Original Mattress Factory Mattress Reviews

Get Black Friday 2018 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Original Mattress Factory

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

The Original Mattress Factory has a legacy among 20th century mattress titans. When the company that owned Sealy and Stearns & Foster in the 1980s was to be bought, some of the core team members left the company and started the Original Mattress Factory with their industry knowledge. Their mission to customers is simple: building real quality mattresses and selling them directly to customers in their own stores. Dig in deeper to learn if they deliver on that promise.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.7/10

Price Value: 7.8/10

No Back Pain: 7.8/10

Price: $199-$2549

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Original Mattress Factory's Specifics

Quality of Materials

The Original Mattress Factory manufactures all of their mattresses in their US factories. Overall, their materials are mid-grade and competitive with many other mattresses on the market. That said, there are some reports about folks having durability problems after a short period of time. This could be due more to quality control issues, so you may or may not experience this yourself.

The pros: Their mattresses are made with mid-grade materials in their US factories.

The cons: Some have experienced durability issues over a shorter period of time than average so if you have a larger body type, make sure to do more research.

Top Alternative: Dreamcloud, The #1 Rated Luxury Mattress
Limited Time: Get $200 Off

Mattress Types

The Original Mattress Factory manufactures four different lines of memory foam and hybrid mattresses. They also have a custom line for those that are looking for something that is more specific for them. We'll go through each of their mattress lines in depth below.

Classic Line

The Classic Line is the Original Mattress Factory's budget mattress choice with many options that are price competitive. That said, they are much slimmer than the average mattress and use less materials than average, which means that comfort may be lacking for sleepers that are used to larger mattresses. Their options include the Classic One, Classic, Classic Luxury Firm, Classic EuroTop, and Classic Plush. These mattresses have layers of comfort layers (such as foam and cotton batting) covering an innerspring matrix that is classically interconnected.

The pros: Price competitive mattress options that sleep cool and come in a variety of firmness options.

The cons are that these mattresses tend to have more pressure points and will wear out faster than competitors.

Price Range: $129-$809

Final Score: 7.5 / 10

Regency Line

The Regency series is similar to the Classic line, but with more comfort layers on top and a higher profile. The options are the Regency Sapphire and the Regency Sapphire EuroTop. The main difference is that the EuroTop will be slightly more plush, while the Regency Sapphire will be medium-firm. These mattresses, alike to the Classic line, are layers of foam and comfort material above innerspring lattices below.

The pros: Mid-grade innerspring options with a good blend of comfort layers.

The cons: Not many firmness options and some had durability issues.

Price Range: $319-$969

Final Score: 7.6 / 10

Orthopedic Line

The Orthopedic line comes with some exciting additions. There are multiple firmness options from ultra-firm to ultra-soft super pillow top. Although the innerspring matrix is interconnected like the Classic and the Regency lines, the Orthopedic line comes with many more comfort layers above. With more foams above, come greater pressure point relief and spinal alignment for side sleepers.

The pros: Many more options for sleepers.

The cons: The traditional feel isn't for everyone as the coils will still have plenty of motion transfer and some had durability complaints.

Price Range: $359-$1839

Final Score: 7.9 / 10

Serenity Line

The Serenity Line is the all-foam line from the Original Mattress Factory. These mattresses come in medium, soft (plush), and firm (latex) options. Each come with 10.5'' of mattress profile with multiple layers of foam. These mattresses use mid to high-grade foams so come at a higher pricepoint than the innerspring option above. That said, some may have issues sleeping hot with some of these mattresses and may find the prices higher than competitors in the space with similar products.

The pros: Multiple firmness options for all-foam mattress varieties.

The cons: There may be cheaper options for similar quality.

Price Range: $1109-$2519

Final Score: 7.9 / 10

Browse Original Mattress Factory Customer Reviews

Very happy with our experience here.

