Maxim vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Maxim

Maxim mattress is a California based mattress company that has been building innerspring and hybrid mattresses for the past 30+ years. They are well priced and offer a good variety of different mattresses for the budget conscious shopper. In terms of comfort, most find these mattresses comfortable, but some had concerns about durability and material quality.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Maxim and Stearns And Foster in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Maxim: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Maxim: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Maxim: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Maxim: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Maxim: $699-$2699
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Maxim:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Maxim's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some are very satisfied with the feel, but others report discomfort. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Maxim's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some customers feel comfortable with these mattresses and that they provide good support, but others had poor comfort. If you have a heavier body type than average, you should do added research to make sure you find a match for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Maxim's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of lasting comfort that you want. Some sleepers describe issues with durability and comfort over a shorter than average timeline. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, these mattresses may provide good comfort initially, but make sure to do some more research before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be sometimes difficult to find and make sense of -- especially with companies coming in and out of the market quickly. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't score as well with customers. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is the secret to having better spine health. If your mattress doesn't support you well, you are not likely getting the kind of sleep that you could be getting from a mattress that aligns the spine. All in all, these mattresses do offer good support at first, but some had issues with lasting comfort.

Edge Support
Most find the edge support that these mattresses provide to be good, which is well received by those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. Those that have heavier frames may still find some discomfort while laying close to the side.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are considering purchasing as your full time mattress, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Browse Maxim Customer Reviews

Best quality

Best quality, best customer service. Been working with this company for years! They are a wonderful company who stands behind their product and truly cares about the customer's needs. I reccomend them to everybody!

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.