so far

wonderful!!!!!!
wonderful!!!!!!

Haven’t slept this good in
Haven’t slept this good in a long time. Makes it hard to get up for work in the morning.

My wife and I love
My wife and I love it.

Great top quality mattress
My daughter says the best sleep she has ever had.

Sleeping through the night
I had called myself a light sleeper pre-Puffy. I am now sleeping through the night and feeling great’

Puffy purchase
WOW! We Love our new puffy mattress

Love it
It’s soft but holds you firmly. I love it. It helps my back and hip pain.

Great Purchase
I wanted to wait a couple of weeks before I sent my review. The purchase and shipping were great, arrived in 4 days to my front door:) my lowered back feels better that it has in years. I sleep soundly through most of the night and I like that I don't disturb anyone when I roll around etc!

And then I wake up
I've had my Puffy Mattress for about 1 week. I'm still getting used to it. All I can say is I go to bed about 11ish then my alarm sounds at 6 am. By day 3, I did not wake up exhausted and stiff. I'm sleeping through the night. I love it.

The cloud is King
I just recently moved and took a chance on purchasing 2 queen size Puffy mattresses based on reviews. I am so happy I did for as the name implies, its like sleeping on a cloud. Very very comfortable and no more back pain. Thank you Puffy. Ron Ret USN Submarines

Like sleeping on a cloud
I’m in love with this mattress - it’s like sleeping on a cloud. It’s not too firm or too soft, it’s just right and makes you feel very light.

Puffy is Perfect!
My husband and I both love the new Puffy mattress we ordered. No complaints from either of us. I am sleeping so much better!

Love this mattress, so far, so good
We've had our bed for less then a month and so far it has been a great mattress. I've been sleeping very solid, not waking up in the middle of the night. The whole experience has been great. Thank you!

Love Love Love it! Super
Love Love Love it! Super comfortable on my hips. Stays cool to sleep. Finally sleeping thru the night again. Highly recommend giving this mattress a try.

Puffy Save
This mattress saved my back. The pain I woke up with every morning was gone after the first night of sleep on this mattress. Now I’m waking up earlier feeling more rested.

Awesome!
Very comfortable. We love it!

Larry
This mattress is a great one we really like it!

Puff Full Size memory form
Went from 5 hours a night to easily 8 hours of good sleep within 3 days after I got it.

Recently Purchased Puffy Mattress
Two words: LIFE CHANGING!

Finally
My 3rd mattress. No need to break it in. Which some mattress company's say you need to do. Comfy from the start. I started to wonder If I would ever find a mattress that would help my aches and pains. It's all good. We're happy

Very good quality
We’ve only had our Puffy mattress for about a week, but so far so good!! It is quite firm but very supportive. We like a little softness on the top of our mattress and since you don’t get that with any memory foam mattress, we added a fiberbed mattress pad on top. The mattress is very good quality.

Great mattress
Best night sleep in years. Quick and easy ordering and FAST shipping. Highly recommend

extremely comfortable.
great for my shoulders and hip pains. would highly recommend.

Mattress is comfortable
I think the mattress is very comfortable, my neck pain has completely disappeared. However I am a back sleeper and I can't sleep very well due to getting extremely hot and sweaty. Hopefully this will get better cause it's very difficult to get any sleep when you feel so hot/cold. I also Love that we can get in and out of bed without disturbing each other. Its amazing. Our old bed squeeked and bounced when one of us even moved or adjusted.

So far so good it
So far so good it has only been 1 week

Fantastic don’t hesitate
Wow you can rest assured this is a quality investment you will be telling your friends and family about

Browse Simmons Beautyrest Customer Reviews

Five Stars
Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

This mattress felt great at first but after only 1 year started to ...
This mattress felt great at first but after only 1 year started to sag on both sides, leaving a "hill" in the middle.
Now we are having back problems and so are replacing it after only a little more than a year. This is a horrible investment,
don't make this mistake.

One Star
Way too soft!!

Mattress is ok for few years but when it does ...
Mattress is ok for few years but when it does go back, forget about the 10yrs warranty. Simmons will no honor it.. they will try to charge you as much or more for "upgrading the mattress" with no warranty on the replacement! I have filed complaints with BBB but they don't care.
Please file complaints if you have had any warranty issues so they are force to take of the customers!

