Ortho vs Shifman

Get The Best May 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ortho

Ortho mattress is a southern Californian mattress retailer that sells their own brand of mattresses along with name brands like Serta and Tempur-Pedic. Their mattresses are made predominantly for the budget conscious shopper and come in either innerspring, hybrid, or memory foam options. Most folks like their Ortho mattresses, but some have had issues with durability.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Shifman in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Shifman


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Ortho: 7.4/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Ortho: 7.3/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Ortho: $149-$2539
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Ortho:
Get Yours Now

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Ortho's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering this brand, take a look below for more from customers They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some customers were elated by their selection, but others felt let-down overall.

Ortho's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some have described them as supportive and report being comfortable, but others didn't feel comfortable while they slept. If you would describe yourself as plus-sized, you may want to do additional research to make sure these mattresses will work for you

Edge Support
Edge support is an important item for anyone that likes to lounge on the side of their mattress or has mobility concerns. Some folks may find these mattresses to not provide adequate edge support for them.

Ortho's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresse are not always rated well for durability. While some folks describes them as comfortable for them, others had faster problems than average. Make sure to do some extra research on the reviews and specifications before buying.

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers felt very comfortable with their new mattress, but others couldn't get comfy. Despite those that are happy with their selection, this brand has lower satisfaction scores than average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Shifman's Supportiveness

Some customers report that these mattresses don't provide the kind of support they expect. Though there are some that find these mattresses good for them, if you have a wide frame or shoulders, make sure to read the reviews before buying.

Edge Support
For those that are excited about getting good edge support, some report that these mattresses don't have the best edge support.

Shifman's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. That said, some mattresses may last a significant time without problems, while other mattresses may only last a couple years. If you are a bigger person, make sure to take a look at all of your options.

Browse Ortho Customer Reviews

Great experience buying a mattress

Great experience buying a mattress. Knowledgeable, helpful, and not sales-y at all. There's a huge selection, but Johnny was able to help us narrow it down quickly based on our preferences and needs. Prices are reasonable (especially when you buy when there's a deal going on). We made our purchase at the end of the day, and the mattress was delivered (free) the next day without a hitch. Highly recommend!

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.