Naturepedic vs Sealy

Get The Best April 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Naturepedic

Naturepedic makes a variety of mattresses for adults and children. Their popularity stems from being an organic mattress maker. What does organic mean in the mattress context? It means that they only use organic textiles (think cotton) and organic foams (think latex). This differentiator is a big plus for those that suffer from allergy sensitivities or have young children that do. You are going to expect to pay a premium for such materials.

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy is a common brand that you would see in a big box mattress store or warehouse outlet. Sealy is part of a publicly traded conglomerate, Tempursealy, who owns brands such as Tempur-Pedic and Stearns and Foster. With some competitively priced options, Sealy is an intriguing brand with many firmness and material options, but there are some durability complaints reported by some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Naturepedic in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Naturepedic


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Naturepedic: 8.9/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Naturepedic: 8.9/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Naturepedic: 8.8/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Naturepedic: 8.7/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10

Price:
Naturepedic: $1199-$4799
Sealy Posturepedic: $599-$1399

Naturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Sealy Posturepedic:
Get Yours Now

Naturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Getting to the bottom of customer satisfaction is painstaking for the average shopper, especially with brands cleaning their online reputation. That said, customers feel comfortable on these mattresses overall. But, there were some complaints from customers that disagreed with the feel. so look at the specifics below to make sure that this mattress will work for you!

Naturepedic's Supportiveness

These mattresses are good at support. Though there is the occasional sleeper that disagrees with the firmness of these mattresses, most folks like the amount of support these mattress provides to them.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that need extra time getting out of bed or find themselves lying close to the side of the mattress. These mattresses are well reviewed for their edge support overall and they should be able to support most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many mattress reviewers and bloggers use bowling balls to measure firmness and support. These mattresses are well rated at providing even support across the surface, which means they should work with your body to align the spine properly.

Naturepedic's Durability

We all want a mattress that will last forever, but {2} That said, data on materials, customer reviews, and tests make things a bit easier. These mattresses, specifically, are more durable than average and should last between 5 - 7 years for most, but some who are larger in body type may experience them to not last as long.

Sealy Posturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers report feeling comfy, but others reported discomfort with their mattresses. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Look on below for more information if this mattress will work for you.

Sealy Posturepedic's Supportiveness

In terms of having lasting supportiveness, these mattresses have mixed signals from customers. Some customers feel comfortable with these mattresses and that they provide good support, but others weren't able to get comfortable. If you have a wider or heavier frame than average, you should do added research to make sure you find a match for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is a key item for anyone that likes to sit on the side of their mattress. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Sealy Posturepedic's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable is the best, and when we instead buy a mattress that causes us discomfort after only a year, we feel cheated. That said, finding a mattress that is comfortable and durable is really hard these days. With more products available than ever, some brands are sacrificing quality. In terms of these mattresses, some sleepers report durability concerns. Longevity issues aren't a guarantee, but make sure sure that you read up on the specifications to make sure your choice works for you.

Browse Naturepedic Customer Reviews

LOVE this mattress

We love this mattress. I was very worried about buying a mattress for my 2 year old because in the past when I've bought traditional mattresses, the off-gassing took months (that was before I knew better about the horrible chemicals in mattresses). My son had a Naturepedic crib mattress and the transition to the Naturepedic twin mattress was a good choice. When the mattress was delivered we set it up in his room and he was able to use it that very night. No off-gassing horrible chemicals, no bad smells. What a relief! I'm very sensitive to chemical smells so I was happy to not have to deal with that here. We started off on the firm side of the mattress for my 2 year old, but it was very hard. He's been sleeping on the firm side for 1 month, but he keeps waking up at night. We also found that he was trying to put his entire body on his pillow, so we thought he would prefer a softer feel. A few days ago we flipped it over to the quilted side and that feels much better. We still need to get a waterproof pad for it, since the quilted side is not waterproof and he's not yet potty-trained. I would not hesitate to purchase this mattress again. It was very expensive, but if he uses it for 10 years, that's only $75/year. Well worth the peace of mind.

View More Reviews

Browse Sealy Posturepedic Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!

I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.