Ortho vs Zinus

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ortho

Ortho mattress is a southern Californian mattress retailer that sells their own brand of mattresses along with name brands like Serta and Tempur-Pedic. Their mattresses are made predominantly for the budget conscious shopper and come in either innerspring, hybrid, or memory foam options. Most folks like their Ortho mattresses, but some have had issues with durability.

Zinus

Zinus has been in the furniture game since 1979, selling extremely affordable furniture. They have used that experience to craft a solid Consumer Affairs accreditation and also online customer experience. They make three different mattress lines -- iCoil®, Green Tea Memory Foam, and Gel Memory foam varieties, all of which are extremely low-cost, which can be a big draw with customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zinus in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zinus


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Zinus: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Zinus: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Ortho: 7.4/10
Zinus: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Zinus: 6.5/10

Price:
Ortho: $149-$2539
Zinus: $100-$499

Ortho:
Get Yours Now

Zinus:
Get Yours Now

Ortho's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Customers, sadly, don't always have positive remarks about these mattresses. Some have comfortable experiences, but others have issues. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

Ortho's Supportiveness

Support isn't the same as firmness. Deep support means the mattress aligns the back and spine. Unfortunately, these mattresses aren't the best in terms of support. Most find the mattress to be comfortable at the beginning, but some customers described feeling less supported as time went on.

Edge Support
For folks that sit or lay on the edge of their mattress, edge support is essential. These mattresses do a good job at edge support initially, but some had complaints that edge support wasn't all it could be long term.

Ortho's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. Sadly, not everyone has experienced great durability with these mattresses specifically. If you are considering buying for nightly use, read the reviews to make sure it will work with your body before buying.

Zinus's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are content with their beds, but others are not as pleased overall. Even though there are those that like these mattresses, overall they have lower customer satisfaction than average. Read on if you are considering buying for more information on the mattresses.

Zinus's Supportiveness

Everyone needs a mattress that properly supports them. Even if you like a mattress that isn't super firm, a bed that gives you a healthy spine is what we're all looking for. These mattresses do well with support over much of the competition.

Edge Support
Some mattress connoisseurs report that edge support is a key for the mattress shopper. These mattresses do well in that category, which means there is comfortable resistance on the sides of the mattress giving more sleeping area.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a fun test to measure the firmness of the mattress and it does well measuring even support. These mattresses offer good evenness throughout the sleeping surface to help with better spine alignment.

Zinus's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable can save you loads of money. But, as companies focus more on making money, everything from clothes to bedding degrades faster. These mattresses get mixed reviews from customers on durability. Mattresses affect everyone differently and some felt happy with the long term comfort, but others were not so sure. Make sure to read more about these before purchasing.

Check the Prices For Zinus:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Ortho Customer Reviews

Great experience buying a mattress

Great experience buying a mattress. Knowledgeable, helpful, and not sales-y at all. There's a huge selection, but Johnny was able to help us narrow it down quickly based on our preferences and needs. Prices are reasonable (especially when you buy when there's a deal going on). We made our purchase at the end of the day, and the mattress was delivered (free) the next day without a hitch. Highly recommend!

View More Reviews

Browse Zinus Customer Reviews

Very cozy!

I've been sleeping on this for about 2 weeks now, and I'm kicking myself for not buying sooner! Very cozy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.