Very happy with our experience here. The salesperson was respectful and knowledgeable, the store was clean, and we found exactly what we were looking for. I came in with a battery of questions for the salesperson, and he was very thorough with all his answers. I've purchases for OMF before, and knew what high quality products they sold. My partner has not. She was blown away by all the information laid on her. Amish craftsmanship in the framework, honest about what materials are used in the mattress (as compared with other retailers), and production of mattress in factory located behind the store. A big draw for us was buying local. This company has its roots in OH. They have spread across the US since, but knowing the mattress is manufactured here is an invaluable selling point for us. As for the delivery, it was quick, and the delivery people were efficient.

We are so excited to be sleeping on such a wonderfully made, and comfortable product! Thank you OMF!

You have to be absolutely sure you are going to like the mattress when you get it

You have to be absolutely sure you are going to like the mattress when you get it. Once the delivery driver leaves it is yours. No returns. My son never even took the plastic off. He called a few hours later and was told he couldn't return it. He is out a lot of money.

Mattress Firm gives you 120 days to try it out. If you don't like it you can bring it back.

IF YOU BUY IT, IT'S YOURS" That's policy of The Original Mattress Factory.

"IF YOU BUY IT, IT'S YOURS" That's policy of The Original Mattress Factory. Initially the fact that I could not return the mattress didn't bother me. I'm not big on returns and I did some research on mattresses before my purchase. Boy did I screw up! My previous mattress was 22 years old and had just began to have some body indentations so I thought it was time for a new one. I purchased a higher tier king mattress at the Kennesaw, GA store. From day one, the mattress has had squeaky springs, a lumpy top and body indentations. DO NOT buy a mattress from The Original Mattress Factory! You have no recourse for and repairs, replacements and/or returns. I made my bed and now I have to lie on it.

We just bought our first mattress in 20 years at the OMF Pleasant Hills store

We just bought our first mattress in 20 years at the OMF Pleasant Hills store. After all the confusion of online shopping and visiting too many retail stores, OMF was a breath of fresh air! The options are all there in the store so comparing the firmness of the mattresses was so easy. Our salesman was great! He was there to answer all our questions but never pressured us. Delivery went just as smooth.

The bed is so perfect. I forgot what getting a good night sleep felt like.

On a side note.. we were referred to this location by my parents. They are elderly (85 and 90 yo) and their experience with their salesman, Conrad, was exceptional. This is not always the case for older people when they go shopping.

I will definitely be referring my friends.

I am totally disappointed with the customer service

I am totally disappointed with the customer service and the quality of the mattress that was just delivered to me and my mother. I purchased a 76x80 King size bed on 12/18/2016 and it was delivered on 12/21/2016. Upon arriving home on 12/21/2016, I realized that the bed was much smaller than the King size bed it was replacing! Being a six foot one and a half inch woman, accuracy and dimension is very important to me. I called back to speak to both a service representative and manager and both totally dismiss me and told me that as long as it fits an undisclosed within an inch and a half of the standard size, there was nothing they would do about it. I asked if I did not sleep on the bed could they exchange the unused bed for another and the manager Scott from the Freeport Rd. location said "It's not there problem!" Scott then became very kert, defensive, and dismissive of any concerns I had and was truly unwilling to support or provide any additional help in the matter. He was only willing to sent out a service call yo prove that the size of the bed was not an issue they were willing to fix. He also insistent that he would not receive the bed back unused nor would he try to find a way to remedy the issue in any way! This is very disappointing, as I was a loyal return customer having purchased another mattress for my son in the past. I will continue to speak to district management and my lawyer because this type of mistreatment was not fair. Never purchase a bed from this organization. Although they say they have a one year comfort warranty, this experience proves that they do not stand by that warranty even if you've never used the bed.

I have been a fan of their mattresses for many years

I have been a fan of their mattresses for many years. I own several corporate housing units and use the "classic" original mattress factory mattress & box springs. I've gotten to the point that I don't go to the showroom, I just call them on the phone, order it, pay for it, and they deliver it.

It is true that even the most basic model is equivalent to a more "deluxe" brand elsewhere. I stay away from pillowtop mattresses, because you can't flip them. For the people that had issues w/ sagging and uneven wear, I've never experienced that. But I'm also a stickler for flipping and rotating the mattress. Yes, it's a pain to do, but really prolongs the life of the mattress.

