Maxim vs Personal Comfort

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Maxim

Maxim mattress is a California based mattress company that has been building innerspring and hybrid mattresses for the past 30+ years. They are well priced and offer a good variety of different mattresses for the budget conscious shopper. In terms of comfort, most find these mattresses comfortable, but some had concerns about durability and material quality.

Personal Comfort

Personal Comfort is taking on Sleep Number to create a better number bed that can be personalized to your desired firmness. Is Personal Comfort the better bed at a lower price? We think there are many positive attributes, but there are also elements that we aren't so sure about. With problems ranging from durability to technology, we think there may be a reason to steer clear of number beds.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Personal Comfort in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Personal Comfort


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Maxim: 7.3/10
Personal Comfort: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Maxim: 7.2/10
Personal Comfort: 7.7/10

Price Value:
Maxim: 7.3/10
Personal Comfort: 7.6/10

No Back Pain:
Maxim: 7.3/10
Personal Comfort: 7.4/10

Price:
Maxim: $699-$2699
Personal Comfort: $499-$4199

Maxim:
Get Yours Now

Personal Comfort:
Get Yours Now

Maxim's Owner Satisfaction

There are some negative ratings from sleepers for these mattresses. Some sleepers were unhappy with the comfort, but others were really pleased. Although one of these may work great for you, because of the responses it is more difficult to estimate. Read on below to learn more and to hear from customers to see if one will work for you.

Maxim's Supportiveness

Some are happy with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but some have had issues with support over the long term. For those that have back pain already, make sure to read the reviews to make sure the mattress works for you.

Edge Support
There are mixed signals about edge support on these mattresses. Some have been happy with even support throughout the mattress, but others had problems with sags on the side.

Maxim's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are considering purchasing as your full time mattress, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Personal Comfort's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this brand, learn more about the specifics below. Sadly, they don't get the best reception from all customers. Some customers were elated by their selection, but others felt let-down overall.

Personal Comfort's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some customers feel comfortable and well supported, but others didn't feel comfortable while they slept. If you would describe yourself as plus-sized, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress without discomfort. Some customers have found these mattresses to not be evenly supportive.

Personal Comfort's Durability

Sadly, some customers don't love these mattresses for their durability. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others talk about problems with comfort over a short duration. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Browse Maxim Customer Reviews

Best quality

Best quality, best customer service. Been working with this company for years! They are a wonderful company who stands behind their product and truly cares about the customer's needs. I reccomend them to everybody!

View More Reviews

Browse Personal Comfort Customer Reviews

Best bed I have ever slept on - Mike B.

Best bed I have ever slept on. Easily half the price of a Sleep Number and the quality is so much better. The mattress is outstanding and the frame is great too. The frame is actually a Reverie which is another bed company, which I thought was interesting but it is simply perfect. The only complaint is that the website for the company is a little outdated so I had to call my order in. No issues whatsoever though.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.