Naturepedic vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Naturepedic

Naturepedic makes a variety of mattresses for adults and children. Their popularity stems from being an organic mattress maker. What does organic mean in the mattress context? It means that they only use organic textiles (think cotton) and organic foams (think latex). This differentiator is a big plus for those that suffer from allergy sensitivities or have young children that do. You are going to expect to pay a premium for such materials.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Naturepedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Naturepedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Naturepedic: 8.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Naturepedic: 8.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Naturepedic: 8.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Naturepedic: 8.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Naturepedic: $1199-$4799
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Naturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Naturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers feel quite comfy with these mattresses and they gave them high marks overall. Some folks didn't feel as comfortable, however. If one of these is one your list, make sure to learn more below.

Naturepedic's Supportiveness

These mattresses are good with support overall. Though there are a few folks that don't like the firmness of these mattresses, most would describe these mattresses as having the right amount of support for them.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for folks that spend a few minutes sitting on the side of the mattress or like to put weight on the side of the mattress. These mattresses do well on their edge support and they should support most customers comfortably.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling balls are useful to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses are generally well received at providing even support, which means they should work with your body to align the spine properly.

Naturepedic's Durability

We all want a mattress that will last forever, but {2} That said, current customers are a great place to start, especially when you can access all of their feedback. These mattreses are durable, overall, and should last longer than average for everyday sleepers, but some who are heavier may experience that they lose some of their longevity.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

If you are examining this brand, take a look below for more details about these mattresses. Unfortunately, not all customers give them good ratings. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Support is extremely important for the comfort of a night's sleep. These mattresses do well supporting sleepers at first, but there are those that found their mattress less supportive. Take a look at the specifications and the reviews to make sure that these fit your body.

Edge Support
Most reviewers find edge support to be a differentiator of leading mattresses. These mattresses provide okay edge support, but there may be some uncomfortable contouring for some.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In density tests that measure the initial supportiveness, supportiveness for these mattresses is fairly even. That said, there are some that have experienced issues with support over time.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Finding a highly durable mattress is great, and when our mattress is painful after only a few months, we feel cheated. That said, it is much more difficult to find the right durable mattress nowadays. With more choices for us than ever, some brands aren't always investing in quality. In terms of these mattresses, some sleepers report durability concerns. That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Browse Naturepedic Customer Reviews

LOVE this mattress

We love this mattress. I was very worried about buying a mattress for my 2 year old because in the past when I've bought traditional mattresses, the off-gassing took months (that was before I knew better about the horrible chemicals in mattresses). My son had a Naturepedic crib mattress and the transition to the Naturepedic twin mattress was a good choice. When the mattress was delivered we set it up in his room and he was able to use it that very night. No off-gassing horrible chemicals, no bad smells. What a relief! I'm very sensitive to chemical smells so I was happy to not have to deal with that here. We started off on the firm side of the mattress for my 2 year old, but it was very hard. He's been sleeping on the firm side for 1 month, but he keeps waking up at night. We also found that he was trying to put his entire body on his pillow, so we thought he would prefer a softer feel. A few days ago we flipped it over to the quilted side and that feels much better. We still need to get a waterproof pad for it, since the quilted side is not waterproof and he's not yet potty-trained. I would not hesitate to purchase this mattress again. It was very expensive, but if he uses it for 10 years, that's only $75/year. Well worth the peace of mind.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.