One small negative is with their delivery window. They don't really give you one. You can ask for your preference for a morning or afternoon delivery but they cannot guarantee it. So your delivery window is pretty much 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. But, with that said, their delivery guys are unbelievable. They have gotten a box spring up a set of stairs that professional movers could not (they had to hoist it up to my roof deck using a rope), all without damaging anything. They are super nice, professional, and will take away your old bed, too, along with all the plastic and packaging from the new set.

Soooo NOT going back to the Original Mattress Factory

Soooo NOT going back to the Original Mattress Factory! I bought my last mattress there. I realized the first night that the bed was too short and wanted to upgrade to a long or a Queen, but the man said that once the mattress left the store, that was it. The mattress could not be returned unless it was defective.

Ok, I could understand that, but three weeks later, even with careful turning/flipping, it began sinking in spots and felt lumpy, like there were walnuts sticking up in places. It was their next to lowest priced mattress, but still, it was just a few weeks old. The man acted like I was making it up. Said it was a "body cavity" so therefore not covered by the warranty.

And he said this without even seeing or feeling it!

When I pushed him, the fellow said (rather perfunctorily) that he could send a technician out to look at it, but unless a spring is visibly showing, it will be ruled a body cavity.

Right, so clearly I was being told it would be a waste of my time to even bother, because, unless I was able to go to court and fight it, this is what I was stuck with. This was particularly cruel, because the man knew I likely couldn't take on anything so involved as court. ...What he, and the top banana backing him up didn't know or consider, were the connections that seemingly helpless people of reversed fortunes sometimes have; the potential customers that can be lost when a business treats someone poorly. Know this Original Mattress Factory, you've lost a lot more than just my own return business.

Paul B

I recently purchased a mattress and springs from Sean at the Freeport Road store and was better than could have ever thought pleased with the sale and expert delivery people.

Terrible quality

Terrible quality. Really over-priced product. Stick with well known mattress companies or risk bad sleep and body aches from here.

Also, totally unrelated to the product itself, I'm beyond tired of hearing their company's owner on the radio preaching his ultraconservative political views. I don't care what your political affiliation is, but I do care about nobody rich people preaching their nonsensical opinions to me. That, in and of itself, is reason enough to avoid this place at all costs....on top of an inferior product!

Great experience

Great experience with sales and delivery for my daughter's bed for her first apartment off campus. She has said mattress is extremely comfortable. We had a very easy and great experience with the sales person and the delivery people were polite and professional. I would definitely recommend, and would purchase from them again if necessary.

Bought a very expensive mattress

Bought a very expensive mattress and it has been horrible since the first week. Squeaks, bounces, sags, and have horrible back pain. Worst mattress I have ever slept on. Avoid this place at all costs

I recently bought a pillow top from OMF

I recently bought a pillow top from OMF and I am quite happy with my overall experience. The salesman did not try to trap me or waste my time with promotions. With other stores, I felt like I was walking onto a used car lot. Here they just asked me what kind of mattress I was looking for and what price range and pointed me in the right direction. Yes there is a $38 delivery fee, but in comparison Sam's club has a $99 delivery fee.

I've only had my mattress for a week and I have never felt better. Best week of sleep I've had in a long time.

Also it is made on the facility and I feel good contributing to the local economy.

The Original Mattress Factory's customer service is top notch!

The Original Mattress Factory's customer service is top notch! I love the no-pressure sales tactics that are used by the employees. We were recently searching for a new bed to replace my 12 year old futon bed and our first stop was the OMF near the Waterfront. Sean told us the layout of the store, invited us to try all the beds out, and offered to answer any questions we might have. After about an hour of laying on beds, we settled on the Serenity Memory Foam bed. The bed was delivered a few days later and the delivery men were.... wait for it.... EARLY! We were astonished and also not home. No big deal. They would come back in an hour. When we arrived home, the delivery men weren't too far behind us. Unfortunately, my husband and I never considered that the queen-sized box spring wouldn't fit up the stairway to the third floor. I expected delays and additional cost from OMF. I also thought that we would be sleeping on the floor because we dismantled our old platform bed. The delivery men were amazing. The one gentleman made some calls - we could have a split for a nominal up-charge but it wouldn't match our set. The up-charge didn't bug me but settling for a cheaper box spring did. No worries... the delivery guy got on the phone to the factory in Aspinwall and spoke to the owner. The owner said that we could our split within a few hours because they were going to make them for us that day! I was blown away.

