Naturepedic vs Urban

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Naturepedic

Naturepedic makes a variety of mattresses for adults and children. Their popularity stems from being an organic mattress maker. What does organic mean in the mattress context? It means that they only use organic textiles (think cotton) and organic foams (think latex). This differentiator is a big plus for those that suffer from allergy sensitivities or have young children that do. You are going to expect to pay a premium for such materials.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Naturepedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Naturepedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Naturepedic: 8.9/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Naturepedic: 8.9/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Naturepedic: 8.8/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Naturepedic: 8.7/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Naturepedic: $1199-$4799
Urban: $299-$4299

Naturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Naturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers feel quite comfy with these mattresses and they gave them high marks overall. However, some folks didn't have the same feeling. If one of these mattresses is up for your review, make sure to read more about these mattresses below to make sure it will work for you.

Naturepedic's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as supportive, which means they egonomically work to straighten the spine for most sleepers. That said, there are a few customers that have complaints, so be sure that your pick aligns with your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Most sleepers describe these mattresses as having good edge support, which means most don't experience a noticeable depression when rolling towards the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In density and bowling ball tests that measure even support throughout the mattress, there is solid support throughout. However, some customers have complained about support over the long term, so make sure it works for your body before purchasing.

Naturepedic's Durability

Durability is one of the most important factors for mattress shoppers, but because mattress brands are launching so quickly, it is often hard for shoppers to learn. Luckily, customers are really responsive about what they like and what they don't like. These mattresses offer above average durability for the average sleeper. Some who are larger may find their mattress to be less durable.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses get good marks when it comes to customer satisfaction. This means that there are good scores overall from sleepers, but some had different experiences. There were some that felt discomfort. Read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you specifically!

Urban's Supportiveness

These mattresses are do a very good job at support versus others in the industry. Their materials are good at aligning the spine and reviewers report feeling comfortable. These mattresses offer even support throughout the surface layers and and don't talk about issues with initial sags.

Edge Support
Edge support is important when you are sitting or lying close to the side and are looking for a supportive surface. These mattresses do a fine job with good edge support towards the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Using a bowling ball on the surface of the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. Reviewers describe these mattresses as evenly supportive throughout the surface.

Urban's Durability

Finding a durable mattress can means thousands in savings for you and your family. This is one of the reasons that customers strive so hard to find mattresses that last. However, lots of brands are out for profits rather than making the ever-lasting product. Even in spite of that, there are still some great brands that build good products. These mattresses are very well rated when it comes to durability. Unless you are of a heavier build, these mattresses should last 7 - 12 years.

Browse Naturepedic Customer Reviews

LOVE this mattress

We love this mattress. I was very worried about buying a mattress for my 2 year old because in the past when I've bought traditional mattresses, the off-gassing took months (that was before I knew better about the horrible chemicals in mattresses). My son had a Naturepedic crib mattress and the transition to the Naturepedic twin mattress was a good choice. When the mattress was delivered we set it up in his room and he was able to use it that very night. No off-gassing horrible chemicals, no bad smells. What a relief! I'm very sensitive to chemical smells so I was happy to not have to deal with that here. We started off on the firm side of the mattress for my 2 year old, but it was very hard. He's been sleeping on the firm side for 1 month, but he keeps waking up at night. We also found that he was trying to put his entire body on his pillow, so we thought he would prefer a softer feel. A few days ago we flipped it over to the quilted side and that feels much better. We still need to get a waterproof pad for it, since the quilted side is not waterproof and he's not yet potty-trained. I would not hesitate to purchase this mattress again. It was very expensive, but if he uses it for 10 years, that's only $75/year. Well worth the peace of mind.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.