Ortho vs Southerland

Get The Best March 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ortho

Ortho mattress is a southern Californian mattress retailer that sells their own brand of mattresses along with name brands like Serta and Tempur-Pedic. Their mattresses are made predominantly for the budget conscious shopper and come in either innerspring, hybrid, or memory foam options. Most folks like their Ortho mattresses, but some have had issues with durability.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ortho in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Ortho


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Ortho: 7.4/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Ortho: $149-$2539
Southerland: $399-2399

Ortho:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Ortho's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Even though some folks appreciate these mattresses, they have lower customer satisfaction that average overall. Below you will find more information from customers on the specifics from these mattresses.

Ortho's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses may leave something to be desired in terms of lasting support. Though there are some that prefer the feel of these mattresses, some have had issues with lasting alignment. If you are considering these mattresess, make sure to take a look further before buying.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Ortho's Durability

Sadly, not everyone rates these mattresses well for longevity. While some have experienced good performance, others describe having issues faster than average. If you are considering, make sure to read more reviews and go over the return policies before you buy.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer reviews can be a relief when digging through all the noise when shopping for a mattress. Unfortunately, sleepers don't always feel great about these mattresses. Some feel cozy and comfortable, but others don't feel that way. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Some customers describe feeling good support in these mattresses, but others have had complaints about the support lasting. For those that are sensitive to support because of health reasons, do some added research to ensure the mattress fits your body.

Edge Support
There are some mixed reports about edge support for these mattresses. Some reviewers feel good about the support equalibrium across the mattress, but others felt like there was unevenness.

Southerland's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts 10 years or more, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. That said, finding a durable mattress nowadays is really hard. With more choices than ever, many companies are sacrificing quality to make a quick dollar. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Browse Ortho Customer Reviews

Great experience buying a mattress

Great experience buying a mattress. Knowledgeable, helpful, and not sales-y at all. There's a huge selection, but Johnny was able to help us narrow it down quickly based on our preferences and needs. Prices are reasonable (especially when you buy when there's a deal going on). We made our purchase at the end of the day, and the mattress was delivered (free) the next day without a hitch. Highly recommend!

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.