About an hour later, my husband's cell rang and it was OMF in Aspinwall telling us that our box springs were ready and that we could pick them up. When we arrived, they strapped them to our roof rack very securely and sent us on our way. We set the bed up the rest of way and slept on it that night.

As to the bed, it is the best bed I've ever slept on! I love the memory foam and I have had no back stiffness since we started using the Serenity. There was a slight chemical smell but it dissipated within hours.

I can't say enough good things about OMF!

We purchased our new king size memory foam mattress

We purchased our new king size memory foam mattress from the original!! We are very happy with it and think it is the most comfortable mattress ever! In fact if you don't have one you are missing out on the best sleep ever!

he reviews on this company are SO mixed

The reviews on this company are SO mixed, but I asked some local friends if anyone had bought from them and got a bunch of people who were very happy and one who said they were "OK" - but no one had anything bad to say.

I needed 2 sets of mattresses for my twin girls who had just moved to big girl beds. We ended up getting the most basic of the basic stuff and I thought the price was good and the quality was fantastic. (I like a firmer surface myself and the next step up seemed too soft to me - you can always add padding but you can't take it away.)

I've spent many a night sleeping with my girls when they were sick or otherwise in need of snuggling and I find their mattresses to be super comfortable. Again these were the MOST basic ones they sell! With the box spring... my own bed is a platform bed which might be why my girls' beds feel so comfortable, it might be the box spring.

My husband and I are getting a new bed soon and we will definitely use the mattress factory again. Yes there is a delivery charge but I just brought everything home in my minivan to avoid that. Everything was in stock and they threw it all in the van for me.

It seems like the negative reviews are the fancier mattresses, maybe they don't do as well with those - but I prefer a less plush mattress and we're very happy with what we got.

VERY low pressure sales, very happy with the mattresses. Totally recommend.

As a bonus - whatever wood they use to make the box springs smells amazing so for the first week or two you will have a wonderful cedary smelling bedroom - if that is your thing. I liked it a lot.

It is a great place to buy a bed

It a great place to buy a bed. I just got one a year ago.

Nice place to by a bed.

I bought a bed there a year ago. I love it.

They make their own mattresses

Pros:

* They make their own mattresses, and they are reasonably clear about the different grades of their products.

* Shopping there is a pretty relaxed, low pressure experience. The salespeople leave you alone to lie on the beds for as much time as you want (I observed this in multiple visits).

* They have a fixed pricing; there's no special sales, no haggling.

Cons:

* To my untrained eyes, the pricing still seems arbitrary. Their pricing makes it feel like they are nickle-and-diming you. Want to buy mattress without box springs? box springs without a mattress? no problem, it'll just cost nearly as much as if you got both. Want split box springs for your queen bed? You bet! $50 extra. Frames? Another $60. Delivery, another $38. Take away your old bed? $5 more. These costs all add up pretty quickly.

* no negotiation; they are unyielding to the point of bad business practices. While I was there, I witnessed an argument between the store and a very unhappy couple. The couple bought a set (mattress plus box spring); they wanted to exchange the box spring, which was still wrapped in plastics. They didn't bring it back until a day after, however, which meant that the store considers it "used" and not returnable. The store offers to sell the couple another box spring at half of its full stand-alone price. The couple felt the store played "gotcha" on them. They argued back and forth for at least an hour, dragging in personnel of increasing seniority. Regardless of the fairness of the store policy, it seems to me like it's not a good idea to subject your other customers to this somewhat unpleasant and lengthy scene.