Three Stars
Wished it was thicker

Steer clear of this mattress!
We just received this mattress today, and it is TERRIBLE! I am writing this review at 1:30am because I can't sleep on it. I have given up and am now lying on a foam topper placed on the bedroom floor, and I am much more comfortable here on the floor than I was in the bed.
The fabric on the mattress is stiff and of very low quality. This shouldn't be a problem because it's covered with a mattress pad and sheets anyway, but it still doesn't "give" for that plush feel. You sink into the mattress, which could be good, except you are met with hard springs and awful pressure points. My husband, a back sleeper, is already having terrible back pains after just a few hours. I'm a side-sleeper, and my shoulder and hip are killing me. I know they say a mattress needs time to settle, but I can't tolerate this bed for a few hours, much less a whole night. I will be returning this mattress.

On my 3rd replacement!
The cheapest made mattress we have ever purchased. I have now had 2 of these mattresses, the first was ripped and sagged in the middle right out of the package. They (nationwide retailer) replaced it with another and it is as bad, if not worse. It squeaks so bad and is so cheap. I paid over $1,300 for a king set and it is completely useless to us. It makes so much noise and racket every time you move. I will never buy anything with the Beautyrest name.

Four Stars
Met expectations

This is the Worst worst worst bed ever
This is the Worst worst worst bed ever!!!!!
The worst purchase we ever made. If you have back or hip issue potential, this bed will bring it out! I hate this miserable, awful bed!
If Stephen King were to write about a pain inflicting bed, this bed would be it!!!

Big item no problems !
Beautiful comfortable bed delivered thru Amazon just as easily as ordering a small item
Delivered fast and easily. We are quite happy. Excellent quality !

Five Stars
Outstanding mattress at an unbeatable price. Mattress Firm wanted $1k for the same exact mattress!

Hills and valleys
Had this restored spirits five years.the last three years were hell. My husband wouldn’ Sleep on it. Contacted Simmons for inspection and replacement. No go. I have spent weeks reading reviews. I am sleeping on this any longer. Moved to guest room until I find new mattress. I will never buy another beauty rest.

A little too firm for me
Thought I ordered the plush mattress, but received the firm. Trying to adjust to this mattress. Good price and good quality.

Comfortable mattress that does not sag.
I could not be happier with the pillow top mattress that I recently purchased. The pillow top seems to help me sleep better and is better for me to sleep on since I have arthritis. The mattress fabric is of excellent quality.

Good mattress.
This mattress is nice and comfortable. Good deal. I picked this mattress out online. I've never bought a mattress online before. Fortunately, it worked out. Good choice.

This is a fabulous mattress
The mattress is nice and firm, pillow top just as I ordered. I was very surprised at the excellent quality of the mattress. Have got no response to the advertised gift card. It was supposedly mailed separately 2 weeks ago

Love, Love, Love this mattress.
I tried many mattresses in 4 different stores one Saturday and most were fine but as soon as I lay on this Simmons Beautyrest, something felt different. I walked around and tried a few more then came back to the Beautyrest. I knew it was the one - perfect pillow top yet firm as I like it. No more sleepless, tossing and turning nights!

Not for a person with a bad back
Purchased the Silver but only kept it 3 weeks. Was good the first week but by the second week started to break down. By the third week it was squishy and made my back worse. If you have a bad back don't buy a pillow top. They tell me now that I am returning the mattress. Penney's does not refund your money so am having to buy a different mattress. Originally told I had up to 100 days but that is no longer true, it is now 48 hours. Who can tell if a mattress is right for you in 48 hours. Wish I had not purchased my mattress from Penney's. Buyer beware.

Not what I expected
VERY DISAPPOINTED. NOT WHAT I EXPECTED. THIS QUEEN SIZE MATTRESS COULD NOT POSSIBLY BE WORTH APPROXIMATELY 1800.00(I DID NOT PAY THIS PRICE) BUT IT'S NOT WORTH THAT PRICE! JUST NOT SATISFIED. SEEMS CHEAP, NOT TOO COMFORTABLE. DOES NOT FEEL LIKE YOU'RE SLEEPING ON A CLOUD, NO WAY! I PURCHASED ONLINE, BIG MISTAKE! GO TO STORE PERSONALLY TO CHOOSE YOUR MATTRESS.