I can't begin to tell you how wonderful this company is

I can't begin to tell you how wonderful this company is. I bought a mattress from their Sq. Hill store by Homestead and every part of the experience was excellent. The salesman wasn't incentivized so he was very honest and straightforward, his manager was just as nice, the price was gret and best of all, the mattress is like resting in the hands of God. I've literally slept in every day since I bought the mattress (Serenity Memory Foam) about 2 months ago. I had no idea how badly I was sleeping before. I feel refreshed and relaxed every day. Just remember to go to bed earlier because its tough to crawl out o something so comfortable.

This is the easiest decision you will have

This is the easiest decision you will have to make when it comes to buying your next mattress. No place better. Great prices. Top quality. Great staff and service.

I would seriously NOT recommend this company

I would seriously NOT recommend this company. My experience: I bought a mattress for $1,000. Within 7 days, I realized it was sloped and called the company. They told me they would come check it out. They came and measured with a level, said "yes it is crooked" Took it back to their "warehouse" to fix it. Brought it back within 2 hours. When we asked what was done to it, no one could answer us. It was exactly the same........ We then called and they said that there is nothing wrong with it. After already telling us that there is something wrong with it. When I lay on it you can visibly see my body is crooked.

They will not refund our money, they will NOT exchange the mattress. They WLL NOT do ANYTHING. Please DO NOT buy from them. I have now, later read other reviews that people had the same experience. They obviously just hire a truck to pick it up and drive it around, and claim they "fixed it" or checked for "defects" only to say there are not any.

I have never never never had such bad customer service...please tell everyone you know! I am now out $1000.00 for a mattress I literally cannot sleep on even one night on. I'm really sad about this. You think you pay for quality. This company won't even think about fixing a mistake. In fact they have a whole "procedure" and wording that protects them from this in their warranty, because this has obviously happened before. They essentially just stole this money from us.

True Fax

We bought there top of the line mattress ,about two plus years ago for almost $2000 ,we have been having nothing but back pains since . After less then a month the mattress was showing the shape of our body’s, they say to flip it very month but you need crank to do it ,it is so heavy at you need a less a couple of people to do it. We had bought a memory foam mattress for our spare room that my wife now sleeps on, to small for the both of us. She now does not have the back pains anymore. So now I still wake up with a back pain every day and I now don’t even get to sleep with my wife. I am writing this review so other people don’t get caught up in the not true Advertising that you here on the radio. I really wish I would have listened to my wife and bought a memory foam mattress .

Best Ever

I saw their advertisement and I was hesitant about going to the store. I thought that their mattress would be extremely expensive. I was wrong. I bought a queen mattress set and I am extremely please. I couldn't find a flip mattress anywhere. My niece lives in Maryland came to visit and wanted to take it home. I like a firm mattress and they had exactly what I wanted. I am extremely pleased with my purchase. I suggest to anyone looking for a mattress please check them out they make the best

So glad I purchased from OMF

Went to their Norcross, GA, location 2 weeks ago, ready to purchase. Paul, the salesman answered all my questions. We narrowed it down to 4 mattresses & box springs. I spent time stretching out on all 4 and made my decision. Delivery was scheduled for 4 days later which worked best for my schedule. I am absolutely pleased with all aspects of my purchase. The selected bed is exactly what I want. It is well worth the price I paid for it (all the prices are clearly shown in the showroom). There were no games or switches at purchase time. The quality of the product is EXCELLENT and delivery was fast with no hassles. Don't waste your time at other places. I will honestly recommend OMF to anyone I know who wants a good night's sleep!

Worn out in less than 7 years!

Bought pillow top 'Orthopedic' mattress in 2011. Since January, 2018 have had lower back problems. I weigh 150 pounds and sleep alone but the mattress is worn out. When I lie down, I sink! Worst experience ever with a mattress. Have ordered new mattress and sleeping in a recliner until then has almost cured my back problems. Will never buy from OMF again.

Browse Reviews From The Top Rated Brands

Read Tomorrow Reviews

Read Dreamcloud Reviews

Read Nectar Reviews

Read Bear Mattress Reviews

Read Level Reviews

Read Brooklyn Bedding Reviews

Read Nolah Reviews

Read Leesa Reviews

Read Loom And Leaf Reviews

Read Amore Reviews

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.