Excellent product, I just love the firmness!
I think this is an excellent mattress. The only thing was the delay in getting the mattress whic paritally was my fault since I ordered the wrong one at first. Oerall I am very pleased with it!

Great mattress
I thought it would be a little softer on the top but I still sleep great.

This product is not as firm as I expected.
This product is not as firm as I expected. I was hoping it would get better as i get used to with it but have not seen the result as of yet.

NOT AS FIRM AS I WOULD LIKE
It seems to be very well made; movement dampening is good. If you want something firm, this probably isn't what you want. I am a stomach sleeper and the plush doesn't really support the arch of your back.

Best Bed
This bed is very comfortable. It's like sleeping on a cloud. Great buy.

Not a good value
Mattress feels like its years old already with height changes that make it uncomfortable

the first 2 weeks has been great !
Most mattress start out great, the real test is over time. We hope it last years as it should with out sagging or breaking down

Great product, great value!
I love this mattress! Quality is great and the opportunity to use coupons and earn rewards is awesome! The company that delivered the mattress was great also.

This Mattress Is Better Than Advertised, It's So Comfortable!
I was looking for a firm mattress, and found it in this Simmons Beautyrest Silver Snowhaven Luxury Firm Mattress! It's A Five Star Rated Bed, That I Guarantee Will Give You A Five Star Night's Sleep!!

Not as hoped for
Problems with delivery, didn't get it until over a month after ordering even though we're home 4 days out of the week. After only a couple of months with the new mattress, it already has 2 slightly sunken spots where we lay, and we are not overweight people. I've heard that Simmons makes a better mattress if you are willing to pay a lot more, but this apparently isn't one of those.

Best sale price available at the time.
previous mattress was a Beautyrest plush king. Wanted a little more firmness but full firm was too much. The luxury firm was just right. Took a week or so to get used to the extra firmness but now we love it. Also, this mattress is nice and thick so it works well on a platform style frame without the need for box springs.

Wonderful Mattress!!!
For the first time in months I slept like a baby the very first night I got this mattress. Firm yet extremely comfortable. I just love it. I tried a Saatva brand luxury firm mattress and it was terrible. I had to come back to Beautyrest and I'm glad I did.

Very comfortable
The salesman was so easy to work with. And the delivery men were great.

Very comfortable bed
This is my first bed purchase without actually trying the specific bed first, I tried a few out at the local store and then saw this described online. I was nervous but the product is actually good. Only complaint is it took over two weeks for delivery

This mattress is great buy.
This mattress is great buy. I originally planned to get a tempur pedic. I then switched to a Stearns and Foster. In the end this was the best mattress at a great a price. It was more in my budget.

Nicely made mattress..perfect for a good nights sleep!
We finally chose this new mattress after much research. We were scared of so many choices available, but not a lot of positive reviews on most of them. With backaches every morning for my husband for awhile now, & now mine starting to hurt, we knew it was time to take the leap & buy a new one. I was shopping at Penney's for towels while my husband waited in car, when I seen the mattress sale. So I went & got him & made him lay on a few. He chose this one & the very first night he slept like a baby, & has ever since. We both wake up with no soreness already. It is a tall mattress & we bought a new box spring as well, so we have to slide down out of bed. But we love the height of it right now. And maybe as we get older we'll have to get a step on each side, or go with the standard bed frame. We have a lovely vintage oak bed with side rails, so both pieces had to sit on that. So it is tall now! So if you need lower, suggest buying just the mattress & sitting it on the plywood (as suggested for warranty)..I would still like both pieces even if I had the lower frame. So we love it & would recommend it. Pretty too! Love the navy blue sides.

Great Decision
It is so difficult to choose a mattress that you have confidence in, but this mattress is great! It is firm but well cushioned. It is also beautiful. The excellent delivery and set-up service is also appreciated. Virginia Jones

My daughter loved it!
My daughter loves her new mattress. She actually took her thousand stuffed animals off the bed so she could really enjoy it.

Great
This bed is very comfortable, I would recommend to anyone.

this product has simple and easy features
simple only need 1 no need for box spring and comfort is amazing .. fits to you.. feeling someone else kicking is very mim.

Delivered when quoted.
Price was great, had to wait on delivery, but received when quoted by very nice employees an they removed old one. Mattress is firm but must be covered by mattress cover for warranty i believe.